We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Famille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Maison de Famille to your Saves list
La Maison de Famille
Cola di Rienzo, 212, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,686 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here at the start and end of a three week trip to Italy. The staff were helpful providing excellent advice and answering the questions we had. The amenities clean and well presented and the location excellent within walking distance of the Vatican, the caste d'Angelo and the Tiber river. The metro is also located within a short 5 - 10 minute walk. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They called us after we landed in Rome to inform us that there was a strike in the metro and they explained us where to take a taxi around Termini station. They also gave us recommendations on what to visit and local activities to do.

The room was modern, clean and in very good condition. It also has AC, very much needed when we were there.

And the location is fantastic. 10 minutes walk from Vatican and 15 minutes walk from the center. We didn't take any public transport when visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheltenhamPaul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My wife had stayed here about 4 years ago with some friends and really liked it. So when we went back to Rome we decided to stay here.

The welcome was good. The room was nice. The location turned out to be great. The hotel feels very safe.

But our stay was spoilt by what must be one of the worst breakfasts I have ever had in a hotel and some unfriendly members of staff. At breakfast my wife asked for a cup of tea. 'Hot' water was poured from a thermos and she was handed a tea bag. The coffee I had was terrible. I know that breakfast is not that important but when it is this bad, it makes a real difference. It was worse on the second day than the first which we didn't think possible.

I am afraid to say that despite the good location and the reasonable price, we will not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was our second hotel in Rome (We started our 3 1/2 week trip in Rome and stayed by the Colosseum and circled around Italy to fly out of Rome). This B&B was fantastic! Its in a secure apartment/ small business building a couple blocks away from the Vatican. They give you several keys to get into the building which has a gorgeous courtyard and antique Singer elevator (not as scary as it sounds). It seems that they took a flat and made it into a small B&B. The rooms were all new, mid-sized and extremely clean (which is heaven after traveling around Italy). The staff were so helpful and the breakfast chef was extremely courteous and kind. We could walk around all day and then return to (what felt like) our little Roman flat. If you want a clean, budget friendly and homely place to stay in Italy you MUST stay here. Seriously.

Room Tip: They look exactly like they do in the pictures! All have personal AC, windows and new furnishing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a litllte bed and breakfast, but the rooms are amazing, with beautiful furniture, everything is new. The braekfast was very good. The location is excellent, near by vaticano, and one of the best comercial streets in Rome. I'll be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

It's a very good place with a amazing location!
When you get it ,you can find more than what you've expected!!!!
I want come back next year...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stay here if you are looking for an inexpensive, pleasant, quiet, attractive and clean place in a lovely neighborhood (Prati) in Rome, close by the Vatican. We walked to the Vatican and walked across the Tiber to central and ancient Rome. Two metro/subway stops are close by.

I am never sure what it means to say one gets what one pays for, because inexpensive should not mean ugly or partially clean. This place was inexpensive, attractive and spotlessly clean. Our small room was very well-appointed, with a completely and nicely renovated bathroom. The inside window, which opened out, was double-paned and nearly blotted out any city noise. The window was covered by large and old painted wood shutters, which also opened out and were perfectly operational. Nice touch. The attractive curtains, when drawn, darkened the room quite well.

Front desk was helpful regarding the temporary storage of luggage after we had checked out.

Note - this is a B&B housed in a nice, old building containing many other business and residences.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison de Famille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Famille

Address: Cola di Rienzo, 212, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,686 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison de Famille is a new luxury guesthouse in the exclusive neighborhood of Prati. Within walking distance from the Vaican Museum, St. Peter Basilica and Castel S. Angelo, as well as the famous shopping street of Via Cola di Rienzo. Furnished with every confort, private bathroom with hairdryer, Lcd Tv, WiFi, safety boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your La Maison de Famille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Famille Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Famille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.