We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Area Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Area Roma to your Saves list
Hotel Area Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Forte Ostiense s/n | corner of Via Cristoforo Colombo, 00146 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although is a bit far from the city centre, it is 1 block away from Marconi station , which makes the transportation by bus and metro very easy. Big rooms and clean facilities. The street is not nice at night.
Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    91
    72
    27
    12
See reviews for
50
65
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was a nice stay at Hotel Area, a big room and nice decor. It was generally pretty clean, the only thing was the duvet on the bed didn't have a cover (for the whole of our stay) and had quite some stains on it...it was a minor detail for us but not something I would generally expect from a 4 star place. The metro was close (about 5 mins walk) and it provided a good connection to the major attractions. As some other reviews mentioned, when returning to the hotel at night we had to go pass a stretch of prostitutes (and some of the "rubbish" they left behind after jobs...hmm) But still a good stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Pros –
Not too far away from the metro (5 mins walk) and then 10 minutes to centre of Rome.
Breakfast choice reasonable and fresh.
Generally clean – except the carpets which were stained and the walls were in need of a fresh coat of paint.
Plenty of good sized towels.
Simple, modern décor.

Cons –
The air con unit was insufficient to keep the room cool - it made no difference to the temperature of our large family room and so we had to sleep with the windows open. Then we couldn't sleep because it was still too hot, there were now mosquitos buzzing about and noise from car alarms and barking dogs (there must be a kennels very close by).
The walk from the tube at night a little seedy with ‘working girls’ and the aftermath each morning.
Small shower which was mouldy at the base.
One of the kids pull out beds in the room was very uncomfortable.

We didn’t choose this hotel, we had booked another and due to a problem with the booking our agent sent us to this one. If the air-con had worked well enough then I would have been ok with it. But we had 4 days sightseeing in Rome in temperatures of 36 degrees and a cool room was the essential which we didn't have.

Room Tip: Perhaps in the smaller rooms the air con unit would have been sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was an amazing hotel. Loved the service, one person I'll miss most is Jacob the front desk personnel, he spoke great English, very helpful, and very nice. Written review by Ihab Asad. The metro station is not very far from the hotel it's a short walk but it is outside the Rome central so you have at least 15 metro stops before you get to the city center of Rome. Overall great experience, great hotel. I'll miss you Jacob!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Came here for a week. The hotel location is on the outskirts of the city of Rome. It is walking distance to Marconi subway station, which is convenient/ but this walk after 10 o'clock is amongst prostitutes and pimps.
The hotel is not properly air conditioned. There is an inescapable heat wave once you enter the hotel lobby nd once you leave your room.
The hotel carpets are filthy. They are stained and not well maintained. Other than that, the room decore is modern and and simple, which is very unexpected once seeing the carpets.
The shower in the washroom is tiny. I'm only a few weeks pregnant and I had a hard time getting in and out. So, Forget about bending over to get that bar of soap that you accidentally dropped!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Wonderful but basic service as slightly understaffed. Rooms are large in effect small suites, with pull out narrow sofa bed with desk and 37" Flat screen TV, (TV could not be watched when in bed) Basic bathroom en suite TINY shower enclosure. Good quality towels, and effective standalone air-conditioning units. Quiet (as off the beaten track) but near main road, although still quiet. Nice breakfast, not overly friendly service, as I have discovered Italians who can't speak English do not know how to display warmth facially. It would be nice if they could have additional pillows in the room

Amazing, great value hotel out of the way, 7 minutes walk to Marconi Metro Station, 5 stops from Colosseum (7 minutes trip, very frequent trains) (another 2 stops to Termini, the central railway station.

Tip: Only come into the centre by train, as the "express" busses treat you like cattle, disorganised and unpleasant waiting outdoors with No timetable information, and then fighting for ones rightful seat as there is pushing and queue jumping, and the walk from the terminal to the unclear bus stop is 7 minutes.

Lastly and sadly, if you are with a family, the main road next to the hotel is lined by numerous prostitutes, with the messy aftermath in the morning, so the walk to and from Marconi Metro station is not pleasant. This in effect would rule out Hotel Area for me if I was with a family or not driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice Hotel. Stayed here for 3 days.
Rooms are good and spacious, well lit, new interiors.
Reception area is well done. Is in a quite area on the back side of the road and behind a school.

Staff is approachable.
No near by small markets is a problem. No balcony. Good for business stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Area Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Area Roma

Address: Via del Forte Ostiense s/n | corner of Via Cristoforo Colombo, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#259 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Area Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Area Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Area Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.