We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Food and Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Antica Boheme

Trattoria Antica Boheme
Via Napoli 4, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
39 06 4885505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #767 of 8,545 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night Food, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Margate, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food and Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

This charming restaurant has great food, great prices and great service. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and patient with our obvious lack of Italian language expertise.We felt welcome and enjoyed the ambiance as well as the food.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    193
    55
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We were staying at the Boscolo hotel in Piazza della Repubblica and wanted a decent meal without walking to far. This trattoria is out of the way on via Napoli 4 and does not look much from outside. Downstairs we found a large room with great atmosphere and filled with locals which is a good sign. Service was swift and efficient and the menus gave us scope. Starters of tagliatelle and porcini mushroom was tasty and the minestrone soup delicious. We chose the Abbachio alle Romana lamb dish as it is a favourite of ours. The lamb was succulent and fell away from the bone. House red of nobile di Montepuchiano at 5.50 euros for 500ml was a steal. What a pleasant find and the 54 euro bill was great.
We would come again.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Thanks to reviews on here my wife and I spent a couple of nights at this Restaurant. Our meals were very good value for money, especially the €6 for a litre of house wine. Would recommend if you are in the area. As it's away from the main streets you don't get hassled into going in either.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No finery, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Let's start from the ''cons'': level of English just a bit over ''Itanglish'', however with the eng (and other languages) menu it's not a big deal. 1€ each for the bread, and it wouldn't be a problem if at least the bread would be good. However as Italian I know that this euro is basically the ''neverunderstoodItalian service'' so ok.
Good food, I'm not Romano so I won't say traditional, but the meat (lamb for me and rabbit for my gf) was tasty, juicy and correct amount (not a lot however).
Location really Italian '70 '80.
Shared starter, bpttle of wine (12.5), 2 main dish, 2 desserts, tot 56€.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ystad, Sverige
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Traditional italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

A few steps down from the street you will find a traditional italian restaurant. Service was very good until it was time to pay. Then we had to wait a little bit longer. However it was very busy and a lot og guests. I had Vitello Tonnato. It was good, but I had preferred some anchovy and capre as decoration on top and to get it even more tastier. Good choice of wines. Prices seemed very reasonable.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Antica Boheme also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Antica Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Antica Boheme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.