We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming service, truffles galore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Barberini

Osteria Barberini
Via Della Purificazione 21, 00187 Rome, Italy
+39 06 474 3325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 8,547 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: family restaurant to the centre of rome/typicals roman dichesall day meat and fich frech/pizza also to lunch/all cards
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming service, truffles galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted with an older Italian md, who quickly sorted a table before the rush at 9pm. We tried a local lazio wine, with buffalo mozzarella and eggplant parmigiana to start. For mains, truffle lasagna and homemade pasta with lemon were delicious. Service was outstanding and felt like we were eating at someone's house.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    497
    120
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
padova
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

highly recommended for the food (any course, desserts included) and the service. I will return for sure my next times in Rome and tell my friends about "osteria barberini".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile Rousse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came to this restaurant after reading about it on tripadviser. Foods were delicious. You have to make reservation if you decide to come at Osteria B.
I recommend it, amazing atmosphere, kind waiters, everything was lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here based on tripadvisor reviews. Had to book for another night because they were full.
On our return we had a fantastic meal. Lovely waitress, cosy atmosphere, amazing food. Couldn't fault it. Really recommmend it, although you must book. We saw countless people get turned away, and it's on a quiet lane.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Like many previous reviewers, we came to this restaurant after reading about it on Trip Adviser, and as a treat on the final evening of our holiday in Italy. It was every bit as good as he reviews had suggested. We came on the first night that the restaurant had reopened after their summer break. Luckily, we'd been passing by the evening before and made a reservation, as there was no way we'd have got a table without one - and it soon became obvious why.
The whole experience was delightful, from start to finish. The waiting staff couldn't have been more attentive or friendly, patiently explaining in English some of the things on the menu that we weren't familiar with and making recommendations where appropriate. All of them seemed genuinely interested in us and in making sure we had a great time.
The food was outstanding and unbelievably good value compared to what we've seen elsewhere. Have never had black truffles before, we decided to try the bruschetta with black truffles and cheese to start and followed this with saltimbocca with potatoes al forno and a wonderful spaghetti with scallops (which my wife and children had). Everything tasted fantastic and the pasta was probably the best we've ever had.
For deserts we had a cherry and ricotta cake, a torta della nonna and lemon sorbet. All of them were excellent, especially the cherry and ricotta cake.
I was even given a complementary glass of Italian desert wine at the end, which was a perfect way to end the meal.
Overall, with three courses each, a half bottle of wine, soft drinks and a couple of coffees, the meal came to around €28 per head - and there were no hidden charges (ie cover charges or service).
I would strongly recommend this restaurant - although do remember to book ahead!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Barberini also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Barberini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.