We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Linnea

Save Saved
You added Casa Linnea to your Saves list
Casa Linnea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Linnea
Via Plinio 22, 193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at Casa Linnea at the beginning of our trip to Italy because we wanted to be in walking distance to the Vatican. For that, it was very very good. We also walked to Piazza Navona, the Jewish quarter, the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, and Piazza del Populo.

The accommodation itself is very simple. Our room was on a quiet courtyard on the first floor of a 19th-century building. The bathroom was large, and there was a separate WC, which meant we had two sinks, which we liked. We had two folding chairs, but at least we had chairs. There was another bedroom in the apartment, so renting both rooms could be convenient for a family or two couples traveling together. We could not get internet access in our apartment, but apparently Casa Linnea has another apartment that does pick up free internet access. The hostess was not tech savvy.

As other reviewers have noted, breakfast was disappointing--cereal, milk, juice, and bread for toast. On the first morning the hostess brought us each a fresh croissants, but on the second day there were just two pastries wrapped in plastic. The Nespresso machine was convenient once we learned that it had to warm up for several minutes.

The accommodation is more like a private apartment than a B&B. We wanted to communicate with the hostess about leaving our luggage after check out, but the only way to do that was to telephone her or use the intercom at the front door downstairs.

We appreciated her recommendation to use the travel agency across the street to make train reservations rather than going back to the train station to do so.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Casa Linnea is located 5 minutes walk fro Castle St Angelo and 10 minutes walk from the Vatican. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June and walked to both locations as well as Piazza Nova (great square to enjoy dinner), the Spanish Steps and the Pantheon. The room was comfortable with private bathroom and ours had a little patio. The only disappointment was breakfast which consisted of a couple types of cereal and toast. Everything was there but not prepared, you made your own coffee, toast, and cleared the table. I would definitely recommend to friends because of the location but let them know about the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I booked Casa Linnea based on the very positive Tripadvisor reviews. Our experience was somewhat mixed. On the plus side, the owner was nice, location was excellent (near Vatican) and other fellow travellers staying there were pleasant. On the negative side, it's billed as a B&B but they don't inform you in advance that it's self catering involving preparing your own (basic) breakfast and doing wash up afterwards. Also towels are only changed twice a week - we were there for 4 days so the towels were fairly scuzzy after 2 days. We asked for a change which we got. When we arrived, we were asked for full payment in cash on day 1 which were not informed about in advance. Our room (in a 3 bedroom apartment) was very small, with fairly drab furnishing. The bed was made every day but the bathroom was not cleaned during the 4 days we were there. Having stayed in B&Bs in several countries, we expected a daily change of towels and breakfast prepared - If we'd been told upfront about these conditions in advance, we could have made an informed choice about whether to stay there or not . We paid 96 euro per night which was in our view poor value. We realise that accomodation is not cheap in Rome but one would nevertheless expect more for what we paid. The overall experience was one of having stayed not in a B&B but in an upmarket hostel. This may suit some but most probably will disappoint others as it did us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We spent 5 nights in this bed and breakfast and were very satisfied with the place.

Our room was a part of an apartment, which had two bedrooms, with each their bathroom and a small kitchen, where we could help ourselves to an espresso anytime we wished. Breakfast was simple, but enough. The room was spacious and clean.

We were particularly happy with the location, which was very close to various interesting areas in Rom. A few minutes from the Vatican, close to the spanish stairs. We walked everywhere.

If you are looking for a cheap, but comfortable solution, this is a good choice.

Ana & Ebbe

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

What a awesome B&B! Perfect location in a quite side street in lovely Prati, with super friendly service - thanks to the swedish owner who speaks fluent english. The lovely little kitchen provides for self service coffee and tea. Modern, clean room with lots of space. Only problem I ran into: finding a parking spot.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This B&B is ideally located between the historical center of Rome, the Vatican and interesting shopping. Quiet, very clean, with nice furniture, it made me feel at home.
The prices are reasonable and the owners are very helpful.

Athens, Greece

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

My title says it all! :)
I would add that Toni and Anna were very helpful and nice. Breakfast is included and good. Clean rooms with a "cachet".
We would go back there for sure. Although it is a walking distance to Vatican and downtown, it is very quiet and close to one of the good streets for shopping nice cloth.

We would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Linnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Linnea

Address: Via Plinio 22, 193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Linnea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Linnea Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Linnea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.