We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Vatican Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Context Rome Tours

Context Rome Tours
Via Santa Maria Maggiore 145 | Int 14, 00185 Rome, Italy
+39 06 9672 7371
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #70 of 727 activities in Rome
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Context provides an in-depth alternative to traditional tours. Context's Rome walking seminars are an alternative to typical guided tours. With over 50 different walks led by Ph.D. or MA-level scholars, and with the smallest group size available—only six people. Context is much more than a walking tour of Rome.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Vatican Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The very best way to tour the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's. Small group (we had only 4 people) and a great easy-to-understand guide (advanced degree in art history and currently doing research including use of the Vatican library). If you really want to understand the artistic and historic importance of the art and the buildings, this is the way to do it. The fact that the tour gathers and starts at the entrance to the Vatican saves time instead of being transported there by bus from some other site. Will definitely use their services again in future travels. We have visited over 30 countries, and this was a highlight of our 5 day trip to Rome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    10
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've taken 2 tours - Ancient Rome & Culinary Rome. Both were fantastic. The docents are knowledgeable and well rounded. I prefer tours that are conversational - I care as much about the why as the what - and I find that Context tours do this better than anyone else. Also,the groups are small which allows for a much better experience - no 40 people following a flag through crowded halls - this is like a group of friends discussing what they're doing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vatican Collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Context tours arranged an expert guide to take us through the Vatican Collections. The guide's knowledge was excellent. She took the extra time necessary to patiently guide us through the collections in the presence of great crowds. We look forward to using Context again in other locations and cities.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Walking Tour of the Vatican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cecilia with Context was our docent, and she was just excellent. She is degreed in Art History, and it definitely showed. Her knowledge of papal history, the artists, the works, and the architecture was outstanding. Context tours are a little more expensive than the others, but well worth the cost. We compared notes with some other family members who took a less expensive tour with another company, and their group was much larger, and they didn't get nearly the depth of information that we did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding Rome Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We took four Context Tours while in Rome during February and all were outstanding. They're a little more expensive, but for the additional money you get very small groups (no more than six tourists) and a formally educated (graduate student or professor) tour guide.

We now look for Context Tours wherever we go.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Context Rome Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Context Rome Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Context Rome Tours to your Saves list