We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant and romantic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moses Fountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Moses Fountain to your Saves list
Hotel Moses Fountain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via 20 Settembre 98 L, 187 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sabadell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a pleasant and romantic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recommend this hotel to everyone, any kind of troubles that you can suffer in other Roma hotels ( it´s the fifth time in this citie) doesn´t exist here.

I forgot to call before the arrival but when we arrived there , a kindness women were waiting for us.

Breakfast more than acceptable!

Thank you for your attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    66
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
242
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a difficult review to write. There were a lot of positives but a few negatives kind of soured the experience. The Moses Fountain itself is pretty cool (although you apparently cannot see the fountain mechanism itself anymore as the City no longer permits access), and having read the reviews, we were not surprised by the side door entrance, the lack of front desk or the multiple staircases. The mini bar was free and would be refilled each day (in our experience it was indeed replenished), same with the free nespresso machine and its refills.
Very nice. There was a free map and catalogue of shops on the desk. If there were any problems, we were told to call a number, which I understood would get us the desk of the sister hotel.

As for the room, it turned out to be a good size and a great location as we
did not encounter street noise others have complained about. As the website
pictures suggest, the room was clean, slick and modern. This is one of those rare
occasions where the pictures on the website do not lie. As others have noted, there
were a lot of nice little touches, It was like staying in your own mini apartment, which
was kind of neat and quite private. We felt that it was actually pretty good value for the money.

There was a shared terrace outside with three tables and chairs that was great for eating a
pizza and having a (free) mini bar beer at night. The flat screen had numerous channels, but only a few in English. The free breakfast had fruit and pastries that were fresh and tasty and we were surprised to get fresh squeezed orange juice.

Overall, a lot to like, and we would love to leave the review here,but we can't.

The hotel promised internet access (free wi-fi), which was needed for my wife's job. On the second night, the access died and we never got it back. Our attempts to get this fixed were very frustrating. When I called, I got no answer. The next day we spoke to the friendly caretaker and she said to call that number. My wife called they said they would call us back but did not do so. We really felt like we were on our own. We called again and it turned out that it would not get fixed on the weekend. We were told on the last day that we could go to their sister hotel and use the internet there, but it was not entirely clear where that hotel was and that was not exactly convenient.

On the day before we left, there was a lot of noise in the hotel. Apparently, the fountain mechanism had broken (it had happened before), but as the foundation is not under their control there is nothing they could do themselves. We were offered another room and when we paid the bill, they had nicely discounted the total a bit for our troubles, and when we
actually checked out the friendly gentleman who checked us in showed up to help us
out.

Customers judge your service not just when things are going well, but how you respond when things go wrong. Unfortunately, this hotel failed that part. When things are perfect and you never need to call that number, I have no doubt this is a great hotel, but if you are
unlucky enough to need some assistance be advised that you may be left wanting and
very frustrated.

We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family but with the above caveat.

Room Tip: turtle dove is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I loved the bathroom and the balcony view. Very delicious breakfast (Orange juice, Berries, Salad, Italian olive oil, Strawberries). Also, indeed excellent service. I had a great times there and I'd like to go there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have recently stayed at the Moses Fountain Hotel as a birthday present from my boyfriend and i can't say a bad word against it. I can't comment on the price as i do not know how much it was for the three nights that we stayed.

We stayed in the blue velvet room and it was very large and spacious, we had views on the road and then a pretty building that was lit up at night. You would not expect the hotel to be where it is; entering through a side door and walking up concrete steps to the courtyard is a nice touch. You don't feel like you are staying in a hotel, rather your own home from home. You get a free mini-bar, coffee and sky to watch in your room.

Location: Close to the tube and walkable distance to everywhere. (Spanish Steps are about 10minutes away)

Service: Andrea was such a credit to the hotel, she gave great information and let us leave our bags in the room until 6pm when we left for the airport in the evening. Breakfast was always a delight. Only random thing was that you get salad with your breakfast. Reception are available on the phone to help give dinner reservations and any information that you need.

Such a a lovely hotel. I couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Have a look at their website as each room has a theme and they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 night at the Moses Fountain hotel recently and can't praise it enough! The location is simply superb, very close to Piazza Republica, Termini, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, etc. and lots of buses go very close to the hotel which is a huge plus.

The rooms and bathroom were extremely hi-spec and super clean and spacious. Wi-fi was super fast and we even had a brilliant nespresso machine in the room. The breakfast in the morning was also very good - freshly squeezed orange juice, toast, croissants with various spreads, fresh fruit, tea/coffee and even salad! They start serving breakfast from 8.00 onwards so was never an issue with timing and it's very pleasant to eat out on the terrace, weather permitting.
The minbar is free and again a huge plus! Overall, we used to look forward to coming back and relaxing in our beautiful and cool room after a tiring day outside.

The only thing is that this hotel is quite quirky in that there is no reception and no full time staff..there's a maid in the morning who makes breakfast and makes the rooms, etc. This was absolutely fine with us as we're pretty seasoned travellers but if you need hand holding then this might not be the place for you. Also there's quite a few steps to go up to the rooms so might be a problem for travellers with heavy baggage.

From our experience though, we loved it and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A jewel in the heart of Rome...large, clean, contemporary room with king size bed. Fun courtyard breakfast. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Not too difficult to find. Good communication throughout reservation process. Smooth check-in. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in the turtle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and simply cant say enough about it. After seeing reviews noting the difficulty finding it, I was prepped with a map, picture, and phone #. Didn't need it. The taxi driver had trouble but I spotted the door right away. Had about a 10 minute wait, as I arrived a bit earlier than expected. My room - or apartment - was just up the first set of stairs. Lovely foyer w/desk, decent size bedroom (king), a sitting room, and decent bath with awesomely deep 2person tub. A nice table and chairs for breakfast or to bring dinner back. A lovely retreat from the hectic city outside. Close that heavy wooden door and you're in a different world. Bonus in room espresso machine was my fav amenity. Highly recommend to those not needing a full service place. Owner Andreas is a lovely man who can give you great ideas about where to eat and what to do (besides the obvious
Rome sights). I travel solo and like to be left to find my own way, so this was the perfect place for me. If you want 24 hour full service, it may not work for you. The only thing not my fav was breakfast...not enough fruit and i prefer fresh bread.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Address: Via 20 Settembre 98 L, 187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#85 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moses Fountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.