We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel and the staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Duse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
east valley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel and the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is a small charming hotel in a lovely, quiet neighborhood. It's away from the city center so one does get to experience Rome from a non-touristy perspective. I"m sure Irena at the front desk will remember us. I broke my foot our first day in Rome. Irena was so very helpful. She called a nearby medical clinic and got me an appt. with an orthopedic doctor. Since it was only a few short blocks away she insisted on taking us there in her own car. I just can't say enough about how nice and helpful all the staff were to us. Loved the hotel, loved the neighborhood and loved everyone working at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    72
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
217
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel Villa Duse is a true Rome experience; however, before you book, do decide if you are going to Rome to see absolutely everything possible in the least amount of time, or if you want to experience real life Rome. Villa Duse is not in the standard tourist zone, so one must use public transportation which functions exceptionally well and will get to every tourist district. However, do expect to walk in a friendly, upscale neighborhood that provides all the amenities that those that live and work there actually need and use. The Hotel Villa Duse is the bonus. The small competent staff will exceed your expectations, and the Pastry Chef will have morning surprises that will not disappoint your palate. As an exceptionally renovated private villa, the attention to detail from the high ceilings, massive windows, beckoning bathroom, and quiet walled courtyard complete with water fountains, wine service, and wifi will have you gladly extending your original stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Wonderful experience from the moment we set foot into the lobby on our first day.
The hotel is small - about 16 rooms or so in a previously owned private home, now converted. This allows for each guest to get personal service: the reception staff were extremely helpful with great suggestions for nearby restaurants, help with getting around, and little details. The service staff were great, including the porters, servers, and housekeeping. Everyone was extremely courteous. Daily breakfast in the hotel was lovely and always a great start to the day.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of the city center - upscale and safe, but always a bus ride away from any of the major tourist sites. This was maybe the only downside; however, well worth it. This is a great hotel for anyone who may have already visited Rome and is not preoccupied with seeing all the sights, but rather looking to have a relaxing vacation.
We loved it here and will almost certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Located in an upscale, safe neighborhood of Rome. It is a 10euro, 10 minute ride into city center. Taxis always arrived within ten minutes of our request. The distance did not bother us at all. There are about 4-5 cafe's located less than a 1 minute walk from the hotel..most have staff that speak English and stay open until midnight for quick bites.

The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and a powerful hairdryer (not the typical european wall mount.) The free breakfast had a wide selection of meats, breads and cereals, all fresh.

This is an urban but not touristy area (similar to the Upper East Side of New York.) One of our driver's questioned how we found this part of Rome and the hotel..."because this is really nice most American's don't know about it." Not sure if I should have been offened but I took it as a compliment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a great location. We had breakfast there and the food was excellent.Our room was comfortable, and the bed wow! best nights sleep ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were staying in another hotel when we saw Hotel Villa Duse on tripadvisor and decided to try. The hotel is located in Parioli area, where you can experience real Roman life (nice, clean, high-end suburbs). The hotel is not in the city center, yet I would prefer a quiet, nice and "local" location anyway. We walked to Collosseum one day, visiting Borghese gardens and walking down Via Veneto. Thanks to GPS, we never got lost and had a wonderful walking trip. Even some reviewers say it is far to the city center, we found it pretty close - walking distance to Villa Borghese, Via Veneto and Trevi Fountain.

We stayed at Tower Lodge room, which has a private access with elevator. The room is definitely incredible. Classic furniture with a modern touch of technology, comfiest bed ever... And a private terrace...

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely come again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel room is the smallest of my italy trip.
The location is far away form the centre and all the attractive points. Only a bus - No.360 from Termini to the hotel and it takes 25 mins to go there.
The room, the bed and the bathroom are all extreme small
I selected to include breakfast by paying more but what a pretty the hot food is not included. We need to pay extra for eggs and toast. I stayed 4 nights and ate their cakes and corn flake for 4 days
Only 1 staff serve during the whole breakfast time and we need to wait for everything.

Room Tip: Don't go there it is too far from centre and needs to wait for bus all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Duse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.