We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brancaleone

Brancaleone
Via Sicilia 170, 00187 Rome, Italy
064871776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #838 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cosy and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A cosy place with awesome food and very friendly service! Prices were very decent and the house wine, excellent :) Spent 6 nights in Rome and we had dinner here 5 nights :) Lovely atmosphere and we felt like we were in the real Rome as opposed to all the touristy spots. Definitely recommended for authentic experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    87
    23
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“poor choice for a large group”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took a group of 25 students to this restaurant and were very disappointed. The manager initially seemed very accommodating but, when the bills arrived at the tables, we were saddled with a host of surprise charges (including a 2 euro/bottle charge for water when he had expressly said that water would be free).
Our students were shocked when they were being charged nearly 15 euro for pizza and a coke! The "home-made" antipasti were low-grade (bought at the Italian version of BJ's?) and the "hot dog pizza" has now become a running joke with our students. My bolognese pasta had a strange texture and flavor which made me recall Europe's recent horsemeat fiasco. The ambiance and the waitstaff were nice but I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Over all very good. Susan's first Italian pizza, at 9:30 pm like all the good Italians.
Your normal table Vino good but not some thing you will store in the cellar. Fresh ingredients and a large selection I would go back. The staff was very freindly and fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple, cheap, yet extremely good food - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A simple place with great pizza, very good service, very pleasant manager (or owner), surpisingly low prices (8 euros for most pizzas), excellent house wine (8 or so euros a litre!) - simply excellent. The locals seem to appreciate it, which is always a good sign. Nothing to complain about. Highly recommended place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza and Pasta -- Well looked after”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sat down at a table and was immediately advised by waitress that there was a football match on big screen and could she take us to a back room where it would be much more peaceful Other diners were also shown to this backwater. Noticed they were mainly staying at our nearby hotel.Enjoyed Pizza and Pasta in this fairly basic establishment but would happily eat there again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brancaleone also viewed

 

Been to Brancaleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brancaleone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.