We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Crispi 19

Ristorante Crispi 19
Via Francesco Crispi 19 RM, Rome, Italy (Colonna)
(+39) 06 67 85 904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 8,546 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $52 - $85
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Colonna
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here on our last night in Rome, on the recommendation of our hotel staff. Everything was great. My wife had the seafood sampler and I had the meat sampler. Everything was delicious and very artistically presented. Our waiter recommended the perfect bottle of wine for us. Service was great. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. If you go to Rome do your self a favor and have dinner at this restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    176
    77
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We last visited this charming restaurant 2 yrs ago and were so pleased. The food, service, ambience all wonderful. I started with a broccoli flan with wheat berries and a gorgonzola light sauce. Wonderful, light, flavors great. The seafood ravioli incredible, better than the last visit! Everything fresh and the staff very helpful and attentive. I recommend highly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as was expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked the restaurant well ahead for a Saturday after reading excellent reviews. The booking was easy through the website, I got a prompt confirmation and request to confirm our coming on the day of the reservation, since it's a small restaurant. That all went smoothly. Our reservation was at 8 p.m. and at first it was almost empty, but filled up in the next 30-60 min, which made the atmosphere more relaxed. The service was friendly and professional, especially our sommelier was charming! I had the 4-course fish tasting menu and my boyfriend the meaty option. We both also had the wine tour. The best tastes were in the "chef's hello" (can't even remember what it was, but one delicious spoonful anyway) and the desserts, especially the chocolate lava cake in the meat menu. Other than that, the food was by no means bad, but nothing spectacular either. Considering the price I expected more. The wine tasting tour was very enjoyable though! If I lived in Rome I might give the place another chance, but if you're just visiting I think you can do better in another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Anonymously hidden on a back street between the Spanish Steps and Piazza Barberini, you probably wouldn't venture in unless you'd been looking for it. Small, but bright, with modern décor, run by people enthusiastic about their food. Nouveau cuisine of high quality and creativity; sublime! Every dish exhibits balanced complexity. We particularly liked: the tuna tartare with egg, cod with herbed crust (magnificent); scallop and prawn "metamorphosis", with a delicate fettucine; and guinea fowl with cabbage and potato croquettes (bursting with exquisite flavours). The puddings were equally impressive, with marvellous combinations of flavours. It may be hard to find, but do make the effort!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Went with my wife on our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The food was very good seafood and the house wine was a bargain. The owner came out to greet us, and when we told him it was our honeymoon he offered us both a glass of champagne and chocolate truffles on the house. When we come back to celebrate our anniversary, we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aragosta, Proprietario at Ristorante Crispi 19, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Google Translation
grazie e tanti cari auguri di una fantastica vacanza, felicità fortuna e tanti figli!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Crispi 19 also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Crispi 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Crispi 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.