We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position and a resonable hotel but extras were expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Roma to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good position and a resonable hotel but extras were expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Overall I have to say this hotel was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was simple but excellent in terms of choice and quality of produce. Room service was expensive and a little bland.

As a guide you can walk to most of the major historical attractions in under 20 - 30 minutes. The metro is very close (2 minutes) and this will get you to the Vatican in
under 10 minutes...(The Vatican being the furthest historical site away from this hotel).

The internet access was very expensive but they did offer full day or logon/logoff plans. 60eu for 3 full days or 18eu for 6 hours on demand.

The staff were mostly helpful but definitely only did as much as they had too. We lost our bag at the airport (we don't speak Italian) and there was no help contacting the airport for us. We asked reception but really ended up having to do it our selves as we could tell it wasn't something the staff wanted to do or made us feel comfortable that they would handle it well for us.

If you're new to Italy, don't expect to get any movie channels on the TV either. Italian hotels just don't seem to think there's a market for it. This hotel is no exception...but then, Rome is too beautiful to be stuck in a hotel room watching movies I quess...unless you're a kid!

There's no gym and this part of the city doesn't really lend itself to running routes either, so if you're an exercise freak, probably look elsewhere I think.

We did have a good experience when we bought some expensive wine at the hotel. The waiter arranged a small lunch for us which we didn't have to pay for. I nice touch but probably due to the price of the wine.

There's no iron or coffee facilities in the room either. There was also no hair conditioner either. The room we had was also very small. Difficult to navigate with 2 bags as the bed took up most of the available space.

All in all I think most people would be comfortable at this hotel...but it's unlikely to leave an indelible memory if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    676
    121
    29
    17
See reviews for
317
904
68
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel is very close to Roma Termini if you know the way. If you are coming to town by bus, you will need to walk much longer because the bus stop on the other side of the train station. The room is clean and of moderate size. At first they try to give me a room on the ground floor and I request a higher level one, which end up is a good experience. I don't know why hotel keep giving the worst room to customer first. I got a very bad experience in another hotel not refusing a room at low level. The breakfast is very good. Only bad is the bathroom shower. There is just a curtain and nothing define the shower area. So water is spilling everywhere. There is no English TV channel. Internet is at a very high cost. You can go to some internet places on the nearby sheet. Only 1.5 euro 30 minutes. There are McDonald everywhere but the free WIFI is not available for tourist because it requires you to register a local phone #.

Room Tip: Go for high level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the UNA Hotel Roma for two nights. We selected this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is new and modern with lots of glass, chrome, and high tech features. Our room was small, but very efficient with a large bathroom, a good bed and adequate storage space, room safe, etc. The room and all of the public areas were very clean. While it is located on a busy street, the room was very quiet. Breakfast was included in the price. Breakfast is served in a large, attractive dining room and features an attractive bountiful breakfast buffet with a good selection of hot and cold items. The quality of the food was only marginal.

One of the advantages for us was the helpful front desk staff who were always willing to make recommendations, dinner reservations, provide maps, etc. The hotel is located only a short block from Termini station which is Rome's main train station and also a hub for all local public transportation. It has a large variety of shops, atm, and other tourist services. We read several comments about the area around Termini being unsafe, but we never felt uncomfortable there. The area is home to a large number of immigrants from India, North Africa, and a mix of others. The area is not a slum, but not very attractive. We walked to some very good local restaurants at night and never had a problem on the busy streets.

Compared with other Rome hotels we considered, I think the UNA Hotel Roma is an excellent choice. If it was located in a more attractive neighborhood, it would be a superior hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We spend 4 nights in Una Hotel Rome this week. We were overall satisfied. The room was a small, but clean and comfortable. The only problem was the noise of the tram which was passing by the Hotel every 10-20 minutes, but it was not that bad..

The breakfast was excellent, the staff kind and helpful.

What I did not like at all was the lack of free internet, still many hotels are requesting payment, and Una Rome is one of them. The next time I will choose another hotel with free internet access, for me it is as important as breakfast included.

T.Gurkok

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of tram way..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Una Hotel in Rome is fantastically located and a stylish, quality, contemporary hotel. We were (for some reason) upgraded to a suite and I can honestly say it is the best room I have ever stayed in.

Room:
Suite had a living room with desk and sofa, sliding doors to a seperate bedroom with a massive solid walnut bed with controls for all the room functions on the bedside tables. Bathroom had a huge showerhead and bath and so many items included - shower gel, shampoo conditioner, hand cream, body lotion, manicure set, shaving set, batch salts, scented candle, tootbrushes and tootpast, robles, slippers etc...There was also an illuminating wardrobe and safe. For me, having lovely tea and coffee facilities was a real bonus abroad. There was Twinings tea bags!

Service:
Excellent. Very polite, English speaking Reception staff and porters. We checked in at about 4pm, went out for the evening and returned at around 10pm to find that our room had been turned down. Towels were replaced, robes folded and milk replenished.

Food
The restaurant / breakfast room was a lovely cosy, contemporary room with a good ambience. There was an excellent variety of breakfast items although I would say the quality could have been slightly better. Tea / coffee was brought to the table (although we were forgotten about initially)

Location
A stones through from Termini Station - the main hub for the train, Metro and Taxis. You can get anywhere easily from here with excellent links to the airport too. Termini is walkable to the main sights (we did) but not completely central. If you want to be really right in the middle of things, opt for a location near the Spanish Step[s or somewhere like that. Metro is brilliant and costs only 1 euro for 75 mins

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and most definitely return myself

Room Tip: The suite we got upgraded to was outstanding - perfect for a romantic weekend although a little expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I am happy to report that UNA Roma Hotel worked out great my travel needs mid-October 2011. My wife and I took the train from FCO to the Termini station and walked about 2 blocks to the hotel. We arrived at about 09:00 and our room was not quite ready, but we were able to check our bags with an attentive young man. The front desk attendants where very responsive and eager to help. I was extremely impressed with the hotel's modern look and feel. Doors, elevators, lighting in rooms, closets, bathrooms and shower - even the thick glass soundproof windows that could open with a built-in sunshade to keep light out if we wanted to sleep in. There was even a speaker for the television in the bathroom with its own volume control. The breakfast buffet was huge and such a great way to start the day. I wish there were better English langauge television stations though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Una Roma twice on October 2011 - for one night before our cruise and for two nights after our cruise. The hotel is not cheap but well worth it. Location is excellent - half a block from Stazione Termini - the main railroad terminal. The rooms are very impressive - an enormous bed, good lighting and solid elegant furniture. The bathroom is spacious with a large shower with a rain head. Service and efficiency at check-in and check-out are impressive. The staff is very knowledgeable and we got car and driver to and from Civitavecchia with no problem. Breakfast - included in the cost of the room - has the greatest selection I have seen. The restaurant is also very good with reasonable prices - for Roma - and excellent food - unlike the tourist traps nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Roma

Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 57, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Rome, close to the train station, the new UNA Hotel Roma is characterized by a strong architectural design throughout its 6 floors. It features 197 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, restaurant and bar. Private garage.The hotel is: a few steps from the Opera Theatre, Santa Maria Maggiore Church .15 Min on foot, 5 min ( 2 stops) by metro, from the Coliseum / Fori imperiali 20 min on foot from Trevi Fountain, Quirinale, Altare della Patria 30 min on foot from Piazza di Spagna, Panteon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.