We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place that brings you back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Osteria Da Giovanni

Antica Osteria Da Giovanni
Via della Lungara, 41, 00165 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
+39 066 861514
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,769 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful place that brings you back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

For great home cooking, like your grandmother used to make, if you had an Italian grandmother, this is the place to go in Rome. I stumbled across it while going toward Trastevere for lunch. A place that time forgot, where they also forgot to raise the prices. I had a great soup ( rice and endive), a small plate of veal with mushrooms, a small bottle of white wine, mineral water, and an expresso for 13.5 euro for lunch. And I really enjoyed the lunch crowd enjoying themselves there. Menu is limited, you may have to wait since the waiter has a lot of tables to cover--stop whining! A chance to rest up after the Vatican Museum.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    47
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
724 reviews 724 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
3,287 helpful votes 3,287 helpful votes
“Food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We made a special effort to seek out this restaurant. It was a bit of a disappointment. There were not many tourists - a good sign - but the food was nothing special. The best think I can say about the food was it was "OK". We went at lunch and it was quite crowded, so obviously lots of people do like it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“This is what I mean for 'good value for money'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I love popular places, looking to the substance rather than the form. This means that I want to eat enough (no micro nouvelle cuisine helpings, please!), eat decently well, and pay a fair price. Then, if you can get a refined course or an abundant helping, that would be a 5-stars vote. Well, da Giovanni you'll find nice homemade dishes and good wine, no frills, and a great familiar atmosphere. It is one of those inexpensive places where you want to go to have more than you pay.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“humble, unpretentious, lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A simple local tavern, unpretentious and humble. The food has the same characteristics too. A small place that makes you feel like home. Even the clients (italians) are friendly and they try to help you as much as possible when they know you are a tourist. A guy from the nearby table translated the whole menu for us! I will surely be back both for the food and the ambiance.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I love this place ... Great Atmoshpere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A super spot, halway between St Peter and Trastevere on Via Della Lungara.

A true Roman experience .... the waiter can speak English. If you can struggle through with Italian then give it a go.

Great value with a wonderful experience, I would recommend visiting for Lunch or Dinner. Get there early to have the choce of a full menu.

Pasta will cost five euro and main is around the same with fish a little more.

Enjoy ...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria Da Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Antica Osteria Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Osteria Da Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.