We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed La Papessa.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Papessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Papessa to your Saves list
La Papessa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 3,092 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed La Papessa.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am a single older woman traveling alone and La Papessa made me feel "at home" in Rome. Katerina and Marcella were extremely helpful in helping me find some unusual destinations and tickets to the opera. You can't beat the location, friendly staff, and large rooms. I would definitely recommend this guest house to my family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello Dear,

thank you very much for your comment. You're really a lovely person and we all were pleased to meet you and we appreciated when you helped us (you know how!)

We really hope to meet you again.
Un abrazo,
Caterina, Marcella, Monica e Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
100
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week. What a hotel.. Beautifully decorated rooms, great breakfast, very clean bathroom. Room was quite big, tv with english channels. owner lady is wonderful. She gave us so much information about rome, that was really helpful.
The location is absolutely perfect. You can reach to almost all the monuments in 5-10 minutes walk. Bus stop is just in front of the hotel.
Only issue was that the shower door was broken, but we managed. Not a big issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Dears,

thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to have been helpful and that you loved our location and our city.

We really appreciate what you wrote and.. sorry for the shower door !!!

We hope to meet you again and soon at La Papessa.

Grazie and Ciao,
Caterina and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family (including my 10 and 8 year old) had a great stay at La Papessa for 4 nights in October. We enjoyed the perfect temperature for exploring Rome, though we were surprised at how many tourists were there even in October. We loved wandering the streets, sampling ice cream and looking at the street artists and beautiful old buildings intermingled with the modern.

The Papessa family room consisted of a double, single and pull out bed and while there wasnt a lot of room with the 4 of us in it, it wasn't a problem as we spent most of our time out, exploring the wonderful sites of Rome. This small guest house, with 4 rooms is so centrally sited, it is perfect for exploring the major sites. It's just 5 minutes walk from the beautiful Trevi fountain and the Pantheon and within walking distance to the Colosseum/ a short bus journey to the Vatican city.

Marcella was very friendly and helpful, with advice about restaurants and places to visit. The continental breakfasts were also very good with fresh pastries each morning and capuccino to start the day.

Our favourite places.

> The Colosseum/Forum and Pantheon. We visited the forum first and walked in without queuing. This was really good advice from Marcella because it meant that we already had our tickets for when we went to the Colosseum in the afternoon (huge queues).

> The Vatican museum/ St Peter's Basillica - get here as early as you can because it's very busy. The children particularly enjoyed climbing to the top of the Basiilica for amazing views over Rome, but also enjoyed seeing inside the sistene chapel.

> The Trevi fountain - we visited this area so many times and was always so busy with people / such a lovely atmosphere.

> The Pantheon - amazing architecture and bustling square with ice cream shop of 120+ flavours nearby.

> the Leonardo da vinci museum - we went to the one near Campo di fiori - it is only small, but perfect for the children to learn more / intereact with the different inventions.

We decided not to get the Roma pass for the places we wanted to see as it would not have saved us any money .... also bus travel within the city is very cheap too/ free for children (1.5 euros per journey). For a lot of the sites like the colosseum/ vatican, the children (being from the EU) were free entry anyway. Just a watch out that there is a 2 E per night city tax and we were charged for all 4 of us when I now believe that at least my 8 year old should have been exempt.

We got the Roma cab each way to the airport which was a fixed fare of 48 Euros. After the long weekend in Rome we returned to Fiumunco to pick up our hire car and drive 2 hours to Sperlonga to spend the remaining 4 days at the beach.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello lovely family,

thank you for your comment.
First of all we apologize for the mistake as you are right regarding the city tax.
It was nice every morning, at breakfast time, to have the smile of the two young boys, hope that they miss the "ciambelle" that we prepared for them when we knew that those sweets were their favourit.
We were pleased to have met you all and we hope to meet you again at La Papessa.

Ciao,
Caterina, Marcella and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This well-kept hotel is tucked into a pharmacy building on a busy street, but you would never guess the gem that is inside! The room is neat, clean, and updated. The continental breakfastwas tasty and offered a nice variety. Marcella cannot be beat for her kindness, helpfulness, going out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She is the most attentive, detail-oriented lady I have ever had contact with and completely at the top of her game! If you have a question, she has an answer, and she is extremely easy to contact via email.

The location is perfect-easily traveled fromTermini Station by bus or taxi (approx €10), and near to Trevi Fountain area. Easy to navigate bus stops from outside the hotel building.

I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, Responsabile reception at La Papessa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dears,

thank YOU! This is the most beautiful comment that I have ever received. What can I say? I try everyday to do a good work for our guests and you make me understand that I can! "Grazie mille" again and I hope with all my heart to meet you again very very soon.

A presto,
Marcella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay at La Papessa was wonderful experience. The Hosts spoke English well (which was nice for us) and were very helpful. The location was excellent. Our room was large and beautifuly decordated, quite and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Our private bathroom was big and had lush thick towels. The B & B is located on the 3rd floor. There is an lift. We would highly reccomend La Papessa, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello Dears,

thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enajoyed your stay at La Papessa and that you recommend it to other guests.

It was nice to talk with you during your stay and we really hope to welcome you again!!

All the best,
Caterina and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were first daunted by the stairs, we were told by a workman the lift wasn't working and 6 flights of stairs with bags was hard work. The lift was working by the way!! Our room was remarkably quiet and a good size , importantly it was quiet. The only downsides were the shower cubicle, it was a tad cramped and for any large person it would prove very difficult to use; and the Wifi, which proved a tad temperamental. The location is absolutely great, so central to all the wonderful sites of Rome, we walked everywhere!
We were given a lot of help in arranging tickets for visits to the Vatican, certainly made things so easy for us. Continental breakfast was just fine, a good start to the day. All in all a great little guest house, we would most definitely come back

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, HOTEL MANAGER at La Papessa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello Dears,

thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, the shower cubicle of your room is the smaller one in the B&B but also it is the only one with Jacuzzi shower system!!

We really hope to welcome you again at La Papessa,

Ciao a presto,
Caterina and Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My mother, sister and I stayed in a double room with extra bed, and the room was great. Big bathroom too. The air conditioning worked fine, but the wifi in the room was very in & out. Our telephone did not work either. The breakfast is good but not great. They are very helpful in planning your trip, providing maps, recommendations, etc. and it has an incredible location. A little tricky for taxi drivers to find but really not a big deal. We walked to the Pantheon, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Incredible location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATERINA P, hotel manager at La Papessa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dears,

thank you for your kind review.

We were pleased to welcome you and, yes, sometimes there were some technical problems (wifi and telephone) that didn't depend on us but by network problems of the citybut and we have not been able to solve them.

As we always say, we appreciate all the suggestions of our guests (I mean for the breakfast) in order to do the best day by day.

Hope to welcome you again in a future.
Ciao,
Caterina and Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Papessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Papessa

Address: Via del Corso 241 | Angolo Vicolo Sciarra 61, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 3,092 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Papessa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Papessa is located in the historical centre at 200 meters from Trevi's Fountain and 800 meters from Spanish Steps. Located in a XVI century building, our strategic position let you reach by foot all the most important places: Circus Maximus, Colosseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo de'Fiori or to take the bus to the Vatican Museums. Pubs, trattorie, osterie, typical restaurantes and the shopping area of Via Condotti, Via Frattina, Via del Corso are just next to us. BREAKFAST Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or can be served in the room at a free cost. It's at continental way (8:00-10:30), with a rich choice of beverages (coffee, tea, italian cappuccino, milk, fruit juices, hot chocolate) and foods (toast bread, jams, butter, croissant, boiled eggs, cheese slices, italian salami, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, home made cakes). On request we can provide diabetic and celiac breakfast (no extra charge) STAFF We speak English and Spanish, some French, Portoguese and German and we will be very pleased to assist you and to help you with informations about the events and the curiosity of Rome. A city map will be provided and we will show you how to reach the main famous places. We are at La Papessa every morning from 8:00 untill 13:00 and sometimes also in the afternoon but you can always reach us by phone or Whatsapp - also during the night, just in case of any emergency :: ROOMS The rooms have decorated high ceilings (XVIII century) and antique forniture. Elegant and comfortable for a special relaxed vacation Double, double + extra bed or quadruple, they all have: private en-suite bathroom (shower box, courtesy kit, hair dryer) free wifi minifridge air conditioning safe (lap top size) tea/coffee facilities (tea/coffee free begs included) TV telephone for free local calls and emergency calls Daily Cleanings from 9:00 untill 11:00 For late arrivals, we can provide cold plate packaged directly in the room (extra charge) From 1st January 2011 a city tax will be applied, it is €3,5 per person per night Checkin until 18:00 (6pm) Checkout from 8:00am until 10:30am Please, inform us about your arrival time as we haven't any 24h reception service Airport transfer service (€50 to 80) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your La Papessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Papessa Guest House Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Papessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.