We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced wifi, no cell phone reception” 1 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Roma

Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced wifi, no cell phone reception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel itself is pretty nice, and as we were upgraded to a junior suite for free, I really shouldn't complain, but: the wifi costs something like 30 euros a day, and that's for just one device. Plus there's extremely poor cell phone coverage, so if you have any communication needs during your stay, make sure to count in the cost for wifi. And there's no iron in the room.

That was really a pitty, as the Hotel itself is quite nice, and the location good given it's in the hotel district. Breakfast is actually alright for being Italian, just make sure you don't touch any of the warm options, and of course the coffee is sub par. The bar is a real disappointment, having something like two whites and two reds available, but I take it this is due to the targeted Asian clientele.

To sum it up: if you need to stay in touch with the world, don't go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHOTELROMA, VICE DIRETTORE at UNA Hotel Roma, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at UNA Hotel Roma, we greatly appreciate you dedicating the time to share your experience with us.
We regret the fact that your review was more focused on the cost of internet and about the coverage of cell phones and not enought words have been spent about the comfort and high quality of the materials of the rooms, seen also upgrade to suite offered to you.
The cost of the internet is not of 30€ a day but it start from 3€ per 30 minutes effective connection time; you could have also take advantage of our package that includes internet and minbar at a cost of €20 per day. In addition to that we would like to inform you that our bar has two labels of red and two labels of white wine by the glass, but our cellar count over 50 labels if you wish to buy the bottle.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to UNA Hotel Roma in the future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    907
    587
    100
    30
    16
See reviews for
267
774
56
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had a pleasant stay 3 nights. Room is not too small. Love the design and detail of it i.e. door and wood and that makes the room look cosy and luxury. Staying in a smoking room and the ventilation is good. The food especially dinner is great and the price is not expensive.

You can also find many food around the hotel. There are also several Halal food shop. The area around the hotel is not bad and the hotel feature looks the best in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Una Hotel is one of those places that you just know you will book time and again as long as it keeps it's present standards. Efficient , friendly staff , clean , spacious rooms , excelent breakfast , good information about the city and yes location , locatiom , location ....( yes at night the surrounding area not so coll but hey the street / location of the hotel not an issue .
Una Hotel is where we wil stay whenever we will visit Rome .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

After having read rave reviews about this hotel we decided to give it a go. After three very painful 3 days, our only conclusion is that our fellow reviwers have very very low expectations. While the rooms are more modern than you'll find in most other hotels in the Termini area, the staff members are surly and unhelpful, the rooms are under stocked (no kettles available and they tried to charge us 3 euros for boiling water- what a joke!) And the breakfast is among the very worst I've had. If you pay for peanuts you'll get monkeys...spend a bit of extra money and stay at a reputable hotel chain. Trips to Rome should be about enjoying this gorgeous city not bemoaning a terrible hotel room. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed at the Una Hotel Roma for 2 nights celebrating my birthday with some girlfriends and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is very modern and very clean and we also had the opportunity of being upgraded! This was also a special offer break so we came up trumps!! The staff were very friendly and helpful and were at our service at the drop of a pin! Leonardo in the bar was very entertaining making excellent cocktails for us on a nightly basis and all in all I would recommend to anyone to experience staying at this hotel. The breakfast was excellent - we had expected a continental breakfast and was pleasantly surprised by the spread! The hotel is within a stone's throw away from the termini station and the Metro is a couple minutes walk. The only only noise that we heard from our hotel was the trams but all in all a fantastic break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

When I read the reviews of others, I am not sure if they stayed in the same place or have ever stayed in another hotel before. Una Hotel is a Tiger Woods lob wedge shot from the side entry door to the Termini Station and Rome's Metro. Inside that door is the "Leonardo Express" to Fiumicino Airport. Get to Termini and the world is your oyster.

Easy walk to the treasures of Santa Maria Maggiore and San Giovanni in Laterano (St John Lateran). Neighborhood isn't the best but if you can handle NYC, this is a piece of cake.

About the hotel, it is in excellent condition with large rooms (we "upgraded"), modern bathrooms and "minimalist" decorations--no pictures on the walls and white is color of choice. Not like my home but I wasn't buying the place, only staying there. Bathrooms have one flaw, entry into the tub/shower takes a high step--and interior of the tub is very slick--no mat. For seniors this can be a challenge.

Rooms facing Via D Manin have an old fashioned street trolley and you can hear the trolley on the rails during day and evening hours. You get no noise from the electric powered trains at Termini. Traffic on Via Giovanni Amendola is restricted so it is largely pedestrian. Hotel staff was "British" formal but helpful. English widely spoken.

Hotel breakfast included in price is very good. Dinner in the hotel restaurant tends toward the expensive and is OK but not memorable. Lunch not offered.

The Florence Football team was staying in the hotel while we were there so we had plenty of carabinieri security around the hotel but it is a good indication of the clientele the hotel attracts.

Plenty of restaurants nearby in all price ranges, easy transportation and great location plus an upper level hotel means prices are higher at this hotel. We thought it was worth the price for the convenience and what it provided but if you are on a tight budget this may not be the place for you.

We would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing anything but Via D Manin--the street with the steel wheeled trolley and tracks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the UNA Hotel Roma for three nights in September 2012. This is a modern, upscale hotel in an older area within two blocks of the central train station and the metro system. UNA Hotel Roma is on the expensive side at about US $330/night. Major sites are an average of 15 minutes by metro exclusive of wait time on the platform. During rush hours the metro is ultra crowded and one must push and shove to get in or out of the car. The rooms are large and clean. The hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable, professionally attired and speak excellent English. Our bartender was very nice and we stopped for a cocktail in the small bar after a long day of touring Rome each day before retiring. The surrounding area is safe, but my wife was a little uncomfortable walking in the neighborhood at night. She also refused to ride the metro at night also, so that must be taken into account. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UNA Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Roma

Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Roma 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Rome, close to the train station, the new UNA Hotel Roma is characterized by a strong architectural design throughout its 6 floors. It features 197 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, restaurant and bar. Private garage.The hotel is: a few steps from the Opera Theatre, Santa Maria Maggiore Church 15 min on foot, 5 min ( 2 stops) by metro, from the Coliseum / Fori imperiali 20 min on foot from Trevi Fountain, Quirinale, Altare della Patria 30 min on foot from Piazza di Spagna, Panteon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your UNA Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.