We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, nice location - warmly recommended!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twentyone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Twentyone Hotel to your Saves list
Twentyone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cola di Rienzo 23, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, nice location - warmly recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just arrived back home from a 4-day vacation in Rome. We were very happy with Twentyone Hotel and it is hard to find any faults with it. The reception staff was very friendly, efficient and in every way excellent.

We arrived at the hotel at around midday and were given the room immediately; this was definitely a positive surprise! Our room was on 2nd floor facing the court and it was very quiet. The room was quite spacious and we slept very well. Like the previous reviewers have said, the furnishings are dark, almost black and the lighting is quite poor, too, so if you prefer lighter furnishings and good lighting then this might not be the best choice for you. We adjusted quickly to the dim light. The air-conditioning worked well.

The breakfast was generous considering that the Italians usually have just a croissant and a coffee for breakfast. The buffet breakfast included cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, muesli, cereal, frankfurters, sweet pastry, light bread, toast and even some pasta (which for some reason was cold). There was a coffee machine and you could choose latte, cappuccino, hot chocolate etc. Also juice and water were available. Tea was unfortunately lukewarm every morning, no matter what time we had our breakfast. I would recommend the breakfast because it’s not necessarily easy to find breakfast in the neighborhood.

On our way from the Fiumicino airport to Rome we took the Leonardo Express train which goes to Termini station (the main railway station in Rome) and then we took a metro from Termini to Lepanto station which is about 300 meters away from Twentyone Hotel. This trip took about 1.5 hours! The metro is crowded all day so it wasn’t the most comfortable way to travel with suitcases. Due to this train-metro experience, we decided to take a taxi from the hotel to the airport on the departure day. Taxi cost about 50 euros and it was truly worth every euro. Please note that it is advisable to be at the airport at least 2 hours before the flight departure! We were there 2.5 hours before departure and it took one hour to stand in line for the check-in! I’ve never seen so slow service.

The location of the hotel is really good. We basically walked everywhere. The only place we took a bus to was the Colosseo. The bus 81 leaves right opposite the hotel so it’s very easy.

One tip if you love a relaxing picnic between the busy sightseeing and walking around: we accidentally found a lovely restaurant Gina near Piazza di Spagna (www.ginaroma.com) which offers fantastic picnic baskets that you can take to Villa Borghese. We had lunch in Gina and noticed that the picnic baskets were very popular. It was 30 degrees every day so I can only imagine how lovely a picnic in a shady garden could be.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    393
    115
    36
    25
See reviews for
113
440
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here 5 nights recently. Staff here is really nice people, all smiling and friendly. The reception area is like a corridor with a long reception desk and a white sofa in the inner corner under the stairs. That`s it. Our room was on the 4th floor facing the street, not big, but big enough. We liked to be able to look out the window and watch the street life on Via Cola di Rienzo. With the window closed the noise from the street did not bother us at all, could barely hear it. We managed to control the aircondition well and were comfortable with room temperature at any time.
The bathroom had black tiles on the floor and on the walls. Some may say it looks elegant, I think it`s gloomy and depressing. It was very clean, new and nice with lots of towels of all sizes and a good shower.
I did not care for the breakfast at all. Had problems finding something I could eat, I am sorry to say. They had yoghurt, cereals and small bowls with fresh fruit, that saved the breakfast for me. Dry white bread, tasteless little sausages and cakes is not what I want to start my day with. I know this is continental breakfast and not liking it is kind of a luxury problem.
We had the evening buffet once when we were too tired to go anywhere, but it was very boring, only cold food, not worth the price.
Internet connection worked very well for us both in the room and in the lobby area. No problems at all once we were logged on.
The location is really great as others here have described. Lots of shops around, lots of places to eat, bars and more. It is a modern hotel at a reasonable price. I do not know if this can be called a 4 star hotel, if possible I would say a good 3 stars plus hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

this hotel is perfectly located just a five minute walk to central rome
all attractions are very close just get on the on off bus and you are set
shopping is right there outlets and designers whichever you prefer
restaurants are just out the door and so are supermarkets if you wish to buy in
hotel rooms are of a very high standard and modern and most of all clean
staff are also very helpful and friendly
breakfast was of a very high standard and presented very well
all round very good location and would stay again when visiting rome

Room Tip: if you do not like noise ask for a room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Hotel is in a great location away from the busy crowded Tourist areas if you are looking for somewhere slightly more peaceful at night. The attractions are easy to walk too. 15/20 mins to Vatican City on one straight road with Plenty of shops and restaurants on the way. Only 5-10 mins walk to Piazze Del Popolo across the bridge and from there u can walk to the spanish Steps and trevi Fountain walking pass all the designer shops if you are on a shopping trip.
Room and bathroom are slightly small but more than adequate but the shower is great. Loved the design of the rooms and the staff are courteous and friendly. Mini bar price wasn't expensive but if you want drinks you can always go down to the bar to purchase bottles or cans for 1 euro cheaper. There is a great Pizza restaurant across the road if you fancy a late evening snack opens till 11.30pm and also a little cafe which does great sandwiches and espresso if you missed the breakfast at the hotel like we did. Taxi's to and from the hotel are reasonably priced. To Roma Termini was around 12 euros and from Piazza Navona only costed us 6 euros. We only used the taxi's because we was too tired from all the walking and on the days when we shopped too much. Walking is a must though to see the beautiful buildings and capture the amazing and beautiful city. Avoid the Metro around 4pm, it was jam packed and hard to get on. We had to wait for 20mins before we could get onto a train but was so crowded we couldn't move.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This modern Rome hotel is beautiful, extremely clean, and handsomely decorated. Room and bathroom are not huge, but definitely more than adequate. The hotel is 2 blocks from the river and Piazze del Popolo, 5 minute walk to the Lepento Metro stop, on via cola di rienzo, which is a bustling shopping area, 15 minute walk to the Vatican, 4 subway stops to Roma Termini train station, 30 minute walk to the Colliseum. Breakfast is great, with croissants, breads, cakes, meats, cheeses, fruits, ceral, juice and coffee, espresso and tea. Best part- its in Rome, a most amazing and beautiful city combining style, fashion, antiquities great food and amore. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The best about the hotel is definitely the good location. The Vatican City and several metro/bus stations are just a short walk away (the bus which brings you to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, ... stops right across the street when you leave the hotel).

The room was quite modern, but in my opinion it was a little bit too dark (the whole furniture is dark, very little light came into the room from the outside and the lights in the room didn't shine very brightly).

The WLAN signal wasn't very strong, our room was on the first floor but the signal was so weak that i lost the connection every few minutes.

The most annoying thing was for sure the shower. I think the construction of the shower and bathroom hasn't been considered carefully, because everytime you take a shower the whole bathroom will be entirely flooded after approximately 1 minute!!! We had to stop because otherwise also the sleeping room would have been flooded.
I complained about this at the front desk, but the staff didn't seem to be very interested about our problem. The only answer i got was: "We don't have any other free room for you". He promised that somebody would check the next day if maybe the drain was clogged by something, but nobody ever showed up and we have never been informed if somebody checked it.
In general i have to say that the staff seems to be quite uninterested and doesn't really care about the guests.
The breakfast was unworthy for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel looks really great, beautifully designed as the pictures will tell you..

We had a room on the fourth floor, the design really great; The room was not finished at 14 but only half an hour later. Smells a bit like cologne because of smoking guest I guess it was room was cleaned every day by very friendly staff. Practically no street noise but very small windows.

Breakfast: OK, just OK for a 4* hotel. I would expect fresher fruit, a bit of bacon or sausage but only sliced frankfurters available.

Fantastic location to discover Rome. The Vatican, many piazza's and all the historic sites lie upon 15-20 minutes walk An absolute plus.Also close to the Metro and many busses.Close to some lovely restaurants too.

Helpful reception staff is willing to give you advice on travel, restaurants or others.
Their airport shuttle was also OK.

In a nutshell: nice design, helpfull staff, price is quite high

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twentyone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twentyone Hotel

Address: Via Cola di Rienzo 23, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#201 Business Hotel in Rome
#207 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twentyone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twentyone is a modern boutique hotel set on one of Romes best shopping streets. Castel SantAngelo and the historic centre are just a pleasant 10-minute walk away. Perfectly positioned on Via Cola di Rienzo, Twentyone Hotel allows you to explore the elegant Prati district, home to the Vatican and Saint Peters Basilica, with ease. Metro and bus links are located close by. Enjoy the hotels minimalist décor and ultra-modern interiors. All of Twentyones rooms come with LCD satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar, and free wired internet access. Friendly staff at the Twentyone will be happy to book transfers, guided tours and trips for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Twentyone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21 Hotel
Twentyone Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twentyone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.