We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Linnea

Casa Linnea
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Linnea to your Saves list
Casa Linnea
Via Plinio 22, 193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #378 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I booked Casa Linnea based on the very positive Tripadvisor reviews. Our experience was somewhat mixed. On the plus side, the owner was nice, location was excellent (near Vatican) and other fellow travellers staying there were pleasant. On the negative side, it's billed as a B&B but they don't inform you in advance that it's self catering involving preparing your own (basic) breakfast and doing wash up afterwards. Also towels are only changed twice a week - we were there for 4 days so the towels were fairly scuzzy after 2 days. We asked for a change which we got. When we arrived, we were asked for full payment in cash on day 1 which were not informed about in advance. Our room (in a 3 bedroom apartment) was very small, with fairly drab furnishing. The bed was made every day but the bathroom was not cleaned during the 4 days we were there. Having stayed in B&Bs in several countries, we expected a daily change of towels and breakfast prepared - If we'd been told upfront about these conditions in advance, we could have made an informed choice about whether to stay there or not . We paid 96 euro per night which was in our view poor value. We realise that accomodation is not cheap in Rome but one would nevertheless expect more for what we paid. The overall experience was one of having stayed not in a B&B but in an upmarket hostel. This may suit some but most probably will disappoint others as it did us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonviveur2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We spent 5 nights in this bed and breakfast and were very satisfied with the place.

Our room was a part of an apartment, which had two bedrooms, with each their bathroom and a small kitchen, where we could help ourselves to an espresso anytime we wished. Breakfast was simple, but enough. The room was spacious and clean.

We were particularly happy with the location, which was very close to various interesting areas in Rom. A few minutes from the Vatican, close to the spanish stairs. We walked everywhere.

If you are looking for a cheap, but comfortable solution, this is a good choice.

Ana & Ebbe

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnapDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

What a awesome B&B! Perfect location in a quite side street in lovely Prati, with super friendly service - thanks to the swedish owner who speaks fluent english. The lovely little kitchen provides for self service coffee and tea. Modern, clean room with lots of space. Only problem I ran into: finding a parking spot.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This B&B is ideally located between the historical center of Rome, the Vatican and interesting shopping. Quiet, very clean, with nice furniture, it made me feel at home.
The prices are reasonable and the owners are very helpful.

Athens, Greece

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philopappos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

My title says it all! :)
I would add that Toni and Anna were very helpful and nice. Breakfast is included and good. Clean rooms with a "cachet".
We would go back there for sure. Although it is a walking distance to Vatican and downtown, it is very quiet and close to one of the good streets for shopping nice cloth.

We would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimevoyagermontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

In a city where accommodation is usually expensive and often patchy, the Casa Linea was an excellent place to stay close to some of Rome's key sites, and in easy reach of the rest of the city. Nothing fancy, just simple clean rooms - and with AC!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank madaxemanLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This was our first trip to Rome, and as such, all we really needed was just a bed for the night, in a reasonably convenient location, and Casa Linnea was this and more. Anna, the owner, met us on arrival, gave us a map and advised on places to go, nearest bus and tube stops, tourist information, supermarkets and so on. Location couldn't be faulted - reasonable walking distance for most of the major sites, but also really quiet at night. The best thing about Casa Linnea is that you have access to your own kitchen where you can make tea/coffee whenever you wish. We had an early flight out on our last day, and Anna arranged our taxi for us. She had also very kindly provided an early breakfast, even though we had not requested one, and this was the kind of touch that makes you want to go back to a place again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#52 of 1,273 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#363 of 1,273 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Prati
Joli Hotel
Joli Hotel
#914 of 1,273 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#545 of 1,273 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Prati
Hotel Beldes
Hotel Beldes
#646 of 1,273 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Linnea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Linnea

Address: Via Plinio 22, 193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Linnea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Linnea Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing