We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais 6

Save Saved
You added Relais 6 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais 6
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in June as a base before joining our Mediterranean Cruise.
This is a little hidden gem of a hotel, small friendly hotel in a peaceful street off the main Road into central Rome. Much less expensive than the Central Rome hotels if booked early.
The reception staff were excellent and very helpful with directions, recommendation’s and booking taxis etc. They have maps and bus tickets if not sold out.
We were upgraded on arrival, the rooms being tastefully furnished and very clean. There was a lack of wardrobe space but if you are only here for a day or two it’s not a big issue.
Great breakfast was included in our booking, plenty of choice. All the usual continental breakfast as well as juices, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs etc.
There is a very nice and relaxing bar/lounge with a nice little selection of nibbles and a few sandwiches. There is a peaceful garden at the rear of the hotel, which is nice to relax in after a long day touring Rome.
There are shops and restaurants within walking distance including the IButteri Restaurant which was recommended by the Hotel. This was one of our favorite meals ever, with a wonderful range of steaks, pasta and Pizzas.
A very pleasant stay and highly recommended for excellent staff and connections into Rome.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Mark, we're happy to have you entitled to a perfect start before your private cruise in the Mediterranean. Thank you very much for the nice review and greetings from all the staff of Relais6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    775
    299
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
283
510
52
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved this hotel. Great hotel, clean, roomy and an excellent value. Best of all was the excellent (English speaking) service. Giacomo at the front desk was especially helpful, and helped us navigate the Roman bus system.

The terrace, roof decks, lobby and lounges were great too. We liked the location, just a block walk to the bus stop to take you to central Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guests, we were happy to have read so many fine words about our hotel and we charge this much to try to do our best to continue to make the stay of travelers you as happy as possible. We like to make you feel at home. Best wishes from Relais6 particularly James, who greets you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Thanks a lot - this was a marvellous stay in rome. This hotel has a perfect service, very friendly staff and is nicely located. The rooms are really individually styled as shown on the internet sites and everything was very clean. Also to be mentioned are the very comfortable beds and a tasty breakfast. Next time in rome, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Karla, we are happy when guests Relais6 depart from Rome with such a good impression of our hotel and Rome, a city that always helps us so much in giving the best. Thank you for your exquisite words, which are always giving us great desire to give our best. Love from all the staff and...arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brits in Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been to Rome a few times before, but have now found the only place to stay. The hustle and bustle of Rome is fine during the day but at night we want peace and quiet as we sleep with the windows open.

This lovely hotel is in a peaceful residential area, 15 minutes by bus or 45 minute walk in to the center. They have bus tickets at the hotel to make it easy for you.

The hotel is clean, peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast is great, so much better than the usual continental jam and brioche. The room was amazing, couldn’t have been better.

The staff without exception are excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient.
This is the ONLY place to stay in Rome, we will be back and we will recommend it to everyone visiting Rome.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but some have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
As I often say when I read your beautiful reviews: this is music to my ears! It 'nice to know you have guests so happy and appreciate our structure. Hope to see you again. Greetings from Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is a little out of the way and an expensive cab drive away from the airport (60 euros) but the atmosphere, the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff is well worth it. The room are a good size (our room was #201) and the included breakfast has a nice selection of food. The terrace outside is lovely. The only thing I didnt like was the hardness of the bed but then again this is a matter of personal preferences. Unless there is a strike of public transport, the metro stop is a 5 min walk from the hotel and drops you off at the termini or even right in front of the colosseo. You can even buy your metro/bus ticket at the reception. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are sorry that you found the mattress too hard. We are pleased that, however, you were happy at the Relais 6. We hope to see you again. A warm greeting by the Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

With so many hotel choices in Rome, so many different locations, and so many price ranges, it was hard to decide where to stay. But after reading several reviews by others at Trip Advisor, I decided on Relais 6.

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel (Sept 27-Oct 4, 2012). The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. It is located about 2 miles north of the old city of Rome, in a quiet residential area close to many embassies. It is accessible by Metro (subway) from Roma Terminii (the main train station) via a new branch of the "B" Metro line. Note that this new line is not yet on Google maps, so it does not come up when you run a search and select the public transportation link (the "bus" icon). So, take the B Metro line towards Conca d'Oro (not Rebbibia) and get off at Annibaliano/St. Agnes. The hotel is 0.5km (about 1/3 mile) walk from the metro stop.

The quiet location was a nice respite to the hustle and bustle (and crowds) of downtown Rome. If you prefer to stay in the heart of the city, this hotel is not for you.

The staff were friendly, courteous, and in general helpful with many aspect of touring Rome and general itinerary information. We did discover that we preferred the advice of certain desk clerks over others.

Food wise, the breakfast buffet (included in the price as for most Euro hotels) had quite a wide selection. Complimentary snacks and light appetizers are available in the common area in the evening so you can hang out in the living room and have a drink and some nosh. There is a supermarket nearby, as well as several restaurants. We recommend Osteria Chiana, a short walk from the hotel and what seemed to us to be a local favorite (I think we were the only tourists there).

The standard double person room was small, but efficient and up to date with amenities. Larger rooms and even 1-bedroom efficiency units are also available which might work well for families.

Considering the location, the accessibility to tourist attractions in Rome, the excellent breakfast, and cleanliness of the hotel, we thought it was excellent value.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I found that booking directly from their website was as good as if not better in price than using ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the kind words spoken in favor of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the small snaks we serve at the bar in the afternoon, which Nems and Tibi prepare with such dedication. See you soon! Best wishes to all the staff of Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After extensive research into hotels in Rome, my girlfriend and I decided to book the Relais 6 after impressive TripAdvisor reviews, and this hotel suited our balance of modern versus characteristic. We were not disappointed.
The hotel was clean and all facilities were spot on.
The staff were friendly and very informative and certainly helped us out during our trip - even recommending a restaurant and making a reservation on our behalf.
The only potential negative, which is picked up in previous reviews, is the location. The slight drawback is that you will need to use public transport to get to and from the city centre, however the advantage is that you are not bang in the centre and it is a lovely quiet residential neighbourhood. We were well aware of the Hotel's location so this was no shock, and in fact a new metro line B1 (stop S.Agnese/Annibaliano) had obviously recently opened and was very convenient. I would however recommend doing some research to familiarise yourself with the hotel location as arriving in the dark, we needed some help from a fellow bus passenger as to which stop we needed to alight.

All in all, I wonderful hotel that we used as our base for our 5 night stay and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peragia, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Rob, we are happy that your stay at our hotel in Rome was pleasant. We are pleased to have received so many good congratulations and, in particular, have found that arrive at the hotel is not so uncomfortable because you were prepared on location. Thanks again and a warm greeting from all the staff of the Relais6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.