We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Grillo Brillo

Il Grillo Brillo
79 Via dei Serpenti, 00184 Rome, Italy
+39 06 4883029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,669 of 8,697 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Grillo Brillo restaurant in Rome is near everything: the Coliseum, the Roman Forum and the via Nazionale. This is a charming, slightly dressy sort of place, with panelled walls papered in minty tones, pretty peach table linens and origamied napkins. The fresh, seasonal ingredients fine their way into creative Roman dishes, with a special focus on daily-delivered fish dishes and excellent pizzas. This local eaterie attracts some starry names from Italian showbiz, so you may enjoy a bit of discreet stargazing, as well.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mmmmm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We ate twice at the Grillo Brillo during our recent trip to Rome, we had to go back a second time as the food had been so good. My husband had the gnocchi sorrentina both times as it was so tasty. I had ravioli with ricotta/spinach in tomato sauce the fist time then spaghetti pomodora the second time, both wre fantastic. We had garlic brushetta too which was yummy. The house wine is cheap and really goes really well with pasta.

The restaurant is small and does not have the usual waiter outside trying to drum up business, which we liked. We shall be back when next in Rome!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    86
    61
    42
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Delicious & helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hungry early on a Sunday afternoon, we stumbled on Il Grillo Grillo as we walked down to the Colosseum/forum ruins. Because of all the different pre-fixe offerings, we were a little afraid it would be too touristy, but were completely wrong. The food was delicious and the service great. Our waiter (who was probably the owner or manager) was fluent in English and willing and able to answer all our questions. We chose to have a light assortment of favorites. The glass of house wine was a generous pour of nice, dry red. The artichokes were really, really good - just the hearts & soft upper stem in olive oil & lemon (the sauce was so good, I dipped bread in it, after finishing the artichokes). We also had caprese salad with ripe, tasty tomatoes and fabulous mozzarella and finally a Roman classic - pasta with wild bore and mushrooms - great! The price was actually inexpensive - great value, great food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant IL Grillo Brillo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Whilst strolling back up Via dei Serpenti to the Hotel Artemide from the Colosseum, we came upon this establishment. It looked ok, so went in, and what a good decision. the bean soup we both had was delicious, the pasta dishes we had were excellent and very tasty. And a dessert of truffle ice cream on espresso was absolutely heavenly. Good service and a reasonable price. Would not hesitate in going back here again the next time I am in Rome.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice food.
Good house wine - don't bother ordering something more expensive
Good service
Free wifi
I can really recommend this restaurant. Really good local food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No knowledge of the ingredients in food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I found and mistakingly ate the chickpea soup (from can) even after I asked if it was vegetarian. It had small pieces of chicken in it and even after showing the waiter he said it was impossible. The rest of the food (grilled veggies) were not very tasty either.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Grillo Brillo also viewed

 

Been to Il Grillo Brillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Grillo Brillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.