We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

“Disorganized Check-In” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Line Tours

Green Line Tours
Via Giovanni Amendola, 32, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
39 06 4827480
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$42*
and up
Ranked #518 of 593 Tours & Activities in Rome
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disorganized Check-In”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We signed up with a tour guide from the train station that took us about 4 blocks to a small office to sign up. There was one person and they were taking credit cards and doing the slips manually. The line was long and it took a long time. Then it took over one hour to get on the bus once we paid. The line at the train station was long and their buses did not come along fast enough for that location. Once on the line, it seemed to go okay after that but we only got off on two stops.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    62
    85
    137
    502
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We too were recommended this tour operator by our hotel receptionist. As we had only a few hours to spend in Rome (our first visit) we thought a hop on hop off would be the best way to get an overview of the city. We have done the same in many cities and found this to be a good starting point. Not so in this case. It was by far and away the very worst tour we have ever been on. Much of the '2 hours' was spent either listening to silence on the headphones or sitting for up to 20 mins at a stop (silence on headphones). There was little info about Rome as such, just disjointed sketchy outlines about some of the sights we passed (sometimes after we had passed them so no chance to actually see what was being described). We got off twice and both times we got back on again we heard an exact repeat of the commentary we had just heard before we got off. I could go on but .....
At 21 Euros each this was an expensive mistake. We have advised the hotel to stop recommending Greenline Tours. They admitted they have never been on a tour. The company must have a good advertising team. Choose another tour!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greenline tours - quite good not brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

2 tours - the Vatican and imperial Rome. Good tour at the Vatican - guide very good. However it was SHAMELESS the shop they took us to at the end. Obvious backhanders going on here! We were not allowed near any sellers at the Vatican! And they had much better produce. Imperial tour good as well but more shameless touting when we came out for us to buy a book at 25e! Good tours. Good guides. Just be aware of their shop friends trying to rip you off

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“God, why didn't I read the reviews first?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

$21E per person for a glorified city bus. Long pauses between stops, brief and lame audio commentary through painful earbuds, and bypassed most of the sights! Don't waste your money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Capri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Amazing - worth every penny!

Capri is beautiful!!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Line Tours also viewed

 

Been to Green Line Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Line Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.