We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience to dine here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Barberini

Osteria Barberini
Via Della Purificazione 21, 00187 Rome, Italy
064743325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $23 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: family restaurant to the centre of rome/typicals roman dichesall day meat and fich frech/pizza also to lunch/all cards
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A delightful experience to dine here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are so greatful that we found this restaurant to enjoy our dinner in Rome. After being paranoid and turned off choosing restaurants in fear that they are tourist traps, it was refreshing to discover a humble little restaurant with authentic and quality meals. We found it great value for money- after ordering the 3 entre special, a main meal each, a cheese platter, bottle of wine, water and a cake each for dessert ( came to 90 euro). The staff were helpful and knowledgable about the local produce. My recommendation is tote a dish with the black truffle. Delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    423
    103
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Amazing restaurant in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wow what a gem! This restaurant was the best food I've eaten so far in Italy, and I'm not sure we'll find something that beats it. We decided to come after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor -- we did book a reservation, so make sure to do that. To start off, the atmosphere was lovely -- it was quiet, very "homely," and the owner greeted you right at the entrance. All of the waiters and waitresses were very helpful, allowed you to take your time, warm, and knowledgable about the food. The food was unbelievable -- we had the truffle bruschetta to start and then the truffle lasagna. WOW they were both so good and I would definitely recommend ordering that (or something with truffles, since that is a speciality -- however, everything looked positively delicious). My sister ordered the grilled sea bass which was fresh, healthy, and delicious as well. Overall, a marvelous experience and if I am ever back in Rome, I will definitely return here. The prices were very reasonable; the lasagna was 12 euros and considering that contained fresh truffles (and was so yummy), a true bargain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable- We're now truffle addicts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the best meal we have eaten in our two week trip to Italy. We found this place by researching on TA, and we were not disappointed. We are traveling back to Rome for our flight home, and we made sure to book a hotel close, so we could go back and enjoy our last meal in Italy at this gem of a restaurant. The owner was very friendly and greeted us as soon as we walked in. He joked with us and asked us about our stay, our vacation, and where we were from. However, the food is the draw of this place. It was absolutely amazing...be sure to order the truffle crostini, the truffle lasagna, and really...anything truffle. They have a way of cooking it that cannot be matched. The waitress comes around and shows you the fresh truffle that they use, and looking back, we should have grabbed that and ate it too. Every bite was memorable. This is a place that we will look back in a year and still crave to have their home cooked meal. The service was top notch and they were sure to take care of all our needs. Thanks for the great memories!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We went to Osteria Barberini our first night in Rome. The dinner was so exceptional we made reservations for a second meal before we left! The first night I had the pasta with white truffle for a starter. Heaven! Perfectly cooked al dente pasta, deep aroma of truffles and butter. For a secondi, roast young lamb. With the meal, we had an excellent Barolo which was recommended by our waiter. It was not overpriced. At the second meal, I had the truffle ravioli and my husband had the pasta with truffles. The ravioli were excellent, but I looked on enviously while he ate his pasta! A very good fish with asparagus was our entrée. A Montalcino accompanied our meal. The service was attentive and correct. All in all, a restaurant where the owner cares deeply about the quality of the food service and value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food at a decent price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

In the past 3 days I have been in Rome I have eaten at this restaurant twice. The Pasta dishes are amazing and the service is very good. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Barberini also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Barberini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Barberini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.