We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, funky room with a difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room29

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Room29 to your Saves list
Room29
Via Ivrea 20, 00183 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #644 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool, funky room with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights during June 2011. I agree with the other reviewers comments. The room was decorated in a funky manner, the breakfast was delicious with homemade cakes, bed very comfortable, transport on nearby metro easy, quiet, and likable host Elena. The surrounding neighborhood felt safe and was not touristy at all. In this way we enjoyed dinner at some fabulous real Italian restaurants in the locale for a good price. If I had to mention one drawback it would be the lack of aircon but with the windows open it was comfortable. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is a very unique bed and breakfast for many reasons. Elena the owner is very helpful and breakfast was lovely every morning, served at your requested time. The room is very quiet as you are the only guest and it looks over the inner courtyard of a block of flats making it a peaceful haven away from the busy centre of town. The metro stop is just road the corner which takes about 10 mins to get to termini and there is a supermarket 5 mins walk down the road. There is no shower but we did not find this a problem as there is a very large bath. The room as a little cosy but the round bed makes up for this. All in all a great stay and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Elena was the best host you could hope for :-)

We arrived very early in the morning and she made arrangements to still greet us. She also later gave us tips for shopping which my girlfriend appreciated very much (photo of map attached!).

The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and as "cool" looking as on the pictures. Breakfast was perfect as well and helped get the day started. The room was also as quiet they get.

It takes about 40 minutes to get to Room29 by train from the airport (with an additional 5 minutes walk from the train station).

Room29 is located 200m away from the Metro station which will bring you to all major points of interest in around 15 minutes.

We would and will recommend Room29 to anyone who plans on going to Rome, and will definitively stay there again if we ever return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a niche product in the B&B industry. Room29 is a B&B consisting of one room only, so there will be no other noisy, annoying guests at the location - you'll have the whole place to yourself. Elena, the owner is super sweet and will bend over backwards to accommodate you. The room has a funky, hip collection of all the stuff you need while you're in Rome and it gives you the feeling of staying at a hotel as well as providing a local vibe, since it is built in an apartment complex where actual Romans live. The room is private and not noisy. Elena's English is excellent, so no confusion there.

It's easy to find, just a minute's walk to the Subway (Metro,) and it is 3-4 stops from the most interesting places to see and visit in Rome. The breakfast is a good start of the day and Elena is a wonderful hostess. If you're the kind of person who appreciates getting lost in the anonymity that a big hotel will provide, this B&B is not for you. However we loved it and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This accomodation will remain in a very positive way: Very cosy room with a nice athmosphere, spotlessly clean, newly renovated, the bathroom very cute, all in all the room is very "motivating"! We already fell in love with the room when we saw it on the internet. The house is easily reachable via train from the International Airport. The room is towards the inner courtyard and therefore was very quiet. Although not in the center of Rome, it is easy to reach with the Metro. The breakfast was good, with cafe and cake. Elena, the tenant, is great: absolutely friendly and professional. We enjoyed talking to Elena, she is a very, very nice person! We can definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Elena was extremely helpful, ordering us taxis and giving us directions to a wedding we were in Rome for. Absolutely beautiful room and bathroom, great breakfasts every morning with cakes, fresh fruits and coffee, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

An absolutely gorgeous apartment, with lots of stylish accents, soothing background music, delightful breakfast, and proximity to a Metro stop (Ponte Lungo) for easy access to various points of interest in Rome. Elena, the hostess, was immensely kind and helpful. She helped us with directions and timetables, and gave us a parting gift -- CD with background music that played in our room. She even offered to mail us a scarf we left behind. In sum, we would stay in this heavenly spot any time.

Stayed May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room29

Address: Via Ivrea 20, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #644 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM29 is a cool and intimate Roundbed & Breakfast. Funny, sexy, kitschy and with a little twist of baroque, ROOM29 is all but ordinary. To couples who can appreciate something different, is dedicated one double-room with a private bathroom. The Roundbed & Breakfast is very quiet because it faces the inner courtyard. Two doors separate my home from the space so your privacy is guaranteed. This small, cozy and eccentric Roundbed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room29, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.