We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anfiteatro Castrense B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anfiteatro Castrense B&B to your Saves list
Anfiteatro Castrense B&B
Viale Castrense 33, Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Timisoara, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed from 29 April to 4th of may 2013.
The BB is quiet , clean and very well situated to the main attraction via Metro and not only( San Giovanni in Laterano is 5 min away). The host, Emanuele , is a very open person, helps and is very proative when you need info or advices.
We traveled as couple for a city break and we felt excellent at Anfiteatro Castrense!
We highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This B&B is just excellent! The location is great (20mins walk to the Colosseum, 5 mins from San Giovanni underground station which leads to all the important sights if a walk there seems too long. Don't worry about not being near the main train station Termini like so many of the other B&Bs - this location is much better, Italian public transport is cheap anyway and you will also need to take the metro/bus from Termini if you for instance want to go to the Vatican cause it's about the same distance).

Emanuele told us that the B&B has been refurbished recently, so those reviews that mention a shared bathroom are out of date. Our room was lovely and clean and looked exactly like the picture on the website. Every room has its own bathroom and even a balcony - great to have breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening!! All in all it is very luxurious for a B&B!

Emanuele is super friendly and very helpful with everything. His English isn't very good which for us wasn't much of a problem cause I speak Italian-my only English speaking boyfriend would probably have been struggling a bit but Emanuele is so friendly and tries really hard so I really can't imagine that the language barrier could be a real problem for anyone!! He brings the breakfast to the room each morning, for Italian standards it is really big and consists of coffee/tea, orange juice and a selection of croissants/sweet rolls.

We highly recommend the Anfiteatro Castrense to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We loved our stay at this cute little B&B! The rooms are spacious and clean. There was no problem sharing the bathroom, which was clean and big. The B&B was quiet, even though it was full at the time we stayed at.
Loved the neighborhood, so typically Italian ;) Rocco brought us the breakfast in the room each morning and it was sufficient to start our day. Rocco & Emanuel were quite helpful with everything during our stay, even though their English is not perfect, it was easy to communicate with them. We will be back to Anfiteatro Castrense B&B, and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

nfiteatro Castrense is an excellent location for a vacation in Rome. Located in the heart of Rome, 5 minutes from San Giovanni underground station, leading to tourist attractions, clean and neat, offers guests including breakfast at a very reasonable price. Rocco and Emanuele are sure to please all guests. Excellent, deserves praise !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I stayed in the B&B for 3 nights with my sister. The owners were so friendly and helpful and were able to answer all our questions, despite the language barrier. The B&B was quiet and a good place to relax and get some rest after all the sightseeing we were doing. We had read the reviews saying the cappuccino's with breakfast were amazing, and we agree! The breakfast basket was brilliant and very generous. We had to leave very early in the morning after our last night to catch a bus to the airport and when we told the owner he immediately brought in a breakfast basket with lots of packaged pastries and some juice boxes for us to take with us and eat on the plane. We were extremely grateful! The only downside really is the fact there is only one bathroom but we very rarely had to wait to use it. We found the location to be okay. It is away from the sights, but the metro is so close that this wasn't a problem for us. We were even able to walk to the Termini train station at 4 in the morning to catch our bus without any trouble (because the metros only run from 5:30am onwards).

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The staff was very nice and welcoming. Breakfast in room was a nice light snack and coffee or tea- most food was packaged but not bad. Location was pretty good, a bit of a walk from metro if you are carrying luggage but only if you're a wimp. It's a little away from the hustle and bustle but not too far to be inconvenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Our stay at Anfiteatro Castrense B&B was excellent from the start. Rocco, the owner of the establishment was very kind from day one and extremely courteous and understanding despite our language barrier (us- little to no Italian, him- little English, but better than our Italian).

For some bizarre reason we thought it would be a good idea to walk from Termini Station to the B&B instead of taking Rocco's advice of taking the metro to San Giovanni or Re di Roma. Yeah... we got lost but luckily we were on the correct street when we passed the B&B's address and Rocco's friend Emanuele waved and called to us, eventually running a block to us to lead us in the right direction to the B&B, help with our bags and get us situated.

From the start Rocco and Emanuele made us feel very comfortable and gave very helpful information about easy to walk to locations and ways to prominent attractions as well as local restaurants and a laundromat if needed.

The location isn't quite in the heart of Rome but after a couple of days being in the heart of Rome it is very nice to be in a very clean, spacious, quiet room with a balcony, in-room sink and even clothes line if needed.

Nearby is a chain fast food pizza joint that makes great anchovy and squash blossom pizza that you can enjoy on your room balcony with a bottle of good cheap wine readily available everywhere in Rome.

Also nearby the Re di Roma station is a series of little restaurants featuring pizza or kabobs, but best of all a very nice and decently priced gelataria that you can even get gelato by the kilo in foam containers to take home with you! (Try the Nero dark chocolate, mmm)

Rocco makes a good, filling breakfast basket for you with assorted pastries and will make fresh cappuccino or espresso at your request each morning. The cappuccino was quite delicious and the foamiest I've ever had (there was plenty of coffee too, no worries!)

If you can make it for a meal to the restaurant Enoteca D'iore where Emanuele cooks at he'll give you each a complimentary glass of wine or prosecco which was very nice.

The rooms are not luxurious, but we did not expect that. They did exceed our expectations in cleanliness and comfort and there was plenty of storage space. The addition of the sink in our room for ease to brush our teeth, wash face and etc instead of using the communal bathroom was great.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay at Anfiteatro Castrense B&B. It was a constant joy in the middle of a crazy first trip to Rome!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anfiteatro Castrense B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anfiteatro Castrense B&B

Address: Viale Castrense 33, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anfiteatro Castrense B&B is located in one of the most beautiful area of Rome.The B&B is situated in front of the Amphitheater's ruins between the Santa Croce in Gerusalemme and San Giovanni Basilicas and the Felice Historic Park - at 10 minutes walking from Termini Station and well connected with bus and subway. Inside the B&B you will find a cosy environment with all the comforts typical of a hotel to make your stay serene and pleasant. In the area you will also find numerous restaurants where you can try the typical Roman cuisine. The B&B has been recently renewed. All the rooms are very comfortable, with private bathroom, balcony, air conditioning, LCD TV, wi-fi. Breakfast with room service is included in the room price. Emanuele will spoil you serving you the breakfast every morning and when the weather is nice enough you may be able to enjoy it on the balcony of your room. Make a reservation at B&B Anfiteatro Castrense and we are sure that you will be pleased. For any further question don't hesitate to ask. Shuttle Service to/from the Airports at 45 Euro (3 people with hand luggage maximum). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Anfiteatro Castrense B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anfiteatro Castrense B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.