We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Labicana 125, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CT
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose the Palazzo Manfredi based largely on the review on Trip Advisor. Admittedly, I was a bit nervous that few if any of the other sites, magazines, etc. that I went to check hotels mentioned nothing of it. Wasn't on one "best of" list - which I found odd. Nevertheless I took a chance, and I'm glad I did. It's a small hotel, which is high on luxury, and in a great location. We had a suite - our teenage son stayed on the fold out couch which was very comfortable; my wife and I in the main master bedroom. Worked out great. The view of the Colosseum out our window was spectacular. The people were really nice and helpful; going out of their way to make our stay memorable. The room had all sorts of nice touches - from fresh macaroons replenished every day, to an ultra modern bathroom and interesting fixtures. I found that the decor may have been a bit overdone and more interesting than practical. If I were alone with my wife on a special occasion it would've been perfect; with a teenage son, a bit less so. Only other minor complaint: the bed is very very firm. Not sure if this is 'normal' for hotels in Italy. All in all, the Palazzo Manfredi is pricey ... but it's also classy, friendly, and one of a kind.

Room Tip: I think the higher rooms may be a bit quieter than the one we had which was on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    49
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
157
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, our stay at the Palazzo Manfredi could not have been better. The location, level of service and staff was incredible. They were more than happy to arrange our private tours of the Colosseum, Forum and Vatican City, and they even hired a driver for us to drive us to Positano following our stay in Rome. Our room was on the ground floor with a Colosseum view; spectacular in every way, and exceptionally clean. If you want 5-star treatment in a 5-star hotel, the Palazzo Manfredi should be your first choice when visiting Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautiful small boutique hotel in a great part of the city with amazing views of the Colosseum. My fiancé and I stayed in the Deluxe Room and had direct views of the Colosseum which we enjoyed. The breakfast buffet on the hotel's rooftop has beautiful views and is a great way to start the day. There is a great selection of cereals, breads, muffins, eggs, juices, etc. We also had a wonderful experience at the hotel's restaurant which is on the same rooftop in the evenings. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff really went out of their way to accommodate their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi Hotel, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi Hotel in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for four days for our tenth wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. We paid extra for a room overlooking the colosseum and were not disappointed. Having been to Rome several times I am fairly picky but this lived up to and exceeded expectations. Try the tasting menu in the rooftop restaurant with truffles added in different ways to every course - fantastic - but expensive!! (worth it as a treat).
I would definitely go back in the future.
The owner also has a Ferrari which you can hire for the day - what fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a colosseum view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Aside from the stunning location across the road from the Colosseum, this hotel is a joy. The rooms are well decorated and very comfortable, though there's nothing quite like seeing the Colosseum from your bedroom window!
It's perfectly located for walking, as we did, to the Forum, the Capitoline, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps.
My wife is lactose and gluten intolerant and they accommodated her for breakfast and dinner withour fuss and really nicely. The view from the restaurant is stunning, the food lovely, and the staff really caring and efficient.
In fact the whole staff, front desk, management, everyone whenever we encountered them were helpful and polite. Our visit went really smoothly. Jacamo was brilliant in allowing us a room for late checkout even when our room had to be cleared for new guests.
We had a sneak preview of the redecoration in one of the rooms and they look great - the bathroom in particular was fantastic - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The higher your room the less the traffic noise, but it'snot really a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi Hotel, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi Hotel in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at Palazzo Manfredi made our stay in Rome comfortable and unforgettable. They helped us with everything from locating our lost luggage at the airport to calling us a taxi, even when we were at other locations, to bringing us hot water and cups for our nightly tea routine (to aid in digestion from our fabulous meals) they got us tickets to main attractions, checked us in for our flight home and answered all of my husbands silly questions. The bed is better than mine at home and I want to buy one. The sheets and pillows were perfect. I also want to buy a Nespresso machine like the one in our room. So good! We were in a deluxe room with surreal views. There is a bit of city noise, but you're in a major city. To be expected. The windows block a lot out. I could not hear other guests at all. We had breakfast once upstairs and it was very special. Great way to wake up. I love Rome so much that I cried when I left. What a magical city and a wonderful place to call home for 6 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 night here last week and it was one of the nicest hotel experiences I've had. The staff was incredibly helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants. It's a block from the Coliseum and we walked to Monti and the other shopping districts close by every day. The restaurant view is incredible but we only had breakfast there since there were too many restaurants in Rome to go to! Excellent choice hotel for a stay in Rome!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi Hotel, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi Hotel in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Via Labicana 125, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#52 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Palazzo Manfredi is a magnificent historic villa that today serves as five-star hotel offering the tradition and warm hospitality of the Counts Manfredi. Every detail is a family jewel, from the spectacular view of the Colosseum, to the courtesy of our staff, the classic and contemporary elegance of the decor, and our sophisticated restaurant on one of Rome's most romantic terraces. History is on our doorstep, but true luxury is being part of a great family's history." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Manfredi Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.