We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue, Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gregory's Jazz Club

Gregory's Jazz Club
Via Gregoriana | 54/A, 00187 Rome, Italy
06 6796386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #704 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing venue, Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got our hotel receptionist to book us a table here after hearing good reviews about the place. We were unsure what to expect.

When we arrived we walked into a crowded little bar which worried us. But we were greeted by a friendly staff member and we mentioned we had a table booked for food. She took us upstairs and moved some tables around which gave us a snug but good view of the show for when it started.

Eating was a little difficult given the space we had but we couldn't complain seeing as we had great seats for the show. The food was simply amazing! We asked the waiter for recommendations on what to eat. He was very friendly and very helpful! We got a few pizzas and a steak. The food was out of this world. Simply amazing! Never had pizza like it and the steak was one of the best we'd ever eaten. Wine choices were great too!

We didn't stay till the end of the performance as we found it repetitive but it was still a great atmosphere and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    31
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A delightful intimate venue, comfortable and cosy with friendly staff, excellent jazz and an astonishing range of whisky! We will be back - next time for a meal. Would recommend this to any jazz lover visiting Rome - thank you for a fantastic welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great music and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

While it's not the easiest place to find (no sign outside during the day) it's well worth the search. The music I heard was of real international quality- even during the jam session! - and the the club itself is a great house for it, with comfy seats and friendly table service.

The bar is well stocked, especially for scotch and cocktails and really good value - 15euro for the concert and a free drink - and considering I paid 15euro for a cocktail just 2 streets away without 2 and a half hours music free this is a bargain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Un-expected surprise - sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

On my last night in Italy, a traveling companion suggested visting a Jazz Bar.

On a slow Sunday night... sick with a cold, I wasn't expecting much. When our cab driver delivered us to a narrow dark street, I was convinced this was where I would be "Rolled - in -Rome".

Only one other table was occupied in the bar. My expectations plummeted.

OHH was I wrong. Served a generous pour(s) of outstanding Scotch, followed by an excellent meal and intermingling conversation with the owner / bar-tender / chief. Including one very special addendum > a brewed concoction which relieved my ailment. My partner - who was not sick, but seeing the positive effects - also had one!!! But the good times had only started.

Traveling upstairs into a well appointed Jazz Bar > set-up with terraced seating, baby grand, soft lighting, great sound system... all of the front row seats taken by locals. Completely entertained by a three piece band singing American Jazz with an Italian Twist and accent... The whole group had a blast, watching the string bass singer --- roll his eyes back and swoon.

Wishing I could bottle this in bourbon county (including that curing concoction).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit She'an, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It’s a small room on the second floor with live music in the evenings from Wednesday to Sunday (for lovers of contemporary instrumental jazz). During the concert, just buy drinks at the bar, or you will have to pay 15 euros for a glass of wine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregory's Jazz Club also viewed

 

Been to Gregory's Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gregory's Jazz Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.