We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony B&B

Save Saved
You added Anthony B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anthony B&B
Via Palestro 30, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #709 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here with our 2 sons aged 9 and 12 for 3 nights. About 10 mins walk from Termini which was perfect for us as we arrived and left by train. Our room was a good size and comfortably fitted the 4 of us. We had a private ensuite which was large. Breakfast was sufficient but the room was a bit tight . We walked everywhere with the kids and did the circuit of all the usual sights in one day and didn't need to use the metro. We felt very safe walking around at night. There is a great little convenience shop a couple of minutes walk away - walk up the Via Palestro towards Termini and then take the first left and the shop is on your left just after the corner. Also a little bit up this street is a great pizza shop on the other side of the road and towards the end of the street - the kids loved the pizzas and it made for a fairly cheap dinner. Once you arrive at the hotel the big doors from the street are open in the day but closed at night - ring the buzzer for Anthony B&B if arriving at night. From the street walk through the big doorway down to the doorway on the left just before going into the courtyard, walk up the corridor to the lift and go to the 5th floor. Anthony B&B is on your right when you exit the lift.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
39
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is my 5th night at Anthony's B&B and I'm more than happy with it. Spacious, clean rooms with ensuite, just around the block from a grocery store and two blocks from Castro Pretoria metro stop. About a 10 minute walk to Termini, the farthest you'd probably want to schlep your luggage around. Located on the 5th floor of an apartment building that seems to house offices as well, Anthony's was quiet and practical. Breakfast was decent (yogurt, fruit, pastries, boiled eggs, cereal, juice, cappuccino / espresso) and wifi was good.

While there's not much to do in the area, I didn't mind staying near Termini as it gave me more options for buses. There is a laundry nearby (€10 per load) and you pick up in an hour.

Travel tips: (1) There is a separate line at the Coliseum for Roma Pass holders, another benefit of having the pass – skipping the long lines waiting to buy tickets. The usual entrance fee is €12 and is easily the most expensive of all attractions on the Roma Pass, so make sure the Coliseum is either your first or second stop. (2) Online forums have been reporting that the Roma Pass is becoming difficult to get, with quantities running out quickly. They’re sold at all the tourist information kiosks spread across the city and at some convenience / tobacco stores. Try and get one early in your trip as the museums / attractions it includes is extensive. (3) Rick Steves has free downloadable walking tours of various sites in Rome, including Ostia Antica and the Coliseum. I found these informative and entertaining. (4) There are lots of buses waiting to take passengers from the airport to Termini, the main train/bus station. I noticed three different companies, prices ranging from €4-8, for seemingly the same service. (5) If coming from Termini, drag your luggage on the side of the street instead of on the very bumpy sidewalks. Don't worry. Everyone does it!

For more tips on what to do in Rome, including an easy daytrip to Ostia Antica, check out my round-the-world blog:

http://dreamtravelblog.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/rome-by-numbers/

Room Tip: There is a temperature panel in the room but I didn't see an a/c or heating unit, so not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

The location was a little far out of Rome, good for the train station but didn't feel that comfortable returning at night, the b&b was good, clean, the breakfast was ok a little squeeze for all around the table though! The restaurant across the road was lovely, really good food and service! Used the metro a lot and was easy, saw some amazing sights in Rome, good luck to all crossing the roads there!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Great place!! Very close to the train, helpful staff, BEAUTIFUL rooms and private bathrooms. The breakfast served in the kitchen is a nice spread (not just coffee and a roll). Only problem was the room faced the street, and with the window open, the garbage trucks collecting outside were noisy at night. Overall, a great value. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my son. Our room was the one that did not have an ensuite bathroom. But the bathroom was right out side our door so we were happy with that. Maybe becasue we had no ensuite our room was nice and big. There was a large double bed and large single bed too with lots of spare space to move around. It was lovely and clean. There are good solid windows so once we closed them there was no noise from outside. The staff were lovely and friendly. Breakfast is in a small kitchen. Must be the original kitchen. Vey basic, 6 chairs around a table. We enjoyed the breakfast, they have the standard cereals, bread, crossiants, tea, coffee, juice, yougurts etc. It was nice an homely.

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll from Termini station. Could be done even quicker if you were in a rush but we were taking our time. It's an easy route too. Just out the station, cross the road, take a right onto Vincenza and then a left onto Palestro and it is down that road a minute or two. Very simple.

There a number of resturants on the same street as the hotel and all are good.

Out the hotel and take a left at the first junction and you will find a super market called "Sigma". Has all you need and is nice and cheap. A few doors from there is an ATM.

We walked from the the Colesseum back to the hotel. It was about 30 mins. We also walked to the Trvei fountain from the hotel, again maybe 20-30 mins. (Remember I was with my son, who is 10, so when I say walk, we are talking a slow paced walk!)

There is a closer Metro than Termini. It is about 5 mins away. It's on the blue line, which runs to the Colesseum.

If I go back to Rome I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

After searching TripAdvisor's top rated hotels this was the first place to have any availability for our 3 night planned trip to Rome. Reviews were okay, so we contacted the hotel direct. They offered us a ensuite room for the same rate as I was quoted on Expedia.com. We accepted this and confirmed the room by email and agreed the time we would arrive. We did not leave any deposit or card details. The hotel responded quickly to any email I sent them.

Our outbound flight with SwissAir was cancelled and we were transfered to Lufthansa(who were better in my opinion). But this meant being delayed about 4 hours. Once I had finally figured out the dial code for Italy I contacted the hotel to inform them we would not arrive until after midnight. This was not a problem for them.

We got to Rome and had to get a taxi as it was the middle of the night. We had planned to use the train but it did not run after about 11.30. The taxi cost 60euros which we knew but still it seemed a huge cost for what was a fast 45min race along empty roads at about 1am. Anyway we got there, dropped off at the door. Rang the buzzer and was greated instantly. We payed for our room and got to sleep.

Breakfast was basic but really nice. Great coffee and large selection of bread, cerials, juices etc etc. Room was large with double bed+sofa bed (it was room number 1) with a clean bathroom+shower. Really nice view of the street from the 5th floor.

The road outside was a bit noisey though with car horns but this was all part of the experience, plus we slept with the window open for some fresh air.

On our first day we went to the coleseum. We found a guide outside and payed 20 euro each for a guided tour plus a free guided tour of the Roman Forum. Our guides name was Tom and he was great! Tom said he did a vatican tour the following day for 45euros so we did this aswell. Again it was a great tour, worth every penny.

I went with my brother (2 guys late 20's) and although Rome was amazing it was not the place to come for nightlife or if you want to have a fair few drinks out at an evening. We could not find many bars, other than Irish bars which were fine. We knew it would be expensive but in some restaurants a pint of beer was 9euros+, which was more than I was prepared to spend. We found some nice places that did a litre of red wine for 8euros and also bought some cans of peroni from supermarkets to drink was we walked around, these were 90cents each.

All in all a great city break was had!

Feel free to ask me any questions via private message,
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This bed and breakfast is superior to any we have stayed at in Rome. The rooms are very good, and beautifully furnished. A nice bathroom, comfortable bed and friendly staff complete an excellent package. The breakfast spread was amazing, with everything you could want from a buffet breakfast, but breakfast room was a bit small.

The only downside is its fifth floor location, with a tiny lift but at least this means it is quiet. We checked in at 11am as we were moving from a different B and B and they gave us a room immediately without any fuss, which was very pleasant and a nice change from some other places. We were given a key for all doors, even when we had checked out and left our luggage so we could collect it when we wanted, a very nice touch.

Location is excellent, about 10 minutes walk from Termini but it is even closer to another Metro station (200 yards) and buses are 100 yards away. This made it very easy to get anywhere in Rome. Locally, there are some good restaurants, grocery stores, take away pizza places and banks with ATMs, so we found it really convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthony B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony B&B

Address: Via Palestro 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Anthony B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.