We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, excellent food at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Amatriciana

La Grotta Amatriciana
Via Principe Amadeo, 1/C, 00100 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)
064882853
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,533 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Castro Pretorio
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good location, excellent food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've eaten here several times over the years and never been disappointed. It's a little hidden, as it's a small entry down to the 'Grotto' just past the Star Hotel. Good range of food and the prices are good, compared to the main tourist areas. Only a few moments walk from Termini station. Very friendly service and attentive - even though there was an important footer match on the tv!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    21
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little late night find near Termini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised to learn that many restaurants in Rome close at around 11pm on Monday, so we decided to roam the streets in hopes of finding something to eat! Stumbled across this place, great food (we've had a few shockers in Rome) very friendly service and good prices. Best part, we sat down at 11:40pm, and they were happy to serve us graciously!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orange, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food. Pricey for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommedation of our hotel. Restaurant was clean and simply decorated.
Ordered spagetti bolognese as a first plate and roma chicken (chicken cattiatore) as my 2nd.
Went on a sunday so the bread was stale. Sapagetti was just average. Cattiatore was very ,very good but the portion was really, really small. My husband ordered lasagne, again very small and just average tasiing. House wine was nice. Service was average.
Paid 43.00 american dollars for spagetti, chicken cattiatore, house wine, and lasagne and we left slightly hungry. Would return to eat the cattiatore again as it really was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic experience - Go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Divine food, fantastic atmosphere, brilliant service, that's the conclusion after dinning here on several occasions.

This little Italian restaurant was one of the best food experiences my husband and I had during our vacation in Rome. It's situated very close to Termini station on Via Principe Amadeo. They serve real homemade authentic Italian dishes made out of high quality ingredients. The owner Sam, who's had the restaurant since august 2012, is always smiling and ensures that the customers are having a great time while his wife produces one lovely dish after another. Together Sam and his friend and waiter Giuseppe will make you feel welcome in a homely atmosphere.

We will definitely come back on our next trip to Rome :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent little italian place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

During our vacation my wife and I ate here several times. The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed, the staff always welcomed us with a big smile. The service is excellent. The food is delicious. We tried both starters, primi, and secondi all hit the mark. Especially the cold meat starters, the gnocchi with tomato sauce, the lasagna, and the saltimbocca were all excellent - and the tiramisu is one of the best we've ever tasted! We were also offered special off-the-menu dishes (not daily specials) which were amazing. Especially a pasta/shrimp concoction that was out of this world!

The house white wine was too sweet for taste, but the Pinot Grigio is an excellent alternative.

Go here if you're looking for excellent italian food in a relaxed and homely atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Amatriciana also viewed

 

Been to La Grotta Amatriciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta Amatriciana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.