We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gelatone

Il Gelatone
28 via dei serpenti, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)
064820187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 529 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Monti
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the best gelato we found over a nearly week-long visit to Rome, we even preferred it over the much hyped Grom. Once we had found Il Gelatone, we kept going back for more! They have lots of different flavours (our favourites were crema, cioccolato bianco, menthe, oreo and stracciatella) and very generous servings. Highly recommended - in fact I wish we had an Il Gelatone at home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    48
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Vegan Gelato Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife is vegan by choice so to be able to walk in to a shop and buy soy gelato was fantastic, I am not vegan so had regular gelato the pustacio in both types is really nice. Prices are good for what you get. Easy to find once you know where to look, basically straight up the hill from Colosseum at 28 Via Dei Serpenti
Bud & Ann (NZ)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had ice cream here every day of our stay in Rome as it was very close to where we were staying. Lots of flavours to chose from and huge scoops! Oreo, tiramisu and ferrero rocher are a good combo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best Gelati in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We were staying only a two minute walk from this outlet and found it on the last day in Rome. We had tried many Gelati outlets during our time in Europe and THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST. The best in terms of selection, price and atmosphere - do not miss it when in Rome

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow. The ice cream here was amazing. We came across this place due to the fact that my mother can not have lactose, as she is lactose intolerant. I googled gelaterias to try and find lactose free ice creams and found this place. It was amazing! She walked in to be greeted by several choices of soy gelatos. Her favourites were cafe and chocolate. For the rest of the family we had mint, crema and chocolate which were all great.

Amazing. Especially if you require vegan options

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gelatone also viewed

 

Been to Il Gelatone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Gelatone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.