We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Domizia Smart Design

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Domizia Smart Design to your Saves list
Residenza Domizia Smart Design
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Via Gregoriana 23, 00186 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hard to locate the main check in for the hotel. Once located, we were across town from the Spainish steps. Another 25 Euro cab ride later we were there. Very narrow numerous flights of stairs. Nothing like the photos of the hotel we selected.
Overall great location for a 1 star. A/C works well :o)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
34
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Take the Lift from the Metro Underground to skip the Spanish steps walk up and down.

It is quite difficult to find the door but look for a orange building and you will see a small golden plaque of Residenza Domizia before the orange building.

Can't beat the place for location. Gucci, Prada etc are just right down the Spanish Steps. Happy shopping.

The hotel keys are chunky though and hotel walls are thin and i can hear the conversation from other rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I must admit that if you´re visiting Rome, there can´t be a better location than this. The only bad thing I can think of was the big heavy key we had to carry around through Rome but that´s all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgabat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful few days in Rome staying at Rezidenza Domiza Smart Design. We are a family of 5 and found the apartment perfect. A good size for our needs and the small kitchen was very handy. Also had nice patio area to sit outside which was a bonus. This apartment could not be better located for exploring the wonders of Rome. Everywhere is within walking distance and how nice it was to stroll along (100 metres) to Piazza di Spagna in the morning when it was quiet and peaceful. Couldn't have been better! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through hotels.com and got it for under £50 p/night. It's more of a serviced self-catering property than a hotel... tomas from the hotel called me the day we were due to arrive and gave me the codes for the doors to get into our room, was very helpful and we had no issues at all even though we arrived late at night when reception is closed.
The outside of the property seems to be a shared courtyard and not very attractive but the rooms themselved are modern, spacious enough, and most importantly clean! No real complaints about the room, althought it was very noisy at night, as the walls were paper thin!
We paid for bed and breakfast - this consisted of a breakfast voucher for each morning of your stay which you can cash in at a very grotty cafe at the end of the road for a coffee and a croissant, needless to say we ate elsewhere!
The location was unbelievably good - at the top of the spanish steps and within walking distance of all attractions, and for this reason, I would stay here again if I was on a budget!
Tip: Try La Botte restaurant on Via Sistina for great italian food, and don't use the hop on/hop off tourist buses - they are a rip off and take forever!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I've been in Rome seven times, but never stayed in a better location. Usually we choose to stay around Termini cause it's cheeper, but where we really would like to stay is close to Piazza di Spagna. This time, that happened!

We found the hotel through hotels.com and got a great price, because usually this place is quite pricy and we would not have stayed there if we had to pay full price. Not that it would not be worth it, it's just a bit too expensive for our budget.

When we booked we thought that we had booked a place near Piazza Navona. The same morning we were to arrive in Rome, we had a phone call from the hotel telling us that they had three different locations. I thought no! We're gonna end up in a suburb and not close to Piazza Navona (where the head office is). Instead, they gave us directions to a place just at the street next to Piazza della Trinita dei Monti (Spanish steps)! It could not get any better!

The hotel is located almost in a "basement", you go into a yard and down a couple of stairs. It's superclean, chic and lovely. The room was really nice decorated, nice bathroom, fridge and safe. Aircon too of course. The staff is nice.

For breakfast you get a ticket to go to a cafè nearby where you get great coffee and a cornetto.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Central location can walk everywhere. Room was small and although two twin beds were pushed together we found it comfortable. The bathroom was small and when you put the tap on there was a very loud noise coming from the wall which continued on for a little while after the tap was turned off. Breakfast was left in the room the day before on a tray and consisted of a croissant in a plastic wrapper, a few coffee, tea and sugar sachets ( no milk) and a few biscuits. This is not breakfast. There was a small fridge with water, coke etc all €4. The Walls had black marks on them- could do with a coat of paint. In a quiet location. Got AC, and a safe in room. Overall ok

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Domizia Smart Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Domizia Smart Design

Address: Via Gregoriana 23, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Domizia Smart Design 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Residenza Domizia Smart Design is located few meters from one of the most known squares of the Capital Piazza di Spagna. The new facility boasts modern and simple style, with particular and colourful furniture that will live up the stay of the guests with special and modern colours, without forgetting every comfort. Situated a few meters from the stop Spain of the subway line A it is part of restoration of an ancient palace.La nuova Residenza Domizia Smart Design è situata a pochissimi metri da una delle piazze più importanti e conosciute della Capitale “Piazza di Spagna”.La nuova struttura vanta linee semplici e moderne, con allestimenti interni alle camere che vivacizzeranno la permanenza degli ospiti con colori particolari e moderni, senza dimenticare ogni confort.Situata a pochi metri della fermata di “Spagna” della metropolitana “linea A” fa parte di un restauro di un antico palazzo.Residenza Domizia Smart Design dispone di 6 camere doppie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Domizia Smart Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Domizia Smart Design Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Domizia Smart Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.