We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Fienaroli

Ai Fienaroli
via Sardegna 137, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)
0642020336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #443 of 8,552 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this little restaurant while wandering around our hotel. What a lucky find! The seafood was excellent and very fresh. We went there twice and on the second trip, I had their daily special, a raw seafood plate of 4 different types of prawns and shrimp. The seafood was fresh and sweet. Not to is miss their deconstructed tiramisu. The service was friendly and helpful. We weren't organized enough to book in advance, which you must do to sit outside, but it was very comfortable inside even though we were there in the midst of a heat wave. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Rome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    111
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One person's service may ruin a lot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Evening time, but fortunately found a small place outside since we were pretty early for dinner time (actually some places were already reserved).
Food was nice, even good, but not all excellent as one would expect from TA's tips; not cheap, but i would not say that prices were too high (actually we did not have wine and/or beer because, those seemed too expensive). We had different kind of starters, I had a nice pasta of the day with clams, my husband a nice abbacchio.
Our waiter was very nice and professional, he seemed even not Italian, but spoke very well!
But another one, for sure Italian, who, a couple of times, brought us by chance ordered food, seemed and acted very rudely: used almost to "throw" our dishes on the table.. I'd really fire him, if I were the owner... there are so many good waiters without a job in Italy!!!
One like him ruins all the poetry of that nice place, located on a spot of via Sardegna, that is very calm and silent. So I cannot give excellence, since a nervous person like him can ruin you the whole evening :-(((

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Food was very tasty and delicate, well served and most of all (in an era of financial crisis) prices were unexpectedly reasonable. Congratulations to the owner/manager.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Good FInd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had spent the morning in the Villa Borghesi garden and museum and wondered outside the walls to find ai Fienaroli on a quiet side street. The service and food were very good. This is a very nice, typical Roman restaurant that treats tourists well, but is not a "tourist restaurant." Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, very reasonable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner at Ai Fienaroli, and went there twice during our week in Rome. We loved the Seabass carpaccio with truffles, and the seafood pasta. Also ask what the specials are, they are usually quite good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Fienaroli also viewed

 

Been to Ai Fienaroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Fienaroli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.