We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as Good the Second Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BBQueen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BBQueen to your Saves list
BBQueen
Via Montebello, 25, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #497 of 2,884 Rome B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just as Good the Second Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We first stayed here three years ago on our first visit to Rome when we had to have close access to the Termini (train station). We can afford to stay in more expensive places, but the convenience of the location, the great value and, most importantly, the charm and assistance of the hostess Julia drew us back. She gives superb advice on where the hidden gems of the city are to be found (we went to two churches and saw 5 Caravaggio masterpieces), where the locals eat (the food is fantastic!), how to get around (buses, metro), what special exhibitions are on, etc. etc. Save your money for the food, wine and exhibits and stay at the BBQueen. (And, Julia advised that new beds are being delivered next week!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    19
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
65
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed in "nicer" areas of Rome that were more convenient to sightseeing. We have also had better breakfasts at other establishments in Rome. However, for this visit we were arriving by train from the port and leaving the next morning by train to the airport and couldn't see paying the much higher prices for the places that we had stayed previously. BBQueen is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is a gem! Great option for anyone visiting Rome. The owner & innkeeper Julia is delightful. She is BEYOND hospitable and helpful - made us feel like we were at home.

Location is great; close to two Metro stops, as well as Roma Termini.

Nicely updated; very modern in comparison to the majority of places you'll find in an ancient city.

Great value for $$ paid! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the BBQueen in April, 2013. We both had an enjoyable stay. The place was very clean, newly decorated and very well located from the train station. There was a nice selection for breakfast and Julia went out of her way to put out breakfast one morning for my daughter and I because we had to leave early for a tour. Julia was most helpful with directions and suggestions for sites and restaurants. Spoke very good english. There were many very tasty restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Rome from California for the first time in April 2013. We booked the BBQueen online prior to getting here, so we were a little nervous because although it looked great online you never know. But prior to arriving Julia (the owner of the BBQueen) emailed us with very specific details as to how to get there, train schedules, taxis, etc. After we flew into Rome and hopped on a train to Roma Termini station we found that the walk to the BBQueen was really only 5 minutes and we had 2 huge suitcases (first timers who overpacked :)) so if we could do it anyone can. The BBQueen was relatively easy to find once we figured out where the street signs were located on the buildings. When we arrived Julia warmly greeted us and immediately gave us some refreshments. She then showed us right to our room which was perfect for the 2 of us. Everything was very clean and in good condition! She then gave us a map where she circled all the main points as to where we should go and the "must sees". She also put us onto the hop on/hop off busses that go all throughout Rome that way you can hop on at one of the stops and get off at whatever stop you'd like to see and spend more time at. This was the best most convenient way to travel thru Rome and the cheapest! Taxis are very expensive here, so this solution was just what we needed. After a few days we left Rome to see other parts of Italy and were planning to come back to end our trip in Rome, but were booked to stay at a different hotel. As soon as we checked out we emailed Julia to see if we she had room for us the following week, and she gladly accepted us again. I almost forgot to mention the breakfast...it was excellent! The croissants you get are to die for and we have had a lot of croissants on this trip. You also get a wide variety of breads, yogurt and cereal if you'd like. All in all this is an excellent place to stay, Julia is truly the nicest lady and so helpful! If we come back to Rome we are definitely staying here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 for 4 days. Excellent B&B, modern newly decorated rooms and a very friendly host. Located at an inner courtyard so there is little noise from the street. Some noise from neighboring restaurant but this didn't disturb us too much (no noise during the night). We definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theCrankyProfessor
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When I'm passing through Rome - only staying a couple of nights before catching a flight - I don't want to stay far from Termini Station. From now on I'm going to try to book at the BBQueen before I look elsewhere! Good location, short, level walk to and from Termini (if I had more than one piece of luggage I'd take a taxi), very comfortable room, good breakfast. Julia was a treat!

The rooms (very 21st century) all look out onto a courtyard - so the sleep was great! The air conditioning was just what I needed in Rome in early June.

I've already recommended the BBQueen to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BBQueen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BBQueen

Address: Via Montebello, 25, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 2,884 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BBQueen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bbqueen Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BBQueen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.