We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive housekeeper, good place in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maikol Rome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maikol Rome to your Saves list
Hotel Maikol Rome
Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 138, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressive housekeeper, good place in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The place of this hotel near Central Station and one plus point, next to subway station. Our room is clean, quiet and the lady who is housekeeper is very nice to us. Although it is just a small B&B but it worth staying there for a couple days in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    162
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
322
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were here for our honeymoon in May- we got very nervous at first because it is not easy to find. You have to ring a buzzer next to a huge set of locked doors(we followed someone in when they opened the door). It would have been nice to know this when we arrived, we thought it may have closed when we got there. However, the room was clean and the staff very hospitable with breakfast served in your room. The staff were very helpful in finding major tour spots and giving directions/maps. It is very close to the train station, which is great if your traveling by train but the neighborhood is not the best. We were careful to get back before late just to be safe. But we were able to walk to all the areas we wanted to visit during the day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel itself was hard to find but once inside the rooms were nice and clean and the lady who runs the hotel was very lovely and happy to help. Internet was slightly dodgy but mostly worked fine.
The location was great as it is close to subway station and also walking distance to the Colosseum. Would definitely stay there again. :)

Room Tip: Our room faced the piazza and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel Maikol is walking distance to Termini Station and the Colosseum. We stayed six nights and were very impressed with the cleanliness and size of the room. The owner was very helpful and pleasant.
We felt very safe and secure at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Maikol for 3nights in August 2011. A very friendly family run hotel. Exceptionally clean and tidy. The room was very comfortable. We would certainly rebook if we visit Rome again as the hospitality made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid May 2014. We chose this place for its proximity to Termini Station which worked well with our travel plans. It is within easy walking distance to the Colosseum. Finding it was a little difficult (because of the fog of jet lag?) but once we were there it was clean and comfortable. Elena was very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was street facing to the Piazza and was a bit noisy so ask for a inner facing room if quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014. This hotel is just around the corner from the subway station so it is conveniently located - it is very easy to get to the city's main attractions. The hospitality was great. We were always offered coffee or tea whenever we would come back from sightseeing. The breakfast is sweet pastries with coffee and juice. When we requested bread instead of sweet pastries, they were happy to give it to us. Everything was fine except for the fact that the room was a little dusty (the floors, bathroom, and tables). The room was also very stuffy. And because it is a family run hotel, we could hear the family arguing in the other room until pretty late into the night and also their dog barking loudly, which wasn't very pleasant.

I should also mention that it was nearly impossible to contact this hotel. Before leaving for my trip, I wanted to confirm that they had a room ready for us - I tried emailing them, calling them, leaving voicemails and never received a response. Once someone finally picked up the phone, she told me everything was fine and that she'd send me another confirmation email, which I never received. All in all, this is an average hotel. I was fine with my stay, but I'm not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maikol Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maikol Rome

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 138, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#73 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#249 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maikol Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikol Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maikol Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.