We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ostia Antica tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Context Rome Tours

Context Rome Tours
Via Santa Maria Maggiore 145 | Int 14, 00185 Rome, Italy (Monti)
+39 06 9672 7371
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #51 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Context provides an in-depth alternative to traditional tours. Context's Rome walking seminars are an alternative to typical guided tours. With over 50 different walks led by Ph.D. or MA-level scholars, and with the smallest group size available—only six people. Context is much more than a walking tour of Rome.
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ostia Antica tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

With a site as large as Ostia Antica, a guide is a must and Context's Benedetta, an archaeologist, was informative and fun to be with. The small size of Context's groups makes for a relaxing trip with everyone having a chance to exchange ideas. For a day away from the crowds in Rome, Ostia's a great choice - like a walk in the country, but with the plus of walking through streets where Romans once lived, cooked and played.
I've done several Context tours over the years and they've all been outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    12
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tour of the Colosseum and the Vatican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was able to book tours for both the Colosseum and the Vatican only a few days before the actual tours. The bookings process on line was very simple. Even though we were to have a maximum of 6 people on each tour only 4 showed up for each which provided me with more individual attention during the tours. Both guides were very professional and great knowledge of both historic sites. They spoke perfect English and were most considerate and accommodating during the tours. Although a little pricey I felt it was well worth the extra money having such great resources with the two guides (Margherita and Guido) plus the fact I was able to avoid those long lines wrapped around each venue. My experience with Context Travel was exceptional.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Context Rome Tours a fantastic choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

June 2 through 19 was our first trip to Rome, second to Italy. After extensive research, we chose Context for three major sites: Galleria Borghese, Colosseum and Imperial Rome, and the Vatican. The website is fantastically organized and very easy to navigate. Having the guide's name attached to your online order is most excellent. The three guides are consummate professionals, and introduce themselves in detail so you have a great overview of their credentials. Groups of 6 are perfect for these enormous venues; watching groups of 20 and 30 navigate through them is instructive and not appealing. Knowledge is extensive and delivered with professionalism and patience. Apart from spending time with these incredible individuals, they ensure you know directions, help with train tickets, anything to make your time easier. Extraordinary!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Will Spoil You for Other Tour Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We did a Vatican tour with 4 adults and 3 teens boys. Alessandra was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the Vatican. She made sure we saw what we wanted to see in the time we had, and kept it interesting for the varying ages that we had. She had an ipad and several books she pulled out often to show us related things to what we could see in the Vatican. That really helped us understand more than if we had just been told something. I cannot say enough good things about our experience with Context Tours, except perhaps it ruined us for some of other tour guides.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rome Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had tours of the Vatican, Colloseum and the Bourghessi while we were in Rome. I would always use Context, and will definitely recommend them to our friends. The guides were exceptional, and you learn so much more. They take care of tickets and make the entire experience wonderful. I will use them when we go to other cities. I like the name "Context" because I actually felt that what made each tour so interesting was putting the places and art that we saw in context with what was going on in the historic/economical/religious period of the time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Context Rome Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Context Rome Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.