We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bruschetta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sora Rosa

Sora Rosa
Via Tor Carbone , 74, Rome, Italy
067188453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,942 of 8,582 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best bruschetta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our guide Max of Easitalytours took us here for lunch. The garden setting is wonderful. We had the best bruschetta ever with delicious frash basel, tomatoes and a wonderfully tasty olive oil. We also had pasta and the pressed fried chicken. Desert was good too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    11
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Veramente buono!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great food, very relaxing setting, the garden is just beautiful,Meal was very affordable. our guide Max of Easitalytours took us there, we loved it and will definetely return !

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible meal--the best we had in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Villa Tor Carboni "Sora Rosa" Ristorante provided us with the most delicious meal that we enjoyed during our vacation in Rome; and that's saying a lot. If you are ever in Rome, we highly recommend that you visit this place. It's off the beaten path in the beauty of the Roman countryside, but not too far from the urban areas of the city. Its location added a memorable sense of serenity and aesthetics to our dining experience.

As for the food, it simply can't be beat. For starters, Sora Rosa has, without question, the best bruschetta that my wife and I have ever had. It was prepared perfectly with a beautiful smoky charring on the bread, perfectly ripened tomatoes sliced to just the right thickness, fresh basil, and, no exaggeration, the very best garlic/olive oil/sea salt combo ever. Heaven on a plate.

We had two pasta dishes. They were both amazing, but what made our jaws drop was their pasta with mushrooms in a cream sauce. We also enjoyed a very unique pressed chicken dish. I can't remember what it's called, but it is cooked under a 10-pound stone and was also delicious. The rest of the meal was equally wonderful.

My wife and I were delighted with the service as well. The owner is a charming, soft-spoken lady who made sure that we were enjoying everything that we ordered. By the end of our meal, we felt like we had been regular diners at her restaurant for years. We will most definitely be back next time we're in Rome.

The simplicity and purity of Sora Rosa's recipes is what makes this place so special. Because of their ingredients, their recipes, their skill in the kitchen, and their service (e.g., bringing food out the instant that it leaves the kitchen), they have absolutely no need to adorn their dishes with fluff. Nothing is overseasoned, oversalted, or overdone. It's all just perfect food. A total winner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The place to go if you like like family traditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This restaurant which is on the outskirts of Rome and run by the same family since 1939 offers excellent food served in a welcoming family atmosphere. There is lots of room indoors and even more outdoors. We were a large group and had many different first courses which followed an excellent antipasto. The gnocchi with artichokes and Grana cheese is delicious but so is their lasagna and the rigatoni all'amatriciana. They offer a wide variety of delicious meat dishes and a good choice of vegetables. The service is impeccable!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
1 review
“It was the highlight of our day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived at the restaurant late in the afternoon following a day of sightseeing. As most Italians do not dine until at least 8 pm in the evening, preparations were just getting underway. We were invited in to enjoy the lovely courtyard and some antipasto and wine in the meantime. Not long afterwards, a delicious dinner was prepared and graciously served. It was a "classic" Italian dining experience...very accomodating hosts, delicious food, great wine, and very pleasant surroundings. We will recall our evening at Sora Rosa often now that we're back home.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sora Rosa also viewed

 
Rocca Priora, Province of Rome
 

Been to Sora Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sora Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.