We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The internet charges were so high and this was the only hotel in our 17 day trip to Italy that did not offer free wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Roma to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
pune
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The internet charges were so high and this was the only hotel in our 17 day trip to Italy that did not offer free wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is very modern and the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. We chose this hotel as it was close to the termini and we were arriving by train from Siena. However the check in took a long time and the hotel has a very high charge for wifi which seems a bit odd in this day and age considering we had free wifi even in the smaller towns of Italy. Also the hotel does not offer free umbrellas for use of their clients and even in cities like Milan this was offered by the hotel we stayed at. The reception staff were very brusque in their manner but I guess thats what happens in a big city. We were on the 5th floor but the sound of trams can be loud. It did not bother us as we walked so much during the day we were so tired when we finally got into bed in the night. The breakfast is adequate and the staff there are very helpful and friendly unlike the reception staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    676
    121
    29
    17
See reviews for
317
904
68
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my mother for a week in May 2013. The room we had was a superior, which meant free wifi and mini-bar. Never had a free mini-bar before so this was a bonus! The room was amazing, a big comfy bed and grand windows that let in a lot of light. It was clean and very modern. The bathroom was beautifully decorated and very stylish.

Our stay included breakfast and the staff in the morning were more than happy to help us locate a seat and serve us tea/coffee. Its a buffet style breakfast but the choice of food was incredible.

The only negative I would say was that my room wasn't great for wifi - I had to stand in a corner by the door to get a signal! But even still, this is a minor flaw and I was happy to surf the internet in the bar area.

If I ever go to Rome again, this would be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior and you'll get free wifi and mini-bar. However you'll need to ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights in May 2013 and it was a great experience from the beginning and until the end. The front desk staff are polite and helpful and most of them are pretty good in English as well. The hotel is centrally located close to Termini and has good access to all the tourist sites. The room was clean and the bathroom was huge with a nice shower. Bed was comfortable but as always in southern Europe the duvet was closer to being an extra bed sheet than a nice and fluffy duvet. The hotel breakfast is also very nice with a good selection of bread, yoghurt, cereals etc. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a modern, clean hotel located right next to Termini.

Check-in staff are prefoessional, and helpful in the typical Italian way if you know what I mean.....

We took the upgrade to the superior room which included free minibar, although not sure the rooms were any bigger. However, room was of a good size and light. It did get a touch noisy sometimes when the tram passed.

Enoy trying to turn on the shower without getting wet first (or maybe I was being stupid) However, that aside, this is a great hotel. .

Lovely breakfast too - perfect for looting all those nutellas!!

Is it value for money? Yes, if you can find a good deal. But you know what you are getting when you stay here - modern, clean, efficent etc....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent - a very short walk away from the main rail station, a metro station serving both lines A and B, a bus station, and tram lines. With a 1-day, 3-day or 1-week travel card you can easily get anywhere in the city, and also for 14 Euros get a 1st class non-stop train to/from Fiumicino airport in 30 comfortable minutes. There are also at least 25 restaurants within 10 minutes walk.
Reception was efficient and friendly, both on arrival and check-out, and the desk staff are helpful with local information, maps, etc.
The hotel itself is modern and attractive. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, although not huge, and the bathrooms are excellent with large basin, bath, 2-way shower and bidet. The rooms facing into the internal courtyard do not have an inspiring view, but are blissfully quiet for a city-centre location. The housekeeping is of the highest standard I have ever found - the maid takes around 30 mins each day to clean and change the rooms and everything is left gleaming and spotless.
Breakfast is buffet style with hot (limited choice) and cold dishes and a wide range of breads, rolls, fruits, yogurts, juices, etc. The restaurant also serves lunches and dinners - the menus look OK but I did not eat here other than for breakfast so cannot comment further.
The bar is small but good - pleasant service, good house wines by the glass and a full range of other drinks and cocktails. Attractive (and free) snacks are provided in the early evening.
I thoroughly enjoyed a 4-night stay here, and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barreiro, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Una Hotel Roma in May with great Spring weather in the always busy Termini area. I found this hotel potentially worth a better review considering its location, cleanliness and comfortable bedding.
However, despite these positives and the efficient staff at reception as well as the good quality and choice available at breakfast, there were some 'minus' factors that couldn't be overlooked and were a clear counterweight on the 'plus' factors already mentioned. Even worse as it seems that these wouldn't be particularly difficult to overcome with a few management actions.
To start with, the wi-fi access was limited to one hour per day of stay and in case the guest would want unlimited access the price would be an extra 25 euros per day. This seemed a bit too much, given that wi-fi access is becoming more and more a commodity in lots of hotels but even more because in Rome hotels and lots of public places (restaurants, even some taxis, etc) boast about wi-fi offerings to draw the interest of potential clients. Anyway, in that limited time of access, it worked well with good speed.
Secondly, considering the overall cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general, it was surprising to see that many of the walls inside urgently needed a thorough cleaning or maybe even a fresh painting, either in the (narrow) floor corridors - that in some areas seemed labyrinthic - and also inside rooms.
Last but not least, the fact that guests are not allowed to escape the breakfast room with even a toast for eating later on!... It's like if Rome was a city with no tourists where no one will spend the day sightseeing and sometimes needing a snack that could very well have been eaten in the early morning. This would be a common gesture almost everywhere just to see an 'urgent' (to say the least) attitude from the waiter stating that one is not allowed to take anything from the room - you really need to store all you can in your stomach at once!... A flabbergasting situation that clearly took away any chance of a better review of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHOTELROMA, Vice Direttore at UNA Hotel Roma, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at UNA Hotel Roma, we greatly appreciate you dedicating the time to share your experience with us.

We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards and in this regards we would like to inform you that our internet rates start from 3€ per 30 minutes effective connection time but most recently we have introduced an Upgrade formula " Seventh Heaven" that includes room upgrade, unlimited internet and minibar with a supplement of 25€

In regards to our breakfast, that we give complimentary with the room despite many hotel through the world will consider it a supplement, all the products are meant to be consumed in the same premises. If a guest would like to take a snack to eat during the day they can certainly choose from our bar menu.

We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to UNA Hotel Roma in the next future and we thank you once again for your valued patronage

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in rme and at una hotel - modern hotel with great amenities -we picked the upgrade offer of $25 euro a night which included free wifi, room upgrade and free mini bar stocked daily - was worth it as we got coke beer juice water and sparkling water too , Pringles and nuts daily ! Saved us looking for a super market. Rooms were well presented and clean, breakfast was good, but some hot foods were not too hot !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Roma

Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Rome, close to the train station, the new UNA Hotel Roma is characterized by a strong architectural design throughout its 6 floors. It features 197 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, restaurant and bar. Private garage.The hotel is: a few steps from the Opera Theatre, Santa Maria Maggiore Church .15 Min on foot, 5 min ( 2 stops) by metro, from the Coliseum / Fori imperiali 20 min on foot from Trevi Fountain, Quirinale, Altare della Patria 30 min on foot from Piazza di Spagna, Panteon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.