We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roma Room Hotel

Roma Room Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roma Room Hotel to your Saves list
Roma Room Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Morgagni 41, 00161 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2,344 of 2,886 Rome B&B and Inns
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Rome for a week in July at the Roma Room Hotel. Having previously visited Rome I knew the benefits of staying close to a metro station but was absolutely thrilled at just how close we were to the Policlinico metro station (4 stops from the Colosseum). The hotel seemed to cater more for italian visitors and we quickly realised that the majority were either students or parents visiting students (the hotel is located near to the medical university). Despite this, the men on the counter were very helpful and despite their English not being the greatest they tried incredibly hard to help us when we had problems with our travel cards. The shuttle service to the airport was also brilliant and averagely priced.

The rooms are of average sized with a good quality shower and plenty of storage space. They feature gorgeous french windows which open out. We were fortunate to have a room facing the courtyard and had a wonderful view of the sun setting and rising.

My only criticism of the hotel is the lack of air conditioning. We were aware of this when we booked the hotel but at the peak of July heat (35 degrees at night!) we were forced to leave the windows open. This would not be a problem but the hotel was located on a busy main road and the rubbish trucks are very loud. The locals are also very loud and there was lots of chatter at night-time (particularly on a Friday night) which can be hampering to sleep.

Other than that, the hotel was lovely, the rooms were cleaned and fresh towels left every day. A good selection of breakfast was laid out for guests and the wi-fi in public areas was also very handy considering how cheap the hotel was to book.

If you are looking for Rome on a budget, with a good proximity to all the main attractions I would definitely recommend this hotel. But be prepared in the vicinity of the hotel for people to not be familiar with English or English tourists as this area of Rome is much more suburban than tourist based - and there is a really horrible man working in one of the restaurants on the way to the metro who is very arrogant and sarcastic. Encountering him on your first day is not on my list of Roman attractions!

Room Tip: If you get a choice you want a room facing the courtyard, as this is where I stayed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    16
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
6
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Good location (very close to the metro station), though we had a bit trouble to find it in the first place (poor signs). The value for the price in excellent, the stuff is friendly. The rooms are basic though, but we did not need more that that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside side if you do not want the sounds of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

The location was superb. 5 minutes from metro, 30 minutes walk from Roma termini (if you want to walk), and a tram ride away to the Vatican City or Pantheon or anywhere you want to go.

Good sized room with ensuite. Basic but clean and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful reception staff who knew how to get to all the tourist locations by the easiest route (bus/tram/metro).

Breakfast was the only low point, which was random but no big disaster. First day breakfast, there was cereal and bread but no butter. Second day: feasted like kings: bread AND butter and fresh croissasnt and cereal. Third day: butter but no bread, cereal but no bowls...

There is also free access to internet by reception and supposed wifi throughout. But the our room was too far to pick up the wifi signal. Not a problem as we could use the computer by reception for free.

Overall verdict: Highly recommend for location, value for money and friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

This is NOT a hotel! Formerly a house owned by a religious congregation who no longer stay there, is now run as commercial business.
Ring the bell and they will open the gate, you’ll enter into a reception with glass windows more like a police station and yes, they will ask you why you choose them and why did you book their “hotel”!
Be prepared to walk up 3 floors with no lift (“sorry, temporarily out of order”) then you’ll be in a little room with broken old furniture of the 70ies; only one bed lamp or one ceiling clinic-like neon lamp; bathroom of the same age (hose shower broken); general poor cleaning conditions, no heating at all – and there doesn’t seem to be air conditioning too.
Probably in the 70ies the nuns did run the establishment with more attention than the new business: however the Policlinico Universitario is nearby and the rooms there perhaps are better.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roma Room Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Room Hotel

Address: Via Morgagni 41, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,344 of 2,886 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roma Room Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roma Room Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma Room Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.