We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service I've seen in a hostel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ciak Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ciak Hostel to your Saves list
Ciak Hostel
Viale Manzoni 55, 185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst service I've seen in a hostel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

They charge an tax upon arrival that was not clear by the time we were booking and the staff was so disorganised we had to change our room because a bigger group was arriving.

The toilet was tiny and smelled bad, the shower didn't work well.

The breakfast was awful and if you're thinking of staying here because you'd get a free breakfast forget it.

When we complained about the tax and the change of rooms, the receptionist just said "if you're not satisfied you can leave the hostel".

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
4
19
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location was very close to the metro and Colosseum. Good Italian coffee, you can use the kitchen. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is worth the value. I was in a girls dorms, but the beds were not that comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The room was nice an clean, heat worked great in the cold end of November, as well as the hot water. There was breakfast included as well as lockers for valuables (had to have my own lock).
The room I was in was a 6 female dorm and it was cleaned daily and the wi-fi worked perfectly in there. The linen was clean and nice but the mattress was not too comfortable, as I could feel the metal springs.
The stuff working here was nice and helpful and the location is not bad, even if not in the center of town. For the price it was a great pick and I enjoyed the stay.
Be prepared to get the bags up two floors and do not expect five star hotel clean shower but the bathroom is in the room and clean enough. I would stay there again as I like to walk and the Colosseum is within walking distance for me. Sure not everyone would feel the same but the metro is another option (just be careful with the bags and crowds in there, in the metro I mean, - lots of people have sad stories to tell).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ok hostel. Great location. The two of us shared a double room with 4 other people, not a problem as we paid really cheap for the beds. Toilet/Shower for each room. Kitchen available for use if you want to cook. Awful breakfast, but hey its free! Staff was really helpful, also, WE'VE BEEN EATEN BY BED BUGS!!! at first we thought the bumps were mosquito bites, as the window was left open during the night, to get some air in the room. but we have a line/trail of bites on both our arms, which only means they're bed bug bites. we also have a few scattered bites on our faces and legs. Other than that, its a low budget hostel, go ahead. i recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Now after some traveling and comparing I can see that this hostel is superb. We booked a 4 bed room. It was super clean, nicely furnished, very cosy. Staff was very helpful, we used their kitchen a lot. The last day we checked out in the morning, but we were leaving in the evening only, we had some rain as well, so we hanged out a lot in the common rooms even after checking out. I would really reccomend it to my friends :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for cheap yet satisfying place to stay in Rome, the search is over. Ciak Hostel provides comfortable accommodation for reasonable prices. Rooms are clean, kitchen well equipped and the staff is friendly and helpful (especially the British lady!!). As for the location, the hostel is located 10 minutes walk from the Collosseum which means that the centre of the city and all the monuments are easily accessible and therefore there is no need to spend money on metro. My only reservations are no wifi signal in the rooms and poor breakfast. Free Thursday dinner was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Nederland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our stay at the Ciak Hostel was pleasant and comfortable. The service is good, the rooms are a bit small but still fine and the bathrooms are big enough. The area were the hostel is situated is fine and close to a supermarket, metro station and there are also busses and trams you could use. The hostel is from walking distance from Termini station, which is not a nice area, however the hostel is situated in a safe area. The breakfast is a bit minimal but it fills up the stomach which is fine, the free pasta nights are great as well, a good opportunity to meet new people. Good Wifi connection and even free computer access! The Colloseo is walking distance and the metro can bring you to the other touristich places. The hostel also offers good deals for travelling! A good place to stay for a couple of days!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciak Hostel

Address: Viale Manzoni 55, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ciak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciak Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciak Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.