We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bear

Old Bear
via a dei Gigli d'oro, 2-3-4, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
0668210009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #572 of 8,546 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved this find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As can happen in Rome, we found this place while walking to a mapped out restaurant. We walked by at night and it looked intimate, casual, not touristy and interesting. It is literally one street up from Piazza Navona so you feel away from the crush but still close to Navona.
The service was excellent with no rushing and the price was very reasonable. I ordered the Roman style gnocchi with Gorgonzola and was leery when it arrived in a hot bowl and seemed more like oatmeal but, it was delicious!
Definitely recommend this place!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    126
    36
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a little gem we discovered on our recent trip to Rome. It is not in Piazza Navonna, which made it better. The food portions are not so large either. The only negative is, if you sit outside, be careful of cars going by. The street is narrow, and is very busy. Definitely recommend the gnocchi (#207 on the menu).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clearing up some misconceptions here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Two pet peeves of mine showing-up in the reviews on here. The first is, admittedly, minor. The second is annoying:

1 - Please don't label something a "craft beer bar" if you don't actually know what craft beer is. People will rely on it. Old Bear has four beers on tap - two from Tennent's (Wellpark Brewery, a massed produced Scottish beer easily found just about anywhere),

2 - Just because you like the food, doesn't make it "authentic". Authentic Italian restaurants don't have a stuffed bear in a hat greeting you. Authentic Italian restaurants don't have an entire waitstaff that speaks perfect English. Authentic Italian restaurants don't serve things like pumpkin lasagna. Authentic Italian restaurants don't serve gnocchi floating in cheese in a ceramic bowl.

I'm not trying to run anybody down, I know Old Bear is going to have a quite a few fans among the tourist crowd. In fact, I would recommend the place to a great number of Americans - you are going to get Italian food you are used to with enough of a twist that you fondly remember it on your next trip the Macaroni Grill. Just please, please, PLEASE, don't use words like "authentic" to describe the place. Readers who don't want a tourist trap are going to rely on the review.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place, nice unique atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have been to this reataurant a couple of times. They serve paella which is not easy to find in Rome and it is delicious! The service is really good. Prices are reasonable. I can't account for anything but the paella but it all looks great.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place for a quiet lunch in Rome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet location away from the busy Piazza Navona. The hospitality is very welcoming and the food was satisfactory. It was a nice find in Rome.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bear also viewed

 

Been to Old Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.