We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in Trastevere, the Greenwich Village of Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda San Cosimato

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda San Cosimato to your Saves list
Locanda San Cosimato
Piazza Di San Cosimato 63, 153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
ridgewood,nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Location in Trastevere, the Greenwich Village of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Siria, the receptionist, is the sweetest ,most helpful person. She manages your stay and contributes to your good time.Would recommend this simple, clean, well organized establishment. The rooms are quite small but efficient.The air conditioning works. The breakfast is very simple, minimal.

Room Tip: nofitness center or swimming, is more like a B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    30
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartford, connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to stay in Trastevere the night before we flew out of Fiumicino - JUne 29, 2013. I had stayed near the Piazza San Cosimato before and enjoyed the piazza, which has a food and flower market and is filled with Italian familes from the area. There are many restaurants in the area. There is a tram (#8) that runs down Viale Trastevere, just a short walk from Locanda San Cosimato, that take you across the Tiber, into the historical center. There were eight of us in our group and we stayed in four rooms, including a triple, a single and doubles. Each one was spacious - unusual for hotels in Rome - and had excellent air conditioning. The rooms are very basic and both the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. There is an elevator; the rooms are not on the ground floor. The breakfast, which is included, is in the restaurant two doors down and had a nice selection. The owners answered all of our questions before our visit over -email quickly. And when we arrived, they were very nice about getting us settled. We had a great appertivo at the bar next to the Locando. The price is great and I would definately stay at San Cosimato again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived and parked near the piazza and saw a homeless guy on the bench I thought, uh oh, this is going to be bad, but once we found the hotel and got our room, we were very pleasantly surprised. We got room 7 which was a nice size, with a great a/c, a view to the piazza, a nice clean bathroom and shower and a fabulous location! No matter where you go in Rome you find homeless....
The Trastevere area is so much fun with great restaurants and shops and a 10 minute tram or bus ride to piazza Venezia or the Vatican. We felt like we were prt of the neighborhood! The breakfast was nothing special which is the only negative. If you want a comfortable, clean, reasonably priced place to stay I highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for one night in Locanda San Cosimato. We arrived two hours before check-in time and were allowed to store our luggage. This was very convenient.

Our room (#4) fitted a double bed, a little desk, a cupboard and fridge. Little room was left for movement. Furthermore there was an air-co unit in the room. The bathroom had a sink, shower and toilet (no bidet). It was small like the room, but had contained the essentials.

The room was directly located at the San Cosimata square. At night there is a lot of sound from the bars and restaurants (people chattering and later on the cleaning). In the morning there is a market at the square and preparation start early. The room hardly has isolation against sound and we both had trouble sleeping due to the noise.

We both found the bed uncomfortable. The matrasses declined towards the middle, where there was a hole in between them. Also the matrass was very soft. The bed is too short for a person with a length of 1.9 meters.

Breakfast was served in a restaurant close by (Ai Spaghettari). There were croissants, slices of bread (with on the side butter, ham, Nutella and a variety of jams), two types of cake, muesli, water and orange juice. No fresh fruits of cheese. The quality was fair, but we had better for less.

Internet is free and available in the room. It can also be accessed on the terrace at the bar below. This is quite convenient.

We paid € 100 excluding € 2 per person tourist tax. For a Monday night in Trastevere this might be a reasonable amount, but we found it too high. Next time we will find an alternative location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the square if you prefer a quiet night, however I don't know if there are oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Trastevere. Your room faces out onto the daily outdoor market, and you are surrounded by cafes, bars and restaurants. The location couldn't be better. And Rome being so expensive, the price is very competitive.

The room is modern and clean, and everything works as it should. The shower is good, the bed is comfortable, the air-con is working (and it's needed!), and the windows keep the noise out.

Staff were helpful and friendly. There is an excellent cafe downstairs with a terrace, and a super restaurant across the street called Pizzeria San Cosimato.

One thing to be aware of: you check in at the restaurant beside the entrance to the hotel, which was slightly confusing to me, as the elderly hotel porter/doorman didn't explain that very clearly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is excellent. You live "with" the romans, they drink their coffee at the cafe downstairs, they buy their flowers, fruits, vegetables, meat and fish at the market in the piazza just outside your windows and after the market they play with their children at the piazza. 200 meters from the hotel is the lively Maria piazza, 100 meters in the other direction are cosy restaurants and small shops. The neighbourhood feels secure. The old city is within easy walking distance, 15-20 minutes to the Pantheon. The room was VERY small, but with A/C and a fair bathroom (small). Be aware that no one at the restaurant that manages the B&B speak anything but Italian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was difficult to locate after bring dumbed off by the taxi. It is located next to a bakery. It has a green door with a small sign. Go to the second floor and look for another sign for the B&B. The rooms are very small and basic but clean. Room service daily and a small breakfast. Breakfast is 3 doors down and offers pastries, cafe, OJ, and cereal. All in all very basic, but good for the price. Location is great for restaurants and shopping. All attractions within 20 min walking distance. Beware the bakery stays open late and can get quite noisy with the very thin walls.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda San Cosimato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Cosimato

Address: Piazza Di San Cosimato 63, 153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda San Cosimato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda San Cosimato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.