We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Inviting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Amatriciana

La Grotta Amatriciana
Via Principe Amadeo, 1/C, 00100 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
064882853
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,530 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castro Pretorio
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Cosy and Inviting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place happened to be across from our hotel so we stopped in and were so glad we did. The owner is friendly and inviting - wants to know his guests and have them return. We had several great pasta dishes and excellent Saltimbucco. We have now been there twice and are considered family by Sam, the bilingual owner. The restaurant itself is atmospheric but unpretentious. We were offered limoncello gratis at the end of the meal and he directed us to homemade special desserts. We will be back tomorrow night too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    21
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant around the corner from our hotel after our original choice was closed. The service was extremely slow, the vegetable antipasti was tasteless and the minestrone soup was mediocre at best. We waited for our pastas for more than 30 mins after we finished our appetizers while other tables around us were served. Bad service, poor food, total tourist trap!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were referred to this local neighborhood restaurant from our hotel the Lucilla Augusta and we could not have been more pleased. The pasta was excellent and the service was prompt without being pushy. It is a local restaurant which is small and cozy. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
“First night in Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Hidden gem with great food ... 4 cheese gnocchi was awesome ! Owner was great to our 2.5 year old.. Quiet place but no one was upset by our boisterous toddler ...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nov 2013. My husband & I came to Rome for a few days after being on the road in Europe for a month. We were road weary and tired. One evening, we literally stumbled into this gem. It is located down a set of steps from street level and is a cozy, warm, cavern with fresco painted ceilings. The owner, Fernando, immediately welcomed us as if we were part of the family and we felt at home. I had reviewed the menu from the street and was very happy to see numerous offerings of pesce. We were both tired of meat,pasta, and breads and desperately needed to get back to our basics.
We both ordered the grilled sea bass with seasonal greens and was not disappointed. The fish was fresh, grilled to perfection and flavorful. The greens were lightly sauteed spinach and artichokes and was outstanding. We were so impressed with the service, food and atmosphere that we returned there the very next night and had a second wonderful experience. Fernando brought us complimentary grappa and treated us like family. It was a wonderful experience throughout.
In our travels we had spent much more money for meals with little or no satisfaction. I would highly recommend Trattoria Grotta Amatriciana to all. It is a true gem!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Amatriciana also viewed

 

Been to La Grotta Amatriciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Amatriciana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.