We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto to your Saves list
Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto, 155, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #253 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well appointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This property is beautifully furnished and decorated. The fabrics, carpets, and veneer selection is lavish. The food is quite good...the service is mostly good but not always. The smallest rooms, while decent size by European standards are a little cramped. The location is as good as any in Rome.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor such a nice comment to read, we really appreciate it. Your words are the highest compliment for us and we are delighted that you have well appreciated our fine furniture as well as our food and location.

We look forward to your return visit very soon to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, we do hope that next time you will have an experience even better.

Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    137
    50
    22
    15
See reviews for
98
262
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Staff was excellent, helpful and friendly. Hotel was appointed in a modern style with some charm and flare.

Rooms were very comfortable. Baths were appointed with great touches: ours had a full size tub and a glass enclosed rainfall shower. Linens were soft and comfy.

There's a roof top bar, two restaurants and a bar - if you are too tired after touring to go out in Rome.

Located on the Via Veneto, it is centrally located - you can walk to many attractions or take a short cab ride.

The concierge was very helpful suggesting restaurants by location, price range, food type, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your enthusiastic feedback following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Our passionate staff work hard to offer each Guest a memorable travel experience. It gives us great pride to read that you enjoyed our facility, the location as well as the service extended by our concierge, that always try to make the stay of our Guests very exciting and memorable.
Please visit us soon again, we would be more than happy to welcome you in our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Front desk staffs were worst all around hotel for entire my life
Even their colleague blamed about front desk service
I felt like someone shouldn't be invited
Most of furniture and facilities In the room hard to use not easy to find
Only one thing can be tolerated is the apology and attitude of front manager
This hotel should be totaally changed
They even spoil name of jumeirah


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your stay with us. We noticed that it was just less than a year ago: we should hope that our Guests will share with us their feelings during their stay, in order to let us arrange any eventual problem or occurrence.

We are very sorry about your words about our front desk staff, who is normally well lauded for their warm welcoming, moreover because what you say is certainly not in-keeping with how we treat our Guests.

Our furniture and facilities are prepared to ensure a luxury experience and an easy and relaxing holiday. We encourage our Guests to involve us for any additional support we may offer to.

If you will decide to come back and visit us again, please contact me directly and I will personally take care of your stay. We will be eager to welcome you in the near future in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

this property is reminiscent of the one in Istanbul (Pera Palace).
the building has its history (not that grand as Pera Palace, though), and was restored beautifully.
but its size puts the natural limits to the extent of services that could be provided, so not a five star hotel.
the service is lukewarm, breakfast area too bland, gloomy and dark for Italy, with no outside terrace.
there are better options in Rome for this price

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Kostianty,


Thank you for your feedback and your time in posting it. We appreciate your recognition of the beauty of our historical building, which has in fact a beautiful past and is protected by Fine Arts Authority.
As we are in the middle of Rome, our size cannot be as in other cities: we are sorry to hear that your experience did not match your expectations.
Regarding the breakfast area, now it is in our beautiful Magnolia Restaurant, which has a gorgeous patio and arched dining rooms, with themed ‘flowers and fruits’ collection of paintings by famous Italian artists.

We continue to refine and improve our service, so we hope that you will choose to return in the future and have a true excellent stay and I will personally assist you.


Best Regards,

Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Absurdly priced and classified as 5 stars. This is the worst excuse for 5 stars I've ever seen. Routine long waits to check in since the reception doubles as concierge in the evening. Unregulated water temp fluctuations in shower. WORST breakfast buffer ever! In attentive staff and disgusting runny egg options- you can tell they put zero thought into breakfast menu and execution. The TV is heavily weighted to bizzare channels like Cuba TV and Iranian TV.

Unbelievable waste of money- for $500 a night you shouldn't have to put your room key in a slot to have power in your room and they should supply better than 1 ply toilet paper that doubles as see through paper.

Never again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Direttore at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Steven,

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent experience with us. We always do our best to satisfy our Guests, although there are some inconveniences that may happen.

We do apologize for your wait at check-in: in high season it may happen that our Guests arrive at the same time, however our life-style desk is in a separate place. We are sorry as well if you had any issues about shower temperature. Normally we ensure a good pressure and no fluctuations. The water has to start out hot to supply you with hot water and shower valve mixes hot and cold water to give you the perfect temperature shower water. Thank to your notice we have decided to make more efforts to check every eventual malfunctioning.

We are very surprised and very sorry that you haven’t appreciate our breakfast, of course it is something personal. Tradition and culinary culture are the key elements of our cuisine and we put a great care in providing an high quality selection of Italian traditional food and beverages.

We encourage all our Guest to inform us about any trouble and we always try our best to solve it out, that’s why our Guest Relation Department is more than delighted to help who needs support, hopefully before the end of his stay, in order to let him enjoy it.

Our TV channels list includes a large selection of international networks, but of course we have done some investigations to find eventual dysfunctions, but we didn’t find the issue.

Our policy about room key is in line with hotel procedures: we consign two keys to avoid inconveniences about air-conditioning or hi-tech charge needs.

Please accept my invitation to come back and have a true excellent stay as Jumeirah Grand Hotel via Veneto is well known for and I will personally assist you.

Best Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Facilities are nice, service its a bit slow but they are nice .... Breakfast is pretty ok also BUT they say they have wifi . . . .We come from Africa, where the internet is mainly pathetic and expected to have great speed and connectivity and NO WAY, internet here sucks.
You may say, why need internet if on vacation? Yes is true, BUT i need to be on top of my game even on vacation
So for vacation forgetting your "duties" it's ok, if you want to check emails, stock market and read what going on at work while away...not a good choice

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Mrs. Minerva_Minpot,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us, we are delighted to know that your overall experience has been nice and that you recommend us to other Guests. In regard to internet, we have two kind of connections, the hi-speed connection is available upon request, it is a pity that you did not express to us your need because we could solve it immediately. Moreover, we are introducing in a short time a new kind of hi-speed internet connection that would correct this issue.
Please accept my invitation to come back and have a more comfortable stay as Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is well known for and I will personally assist you.

Best Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We usually love Jumeirah hotels (and have a sirius gold card) but this hotel just has too many flaws. And having booked a superior room, an open suite and a junior suite for the extended family, I think we have a pretty exhaustive impression.

There are a few positives

The staff is very friendly, and always looked to help (the front desk however was much less good and friendly).

The hotel has been renovated and for the most part it has a feeling of new. Some of the work is state of the art such as the sound proofing of the windows. The rooms are also quite large with high ceilings so there is potential.

Spa is classy and tasteful

Now unfortunately this dwarves the negatives, some of which are inexcusable for a 5* hotel.

We booked the car service and had asked a baby seat (and toddler seats), which were all confirmed by email. At arrival the driver had none. This is not a price issue, its a security issue and the problem is that after travelling for a couple of hours you just you just have very limited options but to accept this risky ride.

We had given our exact arrival date, despite this, we could only check in at 2.40pm (despite a 2pm advertised checkin time) and we got the last room at 3pm. The overall checkin process took 45 minutes. Not pleasant when you have 4 small children. Since the process was so long, I hinted it would be nice to receive the best potential superior room or since I’m gold an upgrade. This was declined because the hotel was full and instead the room given was a very small superior room with disabled facilities (i.e. the bathroom lacked total cosines and had a big curtain).

Honesty is the other big problem here…Obviously our rooms were not prepared when we arrived at 2pm but instead of apologizing, hinting to keep our stuff and encouraging us to take a walk we were just placed in the small room adjacent to the checking area (given drinks) and then the staff pretended an excruciatingly long process (taking one passport at the time to photocopy them. When we finally lost patience, we were finally told not all rooms were ready….hmmm.. well we also checked online and the hotel was very far from full (and in fact had multiple available rooms which forced the staff to give a much better deluxe room instead of the superior room.

The decoration lacks taste. The hotel management (who sounds a little stingy more on this later) just decided to keep just too many things from the old Via Veneto Grand hotel.. a lot of the furniture is dated, towels and robes are hard and dated and despite a few new touches in the decoration its just an overall miss. And seriously brown walls with red carpet with old lacquered furniture? Its also a bad choice because the rooms are very, very, very dark. I mean our junior suite had a single window, with a view on a wall with no light coming in..Look at the photos on the website...all lights are on and totally saturated..the actual truth is much much darker...

The hot water infrastructure is bad..when you take a shower the heat isn't constant so you switch from being frozen to being burnt...and it didn't work at all for a whole morning (at least on the 4th floor) so we all had a spartian shower.

There is overall stinginess in the hotel..in our suite we are allowed one small shower gel bottle per day (for 3), 2 bottles of water (for 3)..I've even had to call to get more toilet paper (which is my first in any hotel above 3*) despite being very reasonable users of toilet paper..And this shows in many things..the small normal tear and wear is just not adjusted (small impacts that could be easily painted but accumulate to give a poor impression) and things like the baby cott is the cheapest travel cott. It just sounds poor a 5* hotel can't get to buy a small wooden cott. And again not something we have seen since our visit to a novotel..

Oh and talking of kids..the hotel poorly caters to children..no kids menu at night..etc..

And then there is housecleaning...

Given the rushed checkin process the rooms were not impeccable, now what’s worse is that we were never able to have them cleaned properly during our stay as we were always present during the cleaning…which obviously rushed the work done..Now this is truly incredible. Obviously with 4 small children including a baby we were often in the room but specifically, each time we left the room for 3-4 hours at a time, we called housekeeping to have the cleaning done and each time we came back it wasn’t done..with various excuses..there was a problem, they didn’t understand your call…who did you speak to,… etc…bottom line it’s a hotel where you just can’t have housekeeping come when it’s a good time for you..they come when it’s a good time for them..and that, is purely inexcusable for a 5* hotel

Breakfast quality is good but delivered in an overall unpleasant setup (which is really a corridor)

Obviously we could have been unlucky (very very very unlucky) but then there is service recovery..

Mr. Dellea genuinely did his very best (and managed..I say managed as the process was very complicated to uncharge the car service)..

Mrs. Lucani was very friendly and helpful..She caught us when we were surprised about the cold water (and complaining after the various problems) and she suggested relaxing in the SPA which sounded great…interestingly it was fully charged…which is an interesting marketing concept (and new one to me)…

Better choices in Rome for the price imho.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with maximum light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mrs. CKGeneva,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your stay with us. Despite a so long list of inconveniences, let me thank you for remarking some good points as well.

Our staff is always pleased to know that our Guests are satisfied about the service provided and on behalf of them I would like to express my gratitude about that.

The Hotel is completely new: we opened in April 2009 after 10 years of restyling as it is the result of two private buildings furthermore we are in continuous improvement. Our rooms have some great representative advantages such as size and noiselessness and our Spa is luxurious and intimate.

About the car service, we have investigated about the baby seat and we are absolutely sorry about the mistake and we do apologize for this bad situation experienced. Please be assured that we took very seriously the security issue in every context and we have improved our quality control on car service in order to avoid another similar episode. As explained at the moment of the booking, the car service is an external service that we book so be sure that in the future we will make more checks in order to avoid such disappointing issues.

About the check-in, that starts from 2 pm, please accept our apologies for the wait. In high season it may happen that our Guests arrive at the same time, that is why we offer them to have a sit in our lounge to relax after travelling and have a drink comfortably and, in your case, a free room upgrade as well.

While we were able to provide you with your preferred guest room, we are sorry to hear that it missed your taste. Our hand crafted wood furniture has been made by Italian artists, from Florence more often, and it is inspired by timeless elegance of Ruhlmann, the father of Art Deco Style. To make the room feel warmer and more intimate, we have chosen warm colors and tones that will cozy you up and relax. About decoration, we have supplied every single room with different frames of the magnificent photos collection named “Fragments” that represents hidden angles of Rome, made exclusively for Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto to make Guests feeling in the Roman ambience and atmosphere.

We are sorry as well if you had some issues about shower temperature. Normally we ensure a good pressure and no fluctuations. The water has to start out hot to supply you with hot water and shower valve mixes hot and cold water to give you the perfect temperature shower water. Thank to your notice we have decided to make more efforts to check every eventual malfunctioning.

In our bathrooms we provide a selection of Bulgari amenities and we recommend our Guest to ask us for any additional need, that we would be glad to provide.

About kids menu, we have a wide range of dishes à la carte that can be chosen even in a smaller size, but thank you for highlight a miscommunication in this matter, we have amended this point.

About housecleaning, evidently we have missed a need you have express well clearly, we are very sorry for the discomfort, we can just say that a misunderstanding may happen and I would like to clarify that our housekeeping team is well trained to not disturb while Guests are in the room. I apologize for the miscommunication.

Thank you for your appreciation of our breakfast, we are proud to provide fresh delicious dishes, with an Italian and international cuisine choice. We have moved the breakfast Room in our beautiful Magnolia Restaurant, which has a gorgeous patio and arched dining rooms, with themed ‘flowers and fruits’ collection of paintings by famous Italian artists that decorate the walls.
As you have said, we have tried to recover the discomforts by offering various services, and the SPA entry as well. The wet area of our Aqva City Spa include a vitality pool, which is a relaxing pool with salt water hydro massage, a spacious relaxation area with chaises longues and chromotherapy, as well as a hammam and sauna. We have offered the free access to every area of the SPA, but treatments are a different and additional service, that is why they were charged. In the doubt, a misunderstanding like this one could easily have been cleared up by calling me at check out, I would find with you a nice solution for this confusion.

We would like to ensure that our first purpose in our daily work is Guests satisfaction: we do our best to make every important aspect of the customer experience better and better. We are always ready to anticipate needs and recover eventual lacks, that is why we have a Lifestyle Desk always available for suggestions or requests.

Mrs. CKGeneva, we would like to thank you once again for your time taken to write this review and we do hope this will not discourage you and your family from visiting us in the future to experience the wonderful facilities and services our beautiful Hotel has to offer.

If there is anything in the meantime that I may assist you with, please do contact me and I will personally take care of your requests.

Best Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre on the exclusive via Veneto, Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is the union of two 19th century historical buildings, combined to create a modern masterpiece that pays homage to its historic past. The Hotel's facade is protected by the Environmental and Architectural Heritage of Rome; custom-made Murano glass chandeliers, black granite floor, travertine stairways with cast iron banisters and sleek wood furniture made by craftsmen in Cantu adorn the entire Hotel. An impressive art collection of oil paintings and graphic works by celebrated artists such as Picasso, Miro, Dali, de Chirico, Burri, Carra, Guttuso, Schifano and Cascella decorate the lobby and the corridors. The 116 rooms and suites boast handmade furnishings and Carrara marble bathrooms with Bulgari amenities. Further paintings and sculptures feature in the stunning Royal Suite, complete with Hermes armchairs, a private wine cellar and a private open air whirlpool bath. From classy wining and dining to trendy events, "Time" Restaurant & Wine Bar is a favourite fashionable rendezvous and the wonderful arched dining rooms of "Magnolia" Restaurant are the perfect backdrop to intimate and fine dinners. The AQVA City SPA - Sisley Treatment Center with its Vichy showers and vitality pool is the ideal place to relax and unwind, and features exclusive Sisley treatments. STAY DIFFERENT™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.