We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Papessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Papessa to your Saves list
La Papessa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 3,085 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
“perfect Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at "La Pappesa". The advantages in this guest house are its location and Friendly Staff.
Location: in the center of Rome a short walk from Trevi Fontana, The pantheon, Piazza Venecia. In the central street Via del Corso. We did not have to use any public transportation during our visit.
The hotel is located in an old building on the third floor (building has an elevator), the room is beautifully renovated with adjacent toilet and shower suite. It was spacious and clean, with good AC and double glazed window so it was also very quite. The small refrigerator was also very useful for our needs.
Friendly staff: Caterina and Marcella are attentive, assist gladly with guidance and advice with a smile. We met them at the check in and at the time of breakfast and they helped us plan the day trip.
Dafna & Ely-Ramat Ha Sharon -Israel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dears,

thank you very much for the comment and for the wonderful time that spent with us during your stay in Rome. It is so nice for us meet so many people from all part of the world, it helps us to know different and interesting cultures.We hope that you come back in Rome and that you choose again la Papessa for your next trip here. Grazie mille, Marcella and Caterina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    58
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
100
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Perfect location, central to so many different places and attractions. Staff were so helpful and room was beautiful. Although the busiest road is right outside door, when in bedroom, you couldn't hear a bit of noise from outside. Lovely breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Claire,
thanks for your review and to have choosen us for your Honeymoon.
We're happy that everything was perfect for you and we hope to welcome you in a next future.
We wish you all the best.
Ciao,
Caterina and Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our second stay at La Papessa. I absolutely love the location and staff! Very close to several Rome landmarks: Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona. Marcella and Catarina are very friendly and accomodating. Our room was quiet and well air-conditioned (Rome was hot!). We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Stephanie,
thanks for your kindness and to have choosen us for your second time in Rome. We all were pleased to meet you again and it was nice talking to you every day.
We hope to meet you and your husband again in a next future.. Your smile is very special:-)
Take care. We wish you all the best,

ciao,
La Papessa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our first trip to Rome which also happened to be our Honeymoon. We couldn't fault it. Staff were so friendly and helpful, organising transport for us as well as showing us the best ways to reach all the landmarks. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Direttore generale at La Papessa, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Robert,

thanks for your warm review and thank you for having choosen us to spend your Honeymoon.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Papessa and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Ciao,
Caterina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

What a wonderful little guest house...once you find it! We were met outside by Caterina who led us in and sat with us, and highlighted our map with routes to all of Rome's sights from the hotel. She waited for us even though we were late, and provided us with lots of invaluable information. We were in a triple with our daughter and the room was large and very comfortable. We had an early tour of the Sistine Chapel one morning and they were kind enough to leave breakfast for us in our fridge, since we were leaving before it would be served. The location is terrific...very central, with a bus stop across the street. There are wonderful little streets to explore all around, with a lot of terrific restaurants where you can sit outside and soak in the atmosphere. Caterina and Marcella were gracious hosts, and helped to make our stay in Rome memorable! Would definitely recommend this little gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dears,

thank you very much for your comment. It was very nice to meet you and we are happy to know that you appreciated everything we done to make your stay wonderful. We hope to welcome you again in the future for your next trip to Rome.

Grazie again,
Caterina and Marcella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This review is a little belated. We stayed here for 5 wonderful nights. The B&B is situated in a great location on Via del Corso within walking distance to all of Rome's amazing and beautiful attractions. The room was cozy and the bed comfortable with clean soft linen. The breakfast was typical European but fresh and tasty and set you up nicely for the days exploration. Overall great location and room and good value for money. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Rome

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dears,

"grazie mille" for your comment, it was very nice to meet you and I hope you come back again to Rome...and naturally also to La Papessa!

Thanks again,

Marcella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here with wonderful hospitality from Caterina, Marcella, and Massimo. Our room was very comfortable with a nice breakfast served every morning along with wonderful help from the owners on putting together a tourist itinerary to start most mornings.

The Via del Corso location is fantastic for tourists - roughly halfway between the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon, walking distance to the Coliseum and Villa Borghese, and an easy bus connection to the Vatican. Undoubtedly this will be the first place we look into for our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: We had the room in the back which was very quiet. I can't vouch for ambient volume of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Papessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Papessa

Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 3,085 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Papessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.