We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best and most relaxing meal while in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sora Rosa

Sora Rosa
Via Tor Carbone , 74, Rome, Italy
067188453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,533 of 8,499 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our best and most relaxing meal while in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This little charming spot is nestled off the street, near the catacombs of Rome. The tables were outside under huge trees of various types. Most of the diners were locals. The only way we ever would have found Sora Rosa is due to our tour guide for the day, Roberto (Easitalytours) who spent the entire day with us. Our waitress spoke English and was very friendly and helpful. The wine, which was the house, was excellent. THE FOOD! The bruscheta (sp?) was so good, we should have stopped there and just had another glass of wine. But I'm glad we didn't! Try the brick baked chicken, it's sort of flat but so crispy and delicious you'll chew on the bones. My pasta was also the best I had in Italy, but I lusted after my husbands chicken just the same. This place is so restful and pleasant. Like sitting in your own backyard and being waited on by your Mamma. Get there if you can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best bruschetta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our guide Max of Easitalytours took us here for lunch. The garden setting is wonderful. We had the best bruschetta ever with delicious frash basel, tomatoes and a wonderfully tasty olive oil. We also had pasta and the pressed fried chicken. Desert was good too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Veramente buono!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great food, very relaxing setting, the garden is just beautiful,Meal was very affordable. our guide Max of Easitalytours took us there, we loved it and will definetely return !

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible meal--the best we had in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Villa Tor Carboni "Sora Rosa" Ristorante provided us with the most delicious meal that we enjoyed during our vacation in Rome; and that's saying a lot. If you are ever in Rome, we highly recommend that you visit this place. It's off the beaten path in the beauty of the Roman countryside, but not too far from the urban areas of the city. Its location added a memorable sense of serenity and aesthetics to our dining experience.

As for the food, it simply can't be beat. For starters, Sora Rosa has, without question, the best bruschetta that my wife and I have ever had. It was prepared perfectly with a beautiful smoky charring on the bread, perfectly ripened tomatoes sliced to just the right thickness, fresh basil, and, no exaggeration, the very best garlic/olive oil/sea salt combo ever. Heaven on a plate.

We had two pasta dishes. They were both amazing, but what made our jaws drop was their pasta with mushrooms in a cream sauce. We also enjoyed a very unique pressed chicken dish. I can't remember what it's called, but it is cooked under a 10-pound stone and was also delicious. The rest of the meal was equally wonderful.

My wife and I were delighted with the service as well. The owner is a charming, soft-spoken lady who made sure that we were enjoying everything that we ordered. By the end of our meal, we felt like we had been regular diners at her restaurant for years. We will most definitely be back next time we're in Rome.

The simplicity and purity of Sora Rosa's recipes is what makes this place so special. Because of their ingredients, their recipes, their skill in the kitchen, and their service (e.g., bringing food out the instant that it leaves the kitchen), they have absolutely no need to adorn their dishes with fluff. Nothing is overseasoned, oversalted, or overdone. It's all just perfect food. A total winner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The place to go if you like like family traditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This restaurant which is on the outskirts of Rome and run by the same family since 1939 offers excellent food served in a welcoming family atmosphere. There is lots of room indoors and even more outdoors. We were a large group and had many different first courses which followed an excellent antipasto. The gnocchi with artichokes and Grana cheese is delicious but so is their lasagna and the rigatoni all'amatriciana. They offer a wide variety of delicious meat dishes and a good choice of vegetables. The service is impeccable!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sora Rosa also viewed

 
Rocca Priora, Province of Rome
 

Been to Sora Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sora Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.