We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing b&b in a fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Via Degli Scipioni, 53 | Scala a Int. 11 Piano 3, 00192 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing b&b in a fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

With so many b&b options in Rome its hard to choose online but this one stands out from the crowd and lives up to its excellent reviews! Very comfortably and thoughtfully appointed with everything needed for a long or short stay in the eternal city. David ensured we had everything we needed for our stay and checked in with us via email to make sure we were ok while we were there. We have recommended B&B Gli Scipioni to all our friends and family and will definitely stay here on our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
217
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Rome and our reception was so warm and friendly that it made for a perfect weekend altogether. Our every request and need was met in a way that it felt like being at home. The rooms have a luxurious touch to them and we would happily return as well as recommend it to others. It came as a recommendation to me and from the first response it felt right and tunred out even better than I expected. David is most helpful and in a very personal and friendly manner. I am grateful to him for making our trip worthwhile and very special. I can't wait to go back and most definitely will.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

David was a wonderful, very hospitable host. He did everything possible to help us out and gave us great tourist advice. B&B was about a 3 minute walk to the Metro, and a 8 minute walk to the Vatican. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Room was large, comfy, and very clean. Well stocked kitchen for breakfast and late night snacks. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLISCIPIONIBB, Owner at Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hey guys,
Grazie mille for the great review.
I am very happy you had a nice time in Rome.
Just one query......3 minutes walk to the metro station and 8 minutes to the Vatican???
I hope you guys were not taking the long way and walking around the block to get to both destinations as the metro station is only 45 metres way and the Vatican 150 metres!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you're looking for budget accommodation in Rome, you really can't do better than the B & B gli Scipioni. I recently stayed there 4 days and would highly recommend it to other travellers.

The B & B is located in a somewhat upscale residential district of Rome, just outside the Vatican City. The neighbourhood is safe and clean with lots of shops and good restaurants within a few minutes walking. Indeed, the location is convenient for almost everything. St Peter’s and the Vatican Museums are only a few minutes’ walk away; it’s a pleasant stroll to the Piazza del Popolo and the centro storico; the Metro is a short block away and the bus terminus at the Piazza del Risorgismento is only 3 blocks.

The B&B itself is very clean and comfortable. I had the “red room” at the end of the hall. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. So, with all the exercise I got walking around Rome, I slept very well. The décor is modern, minimalist functionality, probably purveyed from IKEA. The free Wi-Fi internet connection was fast and reliable.

The rates are very reasonable and include a self-serve breakfast. The small kitchen is well-stocked with breads, pastries, cereals, coffee, tea, etc. There’s a small fridge that’s stuffed with yoghurts, cheeses, meats, milk, fruit juices and such like. One can help oneself to a snack at any time, so there’s no chance of going hungry. Nevertheless, if what’s in the kitchen doesn’t interest you, there’s a bakery just around the corner where you can get bread still warm from the oven, and there’s a supermarket three blocks away.

David Reid, the proprietor, will do his very best to make you welcome, and I’m sure he’ll succeed. David is intelligent, friendly, helpful and his genuine interest in his guests make his establishment truly exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just returned from an amazing trip to rome and part of it being amazing was David and his B&B. He strives to make you feel at home. The luxuries of home without the dishes to do and beds to make. It was really nice to have access to the kitchen and all it's goodies 24/7. We could grab what we wanted for breakfast whenever, and even grab a snack to take with us for a long day of exploring. We were greeted by David, and he gave us a complete tour of the place, answered all our questions, and offered up a few time saving tips as well. Side note( I wish we would have done the roma pass, check it out) Great location, not in the extreme touristy center of rome, but walkable to almost everything. A bit of traffic noise outside, but that would be anywhere, and even worse in centro. Very close to the vatican. Also handy if you are staying awhile, laundry mat on corner nd a couple grocery stores down the street. But even better, trionfale market is super close. Amazing food market with good prices, better than campo di fiori. Ok, back to David and the B&B...Stay here, enjoy the cozy robes, the comforts of home, and the pleasures of rome. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Can only reiterate how good this place & David are. Nothing is too much trouble and David provides excellent hints & tips about Rome (even from his sick bed)

Deserves to be the No 1 B&B on Tripadvisor for Rome as far as we are concerned & will stay there on future visits to Rome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLISCIPIONIBB, Owner at Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hey Bridie & Ian (cheese monsters),
Thanks for the wonderful review!
Remember you will always have a home away from home whenever you wish to visit Rome and your 'uncle in Rome' will always do his best to take good care of you.
Saluti
Uncle David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything was great! David and Henry are very polite and nice. Perfect Location for a stay in Rome! We will book the accomodation again for our next stay in Rome! Everything was very clean.
TV, Wirless, Fridge, Breakfast, Wine, Water, Cookies, Vegetables, Eggs, Ham, Chees, everything included. My friend said: Better than heaven!
Thanks a lot David!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Degli Scipioni, 53 | Scala a Int. 11 Piano 3, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Gli Scipioni Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Gli Scipioni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.