We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domidea Hotel

Save Saved
You added Domidea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domidea Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Raffaele Costi, 17/21, 00155 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent hotel - Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am a Greek so I am used in a bit maniac way of driving but I think that for the most of the tourists it' better to avoid driving in Rome. For the rest, I suggest considering Hotel Domidea as a good option for their stay in Rome. Staff is excellent. Parking and W-Fi are free, rooms are big, new and clean and the breakfast is very good. Depending on the location of the sights to visit someone can use his owned or rental car or public transport combined or not with hotel's bus. You need only 1,5 euro to get a 100 min. ticket and in normal conditions, about half an hour of driving or 40-45 min. of public transportation to Colosseo. However, traffic to Rome (by car) or to Rebibbia station (by bus) can be heavy. In general, I think that hotel Domidea is one of the cheapest options for a good and clean hotel at Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    184
    52
    14
    10
See reviews for
80
101
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of Rome and if you are coming in a car is very hard to find from the GRA (Rome Ring Road). I am an experienced traveller and have good navigational skills but it was very had to find. A SatNav would have been useful. Best to get off at Junction 15 - La Rustica.

If coming by the Metro then not too bad but you have to get on the local bus from the Metro station. Takes about 35-40 minutes to get from the centre of Rome to the hotel by Metro and bus. Tickets cost €1.50, can get them from the bar by hotel.

Helpful staff, Free Fridge in the room, Free fast Wi-F in the rooms, Free safe in the room. Clean rooms, big bathroom. Linen changed on a regular basis. Towels changed every day. CCTV all over the hotel..Limited hotel parking but free on the road outside. Lots of storage space. There is a buzz of traffic everyday from 5am but the air conditioning drowns it out. Bus stop to Metro station 20 meters from hotel.

The TV in the room we had (basic room) did not have any English language channels on. If you like music like I do, then you are OK, MTV and M2o TV, Radio DeeJay TV - you can hear all the latest pop music tracks that are popular in Italy. Missed being able to see BBC World or any American TV News Channel which I though they might have had given the number of business visitors the hotel gets.

Breakfast is excellent - very fresh products - pasteries, cakes, tarts, bread, ham, cheese,fresh Orange juice etc. The only hot food is bolied egg and toast. The breakfast room is divided into sub sections, quite small breakfast room with 2 TV's - that are on all the time. This is usual for Italy, there always seems to be a TV on in the pizzaeria or breakfast room!

The bar is not open at the times stated - it closes down at 2100H on Sunday night, unable to get a coffee, alternative was the local bar on corner of main road.

Remember too that the tourist tax is €3.00 per person per night that is payable when you check out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel for a visit to Rome. Free parking which we needed, a bit out of the city center but a quick but bumpy bus ride to the Rebibbia metro station and everything is easy to access by metro. Don't forget to flag the bus you want otherwise it will just drive past...

Clean, large rooms, good size bathroom and plenty of closet space. Breakfast is quite good with many options. The hotel location is a little questionable but generally feels safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannnon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed there for few days in last August. Hotel is very new and modern. (it is only couple years old). For some people location might be deal breaker, you won't get a room with the view in there. Most of the rooms have windows overlooking inside patio. But that's probably the only minus. Rooms are very modern and quite spacious, with very well furnished/finished bathrooms. Breakfast is served in 2 places: breakfast room and reception bar. In the bar you are getting barist service for duration of the breakfast. Coffes are just amazing, especially Marocchino. Bus stop is just outside hotel. It takes few minutes to get to metro (subway) station. There is also complimentary bus shuttle service. By metro you can get to all main attractions in Rome. It takes about 15 minutes to get to Colloseum. You can buy tickets next to bus stop. Nearly next door there is "discount" grocery supermarket. Bottle of water is just 15cent for 1,5 litre. For those with bit higher budget next door there is one of the best reviewed restaurants in Rome - FIL (Food is Love). If traveling by car hotel is very closeto motorway, which makes is very easy accessible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice hotel with clean rooms and pretty good breakfast. It's a little bit far from Rome's Centre but bus station or hotel's shuttle bus gets you at termini station in 5 minutes. But relation between money and offer is excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in front side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable, yet modern hotel in Rome I would highly recommend hotel Domidea. Its slightly out of the main city center but very easy to reach by public transport. We traveled from Rome Fumicinio airport by train to the termini station for €14 each, use the fast ticket machines in the station for the cheapest tickets rather than the information and ticket desks who try to combine packages for extra money and they are not worth it. Make sure you purchase your ticket before you get on the train, once on board you cannot purchase a ticket and will be fined €50 per person if you do not have one. Also make sure you stamp your ticket before boarding, there are small green stamping machines on the platform. Once at the termini we purchased a weeks travel card for the metro, around €24 each but valid on all metros, trams and buses around Rome. We bought this from one of the newspaper stalls inside the station.We took the blue metro line as far north as it would go to Rebbibia station, then had the option of the number 473, 474 or 075 bus to take us to the stop by the hotel. The hotel does advertise a free shuttle to Rebbibia station but it is actually €1 per person but we never used it as the public transport was only a two minute walk away and free with our metro passes. In all, from the hotel to the city center it took around 35 minutes travel time which we didn't mind for the price we paid.

The hotel rooms were modern and comfortable, there was a TV which picked up sky news in English but we didn't really use it. Free WiFi in the hotel was useful although signal was poor in some areas of the bedroom. We found sitting by the door was the best spot to get good signal. There was a fridge and a good sized bathroom with lovely power shower.

Breakfast was good, the breakfast room is quite small but there was always a table for us and good was replenished quickly throughout the morning.

We had a great holiday and would book this hotel again if we returned to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The staff at the hotel are just excellent! The hotel is clean, our family room is spacious, the cleaning/housekeeping staff are wonderful - yes it is outside of the city centre. Yes, it costs some extra TIME and energy to get back and forth - so read the reviews so your expectations can match the reality. However, for the price - it's fine. The breakfast room is on the small side - and the people in there work very very hard to make the experience pleasurable, clean, and flow. The shuttle bus is convenient, and so is the public transportation. We stayed for 7 days with two kids 8 & 9 yrs old. We would come back!

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor had an enormous terrace - not much of a view, but possible to sit out if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domidea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domidea Hotel

Address: Via Raffaele Costi, 17/21, 00155 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#155 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Domidea Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Domidea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domidea Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domidea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.