We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venetia Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Venetia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Venetia Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked a long weekend to Rome and found almost every thing to be just right. The hotel wasn't as expensive as you'd think it to be for a major city stay. We paid approx. £300 for the 4 nights which isn't much more than you'd expect to pay for a local hotel in the U.K.
The rooms were maybe a tad on the small size but still room enough for 2 adults. We were on the 6th floor which we would highly recommend as there was a large balcony which we were able to sit out on to enjoy a few pre-evening drinks in the sun. Rooms have the usual, safe, air con, en-suite bathroom, wi-fi and sat t.v.
The bar didn't appear to be open but to be honest there is so much to do in Rome you wouldn't really have a drink at the bar when there is so much to see. This hotel is right by the Termini metro which me and the girlfriend had to admit is one of the best systems in Europe. We got a 3 day pass for the metro which was only €11 each. There is a line A and line B which take you to every part of the city you need to go to.
It is also set back from the station just enough so that you aren't disturbed by any noise in the evenings.
When doing the sight seeing things it's definitely worthing latching onto a tour as for a few extra quid you get info about the place you're seeing and more importantly skip the massive queue's that are at each major attraction. Be weary of the gypsie's at the main metro stations, they eye up everyone's bag's and rucksacks as they wait on the platforms then as you're about to board they work as a team, using the mum's with babies as a decoy to raid the bags. This didn't happen to us but we saw it happen.
All in all though it was an excellent trip and we are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    200
    60
    28
    14
See reviews for
36
195
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This charming hotel was convenient, comfortable, and clean. Our room was surprisingly large with a balcony and sofa. The decor is modern, and comes right out of an Ikea showroom. The staff was helpful and very friendly! We were surprised to learn that breakfast was included, and we weren't disappointed. The location is very convenient to the Termini/metro/taxi station, and only a few stops by metro to the Spanish Steps, or Vatican. It's also convenient for walking to the Colosseum and other major sites. There are a couple of charming cafes, with great food, that are within 3 blocks of the hotel. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Location was literally 4 minutes from Termini station.
The staff were great, eager to help.
The staff on the front desk were very helpful, specialy Michele Pandolfo.
jacuzzi in thr room, and a solarium with a jacuzzi on the roof.
Great Hotel ! We will be back ! :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Of the 5 hotels we stayed during this trip, this provides the best overall experience - service, design, comfort. Best of all, the hotel offers free wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Average rooms, ours was quite small, furnished in ikea-esk decor and had flashing lights in the room (fire detector) all night. Was clean and modern though

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Overview: You might be able to get more for your money in terms of space, but the modern amenities and very comfortable beds make up for it. If you want a hotel near the train station, this one's definitely a good option.

Location: Just a couple of short blocks away from Termini Station. No cab needed. 15-20 minute walk to main points of interest: Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps. Short and cheap metro ride to farther spots like Vatican City. Not a ton of restaurants very close to the hotel, but definitely a couple of decent ones and there a bunch more when you walk towards Via Cavour.

Rooms: We booked a standard double and it was definitely very small. A bed, dresser area/ w flat screen TV, a closet and a tiny bit of walking room. Bathroom was very small (shower only), but very modern and a smart use of space. Beds were VERY comfortable, and the rooms have wifi, which was convenient.

Breakfast: Included with our rate. The usual stuff, all pretty good, but no huge buffet. Some yogurt, cereal, meats, cheeses, croissants and other pastries

Service: Friendly, pretty quick and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Round two in Europe… After a week in Paris now a week in Rome.
4 star hotels are a must, they might be a few dollars more but well worth it!
After looking long and hard for a well priced hotel I found the Venetia Palace at a great price! They were having a deal on their rooms when I went to book our trip, but even without, their prices are very competitive for similar hotels! I only have one negative thing to say about the hotel then I will move on… it is not really near the ‘center’ of Rome. But that was our choice, so it’s really not a negative! Hope on a bus, the metro, or put your walking shoes on your going to no matter where you stay in Rome!!!
The hotel is two blocks away from Termini Station, so you are a few steps from the train, metro and the busses.
The biggest bonus of this hotel…IT IS NEW!!!
Very modern in its architecture! Very clean! Great front desk staff, Great bartender at night! The hotel has a nice little bar/lounge that is open in the evenings, a great way to unwind and relax!
Complimentary breakfast was the same every day, but no complaints here, the point is to get a quick ‘pick me up’ for another day of adventure through the streets of Rome. Luggage hold in the lobby a plus. Elevator a plus. Free WiFi a plus. The rooms are small, but who cares, you don’t spend time in Rome to be in your room. Mini fridge in the room, we moved the stock stuff out and put our drinks in, and they didn’t seem to mind! A few cafes and restaurants right out your door, you can’t go wrong, but where can you go wrong in Eternal City? Plus the hotel has a small fitness room and a Jacuzzi on the roof!
This hotel was GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venetia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venetia Palace Hotel

Address: Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Venetia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Venetia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetia Palace Rome
Hotel Venetia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.