We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not a 4-star hotel; no air-conditioning in late April” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Venetia Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Venetia Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Venetia Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Average, not a 4-star hotel; no air-conditioning in late April”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I got this hotel through a semi-blind booking on Hotwire (where it indicates that the most recent bookings in the area were at this hotel, rather than other Hotwire bookings where there is no clue at all as to the hotel) so we got a rather good rate of EUR 160/night (at least relative to the rates published on their web site). As what most other reviews here point out, however, this is clearly not a four-star hotel, even with what are apparently the lower standards in Italy relative to other European countries. Our basis of comparison is the standard of hotels in cities like Vienna, Munich, and Antwerp, where you can get a proper four-star hotel at even lower rates during the same season. As this is considered a four-star hotel, you will be charged a city tax of EUR 3 per person per night in addition to the hotel rate, so we paid EUR 18 for our three-night stay.

Our main gripes with this hotel:

1) There was no air-conditioning, with the hotel staff explaining that the air-conditioning system was only turned on in the summer. As most people know, Rome gets warm even in April. When we arrived, it was a sunny day reaching 23 C, and it was quite warm in the room even with the balcony door open. Light sleepers will also not want to leave the balcony door open at night as the sound of traffic and people could easily wake them or prevent them from falling asleep. I had encountered this same explanation at the 2-star ibis hotel chain in Paris, but I find it simply inexcusable that a 4-star hotel would scrimp on air-conditioning costs.

2) The walls are very thin - you can easily hear the voices of people in the corridor and adjacent rooms, the water running in the bathrooms of adjacent rooms, and you can literally feel the wall vibrate when the doors of adjacent rooms slam shut.

3) The room was very small for two people.

4) The bathroom design left much to be desired, with a faulty bathroom sink design which results in water leaking over the edge to the floor. The accordion-type door for the shower cubicle was also rather crude, with the plastic segments loudly crashing into the wall when you open and close the door. The separate bidet bowl was a welcome feature, however, as not many standard hotel bathrooms have this.

On the positive side, the hotel did take into consideration my request for as quiet a room as possible, giving us a room on the top floor away from the lifts. The buffet breakfast was also quite hearty and satisfying, with plenty of meat for carnivores - bacon, sausages, and cold cuts, along with hard boiled and scrambled eggs. We did not have the chance to try the hot tub, as it could only be used until 9 p.m. and we always returned to the hotel past this time. The location of the hotel is very convenient, as the Termini station (where the direct train to Fiumicino airport departs from, and where Metro lines A and B meet) is at most a 10-minute walk away. Areas around central train stations always tend to have a dodgy feel, of course, but we never felt threatened as we were walking back to the hotel at night. The balcony was quite spacious, although I would've preferred that the hotel room be enlarged instead of having a large balcony. It was also a nice touch to provide bedroom slippers, although the logo on them is that of their sister hotel, Navona Wellness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venetiapalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Venetia Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Sir,


we are happy to learn that you have so much free time to write this long complaint.
Our structure is appreciated from all our guests.
The size of the rooms depend on the typologies (Standard, Deluxe, Junior Suite).
However, all our rooms follow the european quality standards.

Please be infomed about the city tax: this is a tax required by law!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    200
    60
    28
    14
See reviews for
36
195
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon for 4 nights, first impressions were good, the reception and the staff were very friendly a very modern look and clean. The room we stayed in was nice, it was a little tired there were a few cracks on the walls and the shower head wasn't very secure. The bed for me was perfect but not so much for my wife, it was hard and only one pillow again perfect for me. I've read another review on here complaining about the lack of a quilt, I didn't feel it was a problem as Italy tends to be quite hot.
Breakfast was a little disappointing only 2 choices of cereal, warm hot dogs and ham which I found rather strange, lack of enough seating was also an issue.
I did however feel there was a lack of decent bars and restaurants in the area and to get somewhere half decent involved a long walk or a taxi.
All in all we enjoyed our stay we would recommend it to anyone.
Also jacuzzi on the roof was a nice touch.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was staying for 1 night. Pretty impressed with the space, new furnitures, spiky clean from the room. Good location also, especially for business trip. If you step out of the hotel and look to your left, you immediately see Termini station. Many good restaurants around. But most of all, I love the internet connection, it is free wifi and the connection was stable, fast and very dependable. Best free wifi connection I've ever had in Italy.

Room Tip: I got the room on the 4th floor, and it was really quiet and peaceful. No sound whatsoever from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in the Venetia Palace this weekend and had a wonderful time. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean and modern with a super shower. You wont want to get out. The only small complaint we had was that we couldn't manage to get the heating off but we opened a window and it cooled down. The area is very handy right beside Termini. Grand during the day but at night there is lots of homeless people hanging around which might make some people nervous. Its fine during the day though. The staff in the hotel were very nice and accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was nice, both cold and hot options. Overall, a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Arrived at Termini Station and went to get a Taxi. Driver kindly advised that the hotel was actually only a few minutes away down the road.

Hotel was nice and clean, rooms were small yet comfortable. The showers were powerful and spacious great for refreshing after a hards days walking.

Breakfast was average though the room did full fast so ensure you arrive early for a seat. Never saw bar open once during the stay so no night cap before bed.

The hot tub on the roof was the highlight of the trip and was used most nights. Beautiful space to enjoy the hot tub and Rome's skyline. Never had to share either.

Hotel was in walking distance to many main attractions 15 minute pleasant walk. Locals were friendly and helpful with directions.

Would recommend as a place to re charge after a busy day site seeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at Venetia Plaace hotel. We didn't need to take a cab from Termini station; just asked around for this place. The lady at the reception was very helpful and handed out maps of the city as soon as we checked in. Within an hour of landing in Rome, we were out on the streets and navigating the tube stations as if we knew the city well. But then, that's Rome. The tourist district is quite small and most attractions are within two to three stops from Termini station. The buffet breakfast (included in our room tab) is very good as well, although the seating area was a little small and got really crowded by 9 am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Excellent choice for short getaway. Excellent location - easy to get to Termini stations (and airports from there), major attractions are within 3 tube stops. Room was small but newly refurbished and bright. Helpful staff. 5/5!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Venetia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venetia Palace Hotel

Address: Via Marghera 47/A, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Business Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Venetia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Venetia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetia Palace Rome
Hotel Venetia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venetia Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.