We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel after a "bump on the road"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Duse to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Duse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel after a "bump on the road"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We’ve just been staying at the Villa Duse for a week. We had booked the Villa Duse for our honeymoon, and was looking forward to a week with both sightseeing, but also a hotel in a quiet area, where we could relax and enjoy each other. Unfortunatly our honeymoon didn’t start out that way, cause when we arrived at The Villa Duse, our booking somehow had been cancelled, and therefore the room we had booked was not free.
This came as quite a surprise to us, cause we had been in contact with The Villa Duse just days before asking about airport pickup (mentioning our booking number). Why does The Villa Duse not make a check when they get a query? The Villa Duse made arrangements for us to stay at another hotel the first night, and we could then come back for the rest of our honeymoon. We where sent to a nearby hotel, and had expected a hotel that was a bit similar to The Villa Duse, but ended up at a business hotel, close to a busy street, at a regular business room, with no balcony or terrace and wiew right into a wall! Not our idea of a good start on our honeymoon. When we got back to Villa Duse we mentioned this for the staff, and after som consultation with the hotel manager I think we’ve made our point clear and has come to an understanding with the hotel.
All that said we then had a very nice stay at the Villa Duse, the room lived up to our expectations and the private terrace (park room) was small but nice and lovely for a couple at their honeymoon, just remember to buy something against the mosquitos, cause they like to bite ☺ The bathroom is large compared to the room, and has shower with ”massage” function.
The staff was wery helpfull, both with directions and restaurant bookings and always had a smile. The ”public” terrace is nice with its sofas and soft chairs, especially after a long day around the city. After the ”bump on the road” start of our honeymoon we’ve had a really nice stay. And here’s a few tips that we hope you can use:
We chosed a airport pickup via a online pickup service – cost 80 euros (return) – a chauffeur will pick you up at the airport and drive you directly to the hotel (it’s the same price for a ordinary taxi) –you can find the companys that offer this service online.
1: The easy way to go to the center of town, Termini or The Vatican is via bus or Tram – Buy the ticket (1 €) at kiosks or, when not sold out, at the hotel. And yes it takes around 20-30 minutes to get into the center, but what else to expect when you choose a hotel at this location ☺ We like to walk around town, and it’s the best way to experience Rome – and it’s possible to walk into the center of Rome – around 35 minuttes to the Spanish Steps and 45-55 minuttes to the Vatican. You can go through the Villa Borgese park under the trees, which is quite nice – and when you get through the park you have a fantastic view over Rome.
2: If you go to the Colloseum then buy your entrance ticket at the Palantino – only 200 meters away – the ticket covers both Palantino, Colloseum and Forum Romano. There’s nearly no line at the Palantino ticket office – afterwards you can go to the Colloseum, and skip the 300 meter ticket line!!!!
3: If you go to the Vatican then be an early bird – be at the Sct. Peters Cathedral before 7.30 and walk right in – see the Cathedral without to many other tourists and then go to the Vatican Museum, where you, some days before, has bought your ticket via www.vatican.va - keep to your right where the line starts for the tickets – and just walk by the line and enter with your prebooked tickets – we skipped a line about 400 meters!!!
4: Just around the corner of the Villa Duse (to the right) there’s a small bar and next to it a ”take-away” place, where you can get delicious food at very low prices – if you get tired of eating out – A very popular place around lunch (lots of locals), but it’s open until 8. pm.
We would have liked to give the Villa Duse a five star, but cause of our ”bump”, and also that we think it’s a bit curious that a hotel of this category demands 3 euros for a egg to your breakfast – we didn’t use the option ☺! Therefore The Villa Duse only gets four stars.

Room Tip: choose a room with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    75
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
230
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This enchanting little place on a leafy side street has everything we craved after another hot day on the overcrowded tourist trail--comfy beds, an up-to-the-minute shower, an enveloping sense of calm and helpful staff for whom "Welcome back" is not just an empty ritual. We booked the Library Suite, which has a comfortable couch for reading and, unlike most hotel rooms, has plenty of good light. The window treatments are an insomniac's fantasy: automatic blackout blinds keep out every ray of light. Another bonus: free WiFi.

As everyone else has noted, this hotel is a bus ride away from the centre of things (ask the concierge when the next one is due, so you won't waste time at the stop). If you need to freshen up between sightseeing tours, stay elsewhere. But if you'd rather stay in a comfortable Roman neighbourhood, where the people you'll see in local trattorias are mostly local residents, Villa Duse will soon feel like home. Let the staff steer you to one of many appealing restaurants within walking distance. Don't miss La Pariolina, a hopping place where both the welcome and the food have lots of heart.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked this hotel for a five-day break on the basis of other reviews and they are right! It is a lovely little hotel - very tastefully furnished/decorated, very comfortable beds, great power shower and friendly staff. The buffet breakfast included in our price was fine with all the usual things - juices, yoghurt, cereals, rolls, ham, cheese, pastries - cooked food extra. The only problem might be the location for some people. If you want to be in centre of town, then this hotel is not for you. However, the 360 bus takes you right outside the hotel and is a frequent service so we didn't mind. It is also situated in a quiet street if you want peace and quiet. Having said that, my first night was disturbed by the people of the apartment next door having a party till 1 am, however, this was only because of the next day's 150th Anniversary of the Republic celebrations and it was quiet thereafter.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed here last week for two nights. Room was stunning, the best I have ever stayed in and so perfect for a romantic weekend. Staff are so helpful, especially man on reception. Location is not perfect but fine. If you get use to the bus it's ten minutes from everything and bus is every ten minutes so no issues and for the room it's worth it......

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have just returned from a flying visit to Rome. I did a great deal of research before booking the Hotel Villa Duse as I am very hard to please when it comes to hotels perhaps because I am in the hospitality business myself.May I say that hotel Villa Duse ticks all my boxes!
The hotel is situated in a very quiet residential area of Rome called Parioli. We took a no. 360 bus from the Termini train station which dropped us off almost outside Villa Duse which was very convenient and only cost 1 euro per ticket!
The hotel is a beautifully converted private villa and every attention has been made to detail.
Elegant but also very comfortable, we had booked the least expensive room ( they only have a dozen or so all together ) which was no.3 and had it's own tiny private patio where we sat enjoyed the warm Spring evening. The bathroom eas well equipped with luxury large towels, robes and slippers and was a good size with a real window that you could open! The bedroom was medium sized decorated with taste and beautiful fabrics. The bed was large and comfortable. There was a awell stocked mini bar, reasonabily priced and a flat screen TV.
Breakfast was served in the garden and consisted of wonderful home made cakes, puddings and pies ( an Italian breakfast tradition ) but also frsh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, rolls and preserves. There was a small selection of ham and cheese too. The cappucino was very good and the waiter extremely pleasant.
Just before I finish a special mention for Abel on the front desk who was very kind and helpful and also to Irene who put up with my frequent emails prior to our stay. Top marks for Hotel Villa Duse and it's staff! I can't wait to return...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I spent 5 nights with my wife in this hotel and it was great. The rooms are very posh, calm/quiet neighbourhood and great staff. The only problems that I had was the Internet connection which was down during most of my stay. The location is not close by the centre of the city, but it's very easy to get there by bus or taxi, so that is not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at Villa Duse over the easter weekend and had a lovely time - the staff are super friendly and helped us book restaurant reservations as well as helped with travel around the city. Nice modern touches in the room and bathroom didnt spoil the classic simple look of the room. All in all very nice indeed.

The only bad side was the location, which is a 5 minute walk from the nearest bus / tram, which themselves take 10 / 15 minutes to get to the centre. But still, you do a lot of walking in Rome, so a bit extra isn't really an issue, and it also means that it is a quiet location. Also, bizarrely, my book got stolen from my room on the last day?! Can only assume the cleaners picked it up off the bed with the sheets by accident... Anyway, very annoying!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Duse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.