We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto to your Saves list
Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto, 155, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #253 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great service, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. This was a surprise weekend getaway for a friend of mine who had never been to Rome. All the staff were very friendly and I loved sitting at the bar each day for an espresso or a drink. The presentation for everything at the bar was phenomenal. I wish I knew where to find the giant green olives that the bar utilizes. I booked my friend for a spa treatment and she said it was the nicest spa she had ever been in. Although we had reservations for dinner our last night in Rome, we decided to have a quick drink on the rooftop terrace. It was so nice and private that we decided to just order food on the rooftop. Next thing you know and 7 hours had flown by. Will definitely stay here for all my future trips to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    137
    50
    22
    15
See reviews for
98
262
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Grand Hotel Via Veneto provided us with the most fabulous thirthieth wedding anniversary pre celebration. We arrived in Rome on Sunday, July 3 and stayed at this wonderful establishment until Friday, July 8. It truly is the most magnificent hotel in Rome. FIVE STAR all the way! From Silvio at the front door, Gina who assisted us with transportation, the wonderful ladies in the SPA, and the courteous, collegial and knowledgeable staff at the front desk - we have to say again and again - Paolo Tulini Front Desk Supervisor, Roberta Valorani Booking Agent, and Ilaria Lucani CEO Personal Assistant, their service is second to none. This is truly a first class establishment. Having vacationed in Rome and stayed at such five star hotels as the Westin, Intercontinental, and the Marriot...they cannot compare to the GH Via Veneto. Its modern (they just opened in 2009), sleek, art deco style coupled with its outstanding customer service made our stay in Rome unforgettable. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. We had a room with an outdoor terrace that looked up the side street to the Via Veneto. One day my cousin from Grosseto (a nearby town) stopped in to visit us but we were out for the day. The staff welcomed hm and made sure we received the handwritten note that he left for us. Breakfast, which was included in our stay, was delicious. The staff - top notch! We enjoyed cappuccino and espresso each morning along with a variety of hot entrees (my husband loved the Eggs Benedict) all served in their beautiful Magnolia Dining Room. We were able to unwind each day in their beautiful SPA and relaxation room. The staff there always pampered us with hot teas, cool drinks and fresh fruit. The sauna and the steam room coupled with the salt water pool spa were a vigorous way to end a day of sightseeing and shopping! There were great restaurants within walking distance - be sure to try the fried stuffed olives and the hand cut prosciutto di parma. Walking to the Spanish Steps provided breathtaking views and fabulous shopping. The bar in the restaurant provided outstanding wine selections. We also enjoyed drinks in the evening right outside - sharing an apertif with visiting family one night...and just the two of us on other evenings....truly experiencing the Via Veneto and la dolce vita. Kudos to this fine establishment. We made sure when we walked to the Trevi Fountain (three different times during our stay) we threw our coins in so we can guarantee our return to Rome and to the GH Via Veneto. We are already planning our next trip! Thank you to the entire staff......you made our stay a most memorable one. Most sincerely, Theresa and George Licitra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on my way back from Ravello, I found it great hotel and location, I walked in one night to Spanish steps, trevi fountain and piazza Della republica. On the time of arrival they showed me the room and how the facet works! Apparently it was a big deal for everybody and some complains! But I found it easy to navigate.
I have asked them to wake me up at 6am and provide me with breakfast in the room and they did on time except the apologized to provide scrambled eggs instead the provided boiled eggs and of course I had to pay the 25 Euros as not included in the stay but I was happy with that.
The most please surprise is to find the hotel next to famous Raphael the shoe store which is still there since the 70’s I heard about it from my auntie when she use to visit Roma back then!!
The hotel is modern rather than the typical Italian design, I like it more than my stay at Aldrovandi Villa Borghese much much better and I can tell you I will be re book at this hotel next year for sure

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Excellent location on Via Veneto, close to the Westin, Marriott and St. Regis. Yet, unlike those hotels, you will not find mobs of tourists. This seems to be a hidden jewel. Very attentive service, excellent rooms and one of the best breakfasts I've had in any hotel. They currently are running a Roman Summer promotion where the 3rd night is free, breakfast, spa and welcome drink included. It works out quite well relative to the other nice hotels in town. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel has been completely refurbished and re-opend not long ago. The design and atmosphere are outstanding and you can feel the touch of the Bulgari ownership. the location is great with easy access to many intersting areas of downtown Rome for both pleasure and business. i was staying in a standard room and compared with many Rome hotels did not feel the size limitation which you often find. The rate which is not "cheap" is however interesting for the locaton and type of hotel, expecially if compared with the neightboring hotels, however i believe this is a kind of promotional rate so do not know until when it will last.
The service is quite varying and you can meet different attitueds and capabilities, the impression is that some people are barely above apprentice level or under training o expect a great variation from this point of view. i did not unse any of the restarants/bar so cannot commet on this. definitely worth a try but if rates rise you want more from the service level point of view. jus a supid expample, when you arrive at the entrance door, depending on who is on duty you can expect a most warm and serviceous welcom or you might even have to open the door yourself ...
A big issue I had was "connectivity": there was no mobile phone coverage in my room and I could not acces the wireless network which in my case, being on a business trip, was a geat inconvenience: if you need phone or internet connectivity I suggest you make it clear and make sure you get a suitable room.

Room Tip: Please see last sentence above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our family recently returned from over 2 weeks in Italy. In Rome we elected to stay at the rather posh Grand Hotel Via Veneto. After a bit of confusion upon arrival when our initial non-smoking rooms in this supposed all non-smoking hotel smelled like cigarettes AND had ash trays in the room, we went to lunch while 2 rooms on a REAL non-smoking floor were made available. These rooms were fine, and perhaps because of this initial snafu, one of our rooms was upgraded to Deluxe with an outer view... albeit of a wall. LOL That was nice.

Most odd was that this upgraded Deluxe room was the room with 2 beds for our kids, so my wife and I took the smaller Superior room in the inner (and quite nice, actually) courtyard view. While this room was very fine, the bathroom was downright STRANGE. While our kids room had a HUGE 4 ft x 8 ft luxury shower and a separate luxury tub, our room had merely a 3 ft x 3ft stand-up shower with a rather tacky plastic curtain that seemed a bid out of place in a posh 5-star hotel with the bidet nearby. While this superior room was FAR from 5 star, the worst part was that use of this stall basically REQUIRED that the entire bathroom floor would get wet... slash that, DRENCHED. (So much for Italian design!! Frank Lloyd Wright could have taught the architect a bit about form AND function being one... but I digress.) Still worse, was the fact that the hand-held shower was IMPOSSIBLE for anyone shorter than a 6-feet tall to use... as my wife was unable to reach the top mount to hang it, yet she was too short for the lower mount not to cause the water to smash her in the face. Even worse, the first time I used the shower on the top mount, I LITERALLY ended-up with a bloody scalp after the sharp nozzle smashed me in the head when I turned the water off and it 'jumped' out of the cradle when the pressure stopped. (At that point, I was GLAD that the kids had the luxury room!!!) These shower and bathroom design flaws HAVE been mentioned before here, and upon checkout I SPECIFICALLY told the staff member who checked us out that every employee of the hotel should take a shower in one of these standard rooms to fully understand this TRAGIC flaw and the reason other has also been angered! (He seemed to ignore me, rather snobbishly. LOL)

OK, another common complaint here seems to be the Concierge, or rather the lack of a true one. While I can see that the ATTEMPT is to have all of the employees who check-in new guests to be considered as the "Concierge", one only needs to stay at a fine hotel with a true world-class Concierge (The Hay Adams in DC, the Savoy in London, and any number of hotels in Hong Kong and Shanghai come immediately to mind) to see the mistake in the plan here. While one gentleman went out of his way to help us locate an Irish Pub to watch the World Cup game, the vast majority our my Concierge-type questions led to mild frustration and missed opportunities.

Frankly, we found Mario at the front door to be the most knowledgeable on what Rome has to offer... and he IS terrific! The ladies in the Spa and workout area are also wonderful!! (Though, to call what they have a pool is dishonest!!) And the beds are VERY cozy!! We liked this hotel and considered the rather high price still to be a reasonable value in this area of town. When we one day return to Rome without kids we will gladly stay here again, albeit only in the Deluxe room... unless we bring a hard-hat to shower in. ;)

With all of that in mind, we still did LOVE the location of this hotel on Via Veneto! We also think the hotel is beautifully elegant. We also LOVED the breakfast at the hotel, though we suggest that everyone either pre-pay to get it for half price OR eat this meal at the small neighborhood bakery around the corner from the hotel. (Turn right when departing the front door, turn right at the first street, and walk maybe 40 yards and it is on your right tucked in right beside the hotel.)

I am rating the GHVV a 4... although one of our rooms rated a 5 and the other rated a 3, maybe... perhaps a 3.5 If I had known about the need for that hard-hat. ;) I know next time... as do you know!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Me and my husband stayed there for three days during our honeymoon.
The hotel itself is very nice and beautiful, the staff is very polite and helpful indeed. But I have to say that even though when we booked a room we left a comment that we're spending our honeymoon in this hotel on arrival none of the staff congratulated us with marrige. We were not actually hunting for some benifits but some congratulation or some special welcome in the room would have been nice and it was some attitude one expects to get in a 5 star Lux hotel.
And they also wrote a wrong name on all the cards and bills and on TV welcome. They didn't just spell it wrong but it was totally someone else's name, not mine with the correct surname written next to it. This was sort of an unpleasant discovery and I don't understand how could the well trained stuff write a very hard to spell russian surname correctly and put someone else's name that didn't even look like mine next to it.
The location is perect I have to say because you're practicly in the heart of Rome and everything you need to see is in walking distance from the hotel. At the same time it's not noicy in there at all, the windows of our room faced the inner yard which was quiete and beautiful and you could easely leave your windows opened for the night to get some fresh air.
The hotel has a beautiful terrace on the top floor but we didn't have time to use it as we didn't stay long.
The breakfast room was very nice as well but as for breakfast itself we definitely missed some hot dishes like eggs for example and the buffet didn't have much variety of foods and they served same things every day. It didn't bother us that much as we were only staying for 3 days but if we were to stay longer it surely could have been an issue.
Another thing we had a problem with was our bathroom. The bathtub had a glass door which was supposed to protect the floor from splashes but it was practicly useless because it was leacking. So taking a shower always caused a huge puddle of water on the floor which was the least to say unsafe and unpleasant.
We were not very happy about the cleaning in our bathroom too. The wall, opposite to the mirror was stained with something greasy or oily right from the day we arrived and the maid didn't bother to clean this in the 3 days we stayed. And I don't beleive she didn't notice that stain, I mean honestly it was impossible to miss something like this.
Last but not least you have to be aware of their sistem of paiment. They freeze money on your account the day you arrive no matter which way of payment you choose in the end cash or another card it doesn't matter. They freeze the total cost of nights you'll be staying and as I was told, if you choose to pay in cash or with another card the money from the card they preauthorized will be returned that same day. But in reality I had to wait for 1,5 months for my money to be returned.

Overall I'd say it's a good hotel in a good location it has it's flaws and overpriced rooms are one of it. But if you're looking for a good hotel in the centre of Rome and if you manage to get the rooms with a discount, like we did, it's a good place to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floors and try to find offers with a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_27703, Manager at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Lailonniel,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is really important to us and allows us to improve our service.
Despite your inconveniences, we are very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at Grand hotel via Veneto and found the staff very polite and helpful.
In truth, there are no excuses regarding the issues you are describing. It was indeed an oversight on our part regarding the name and honeymoon information, and for that, we sincerely apologize. I can assure you that we usually not only congratulate clients on their honeymoon, but we also extend special treatment to them. Again, we are sorry you did not get to experience this.
Regarding the breakfast, please be aware that there is a menu with hot dishes that we prepare upon request and instantly (this is also written in the printed menu). About the payment method, the time it takes to unfreeze the money depends on your credit card company and usually it is returned the same date if you pay with the same credit card given as per the guarantee (this is an automatic procedure).
We are really thankful to the clients that take the time to give us their feedback in a constructive way as it helps us build a strong relation with our clients and better understand their needs moving forward.
For this reason, we kindly ask you to contact us directly to organize together your next stay in Rome and make it a special one (maybe for your first anniversary!).
We wish you a wonderful day,

Claudia Montresor - Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto, 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre on the exclusive via Veneto, Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is the union of two 19th century historical buildings, combined to create a modern masterpiece that pays homage to its historic past. The Hotel's facade is protected by the Environmental and Architectural Heritage of Rome; custom-made Murano glass chandeliers, black granite floor, travertine stairways with cast iron banisters and sleek wood furniture made by craftsmen in Cantu adorn the entire Hotel. An impressive art collection of oil paintings and graphic works by celebrated artists such as Picasso, Miro, Dali, de Chirico, Burri, Carra, Guttuso, Schifano and Cascella decorate the lobby and the corridors. The 116 rooms and suites boast handmade furnishings and Carrara marble bathrooms with Bulgari amenities. Further paintings and sculptures feature in the stunning Royal Suite, complete with Hermes armchairs, a private wine cellar and a private open air whirlpool bath. From classy wining and dining to trendy events, "Time" Restaurant & Wine Bar is a favourite fashionable rendezvous and the wonderful arched dining rooms of "Magnolia" Restaurant are the perfect backdrop to intimate and fine dinners. The AQVA City SPA - Sisley Treatment Center with its Vichy showers and vitality pool is the ideal place to relax and unwind, and features exclusive Sisley treatments. STAY DIFFERENT™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.