We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gelateria Frigidarium

La Gelateria Frigidarium
Via del Governo Vecchio, 112, 00186 Rome, Italy
+39 334 995 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 8,713 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Figidarium house is a classic Italian gelato where tradition and the search for new flavors are always accompanied by the choice of quality ingredientsThe customer service is not limited to the essential, but try to convey the passion and attention that we have in the laboratory to produce our ice cream.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I had the lemon and the maracuja flavours and they were great! They were sweet and sour at the same time, and absolutely refreshing. Try it! For 2 flavours it is 2 euros, and you get quite a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    264
    72
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Ask for the Frigidarium flavor and get a cookie on top of your cone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The attendants are friendly and the ice cream is delicious!
Get some chocolate topping and ask for the house's flavor to get a cookie on your ice cream!
:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best gelato in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When my family visited Rome, we did a "gelato crawl" where we went to one gelateria every day. This was by far our favorite, and a great location too. You can tell they use all natural ingredients since the mint is a greenish/grey, and the banana is grey also. I think that's what I liked most about it. The tiramisu was TO DIE FOR. Absolutely worth the long line.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life-changing Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Gelaterias are everywhere in Rome, especially on warm summer days. So for one to stand out, it must be special, and we are not alone in remembering the rich, complex flavor and textures of the gelato at Frigidarium. We heard of it through Serena Cantagalli, our amazing tour guide.

Then location is great as well - on a lovely side street leading up to the Piazza Navona.

Not to be missed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“High Quality Gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stumbled across this place by accident and decided to take a chance (how can you go wrong, really). But this turned out to be our favourite gelateria in Rome. The flavours were fresh and the serving sizes were generous. Delicious!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gelateria Frigidarium also viewed

 

Been to La Gelateria Frigidarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gelateria Frigidarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.