We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot 23 - CLOSED

Bistrot 23
Santamaura 23, 00197 Rome, Italy
06-89683776
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $26 - $72
Cuisines: Italian, French, Chowder, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
New York
1 review
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I arrived at this restaurant early one evening. The restaurant was not yet open for business. The owner welcome us in and gave our party complimmentary appetizers. After a short wait , he took our orders. The food came out quickly and it was the best food we had in Rome. We are from New York and dine in many Italian Restaurant in Little Itally, The food can not compare to Bistrot 23 . This restaurant is highly recommended . I only wished I discovered this restaurant at the beginning of my trip instead of our last night in Rome.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    10
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Closed when we tried.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant based on reviews and location (we stayed near the Vatican). However, the night we decided to go it was closed. Not sure why, but it was a little before 10 on a Wednesday night. Just make sure you have a back-up in case you find it closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The second time I went to the restaurant the owner remembered my face and welcomed me back! Although the kitchen was closing, he managed to get a few options to the table. It impressed me and my guests, specially when they went over the top and gave us a complimentary antipasti.
The food was outstanding and the location is second to none, so close to the Vatican Museum. Highly recommended to any visitor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So good, so close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

The best place close to the Vatican! We found the restaurant searching an other one... The service and the welcome make you feel at home.

Main course was very good and the home wine is just perfect! The price was also a good surprise (less than 20€ including the wine)

The only point are the antipasti that could be beter.

But to summarize it was a very good surprise

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT CHOICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a restaurant just a street off the main road from the Vatican Museum and it looked pretty decent from outside. It serves typical Italian dishes in a very cosy atmosphere and is reasonably priced by Rome standards. Saltimbocca Romana was the best I had in Rome. Look for Danielle who always has a smile on his face and speaks perfect English.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot 23 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.